Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,743 Members 43,062 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Cloning device from old to new? Possible?

Tip us?
 
Drakeskakes
Old
(Last edited by Drakeskakes; 13th March 2014 at 04:06 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 60
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Cloning device from old to new? Possible?

Is there a way to just make a TWRP backup on my old phone with a broken screen, load it onto the new phone and do a restore?
New phone is unlocked with latest twrp flashed.

This would save me a lot of headache!
 
SaHiLzZ
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 396
Posts: 1,667
Join Date: Jan 2011
Yes. If EVERYTHING is EXACTLY the SAME

sent from my mobile device
 
Drakeskakes
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 60
Join Date: Oct 2008
Explain further? I have no OS currently, will the TWRP include the Rom, or do i need to install the current rom on my old phone first?
 
mb_guy
Old
(Last edited by mb_guy; 13th March 2014 at 09:36 PM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 334
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakeskakes View Post
Explain further? I have no OS currently, will the TWRP include the Rom, or do i need to install the current rom on my old phone first?
What he is saying, is that if the versions of OS and firmware is exactly the same on both phones, compare fastboot getvar all, then a TWRP nandroid backup from the working phone could be copied (adb sideload) to the other phone and restored from TWRP .
Phone: HTC One- Rogers unlocked
Rom: 4.4.2 Stock Sense 6
Stock Kernel

Old Phone: HTC Sensation, HD2, Tilt
Rom: ARHD
kernel: stock
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...