Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,293 Members 38,858 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] NAE but can't run KitKat

Tip us?
 
hAvAAck
Old
(Last edited by hAvAAck; 10th March 2014 at 01:54 PM.)
#1  
hAvAAck's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 36
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando
Default [Q] NAE but can't run KitKat

Hey all, I need some help trying to troubleshoot what went wrong. Note between every flash I did clear cache and full formats of the whole phone.
  1. I was on SACS 4.3 ROM, MK2 and already had CWM recovery
  2. I ODINed the NAE modem, it stuck - my baseband and software say L720VPUFNAE
  3. I flashed SACS 4.4.2 ROM, it went well booted up and setup, but could not provision the network (I had wifi)
  4. I reflashed SACS 4.4 a couple times, same problems. Tried AOKP 4.4, glitchy and froze a lot.
  5. Flashed stock NAE from sprint, installed, but stuck on provisioning again. I checked and it didn't show I had NAE, it showed my baseband and software was UNKNOWN.
  6. Flashed back to SACS 4.3 and everything works well again. Still shows NAE as the baseband and whatnot.

I would have thought I had a bad modem flash, but everything works and shows NAE. What is the issue?
Sprint Galaxy S4
Android 4.4.2
Baseband NAE
Slimrom 3.0
 
VandyCWG
Old
#2  
VandyCWG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 315
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Spring Hil, TN
Have you tried a complete ODIN of NAE firmware?
VandyCWG always says #AnchorDown for the 2014 Baseball National Champions!!!
------------------------------------------------------
Phone: Sprint Samsung Galaxy S4
Model: L720T
OS: 4.4.2
Rom: Rooted Stock, Xposed, Wanum
Firmware: L720TVPUBNC6
Kernel: Stock
------------------------------------------------------
The Following User Says Thank You to VandyCWG For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bioshocked
Old
(Last edited by bioshocked; 10th March 2014 at 11:57 PM.)
#3  
bioshocked's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 23
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by hAvAAck View Post
Hey all, I need some help trying to troubleshoot what went wrong. Note between every flash I did clear cache and full formats of the whole phone.
  1. I was on SACS 4.3 ROM, MK2 and already had CWM recovery
  2. I ODINed the NAE modem, it stuck - my baseband and software say L720VPUFNAE
  3. I flashed SACS 4.4.2 ROM, it went well booted up and setup, but could not provision the network (I had wifi)
  4. I reflashed SACS 4.4 a couple times, same problems. Tried AOKP 4.4, glitchy and froze a lot.
  5. Flashed stock NAE from sprint, installed, but stuck on provisioning again. I checked and it didn't show I had NAE, it showed my baseband and software was UNKNOWN.
  6. Flashed back to SACS 4.3 and everything works well again. Still shows NAE as the baseband and whatnot.




I would have thought I had a bad modem flash, but everything works and shows NAE. What is the issue?
go to the Phone dial pad and punch in ##786# to pull up the RTN screen, It'll show you more accurate info on than what your Baseband and Software ect. The first time I flashed Sacs 4.4 V1 I flashed it using Phils 6.0.4.7, had the same problem. got it to flash flawlessly using the same process, but using Philz 6.0.4.6. just to be sure that was the issue i repeated process using 6.0.4.7, same problem, wouldnt provision network, just wifi, everything said unknown. couldnt make it work using 6.0.4.7. Tried again using 6.0.4.6, and again everything worked perfect ALSO try flashing the stock NAE.tar.md5 first, then Sacs 4.4 v2. Ive read that worked for many, Your problem is most likey CWM. flash Philz 6.0.4.6 then re try, let me know how it goes
The Following User Says Thank You to bioshocked For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pontif
Old
#4  
pontif's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 106
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Raleigh
Quote:
Originally Posted by VandyCWG View Post
Have you tried a complete ODIN of NAE firmware?
Agree with @bioshocked I've ended up with unknown baseband before as well. Flashed nae firmware before the installation worked out perfect.


Sent from my SPH-L720 using xda app-developers app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pontif For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hakeem0996
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 59
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by hAvAAck View Post
Hey all, I need some help trying to troubleshoot what went wrong. Note between every flash I did clear cache and full formats of the whole phone.
  1. I was on SACS 4.3 ROM, MK2 and already had CWM recovery
  2. I ODINed the NAE modem, it stuck - my baseband and software say L720VPUFNAE
  3. I flashed SACS 4.4.2 ROM, it went well booted up and setup, but could not provision the network (I had wifi)
  4. I reflashed SACS 4.4 a couple times, same problems. Tried AOKP 4.4, glitchy and froze a lot.
  5. Flashed stock NAE from sprint, installed, but stuck on provisioning again. I checked and it didn't show I had NAE, it showed my baseband and software was UNKNOWN.
  6. Flashed back to SACS 4.3 and everything works well again. Still shows NAE as the baseband and whatnot.

I would have thought I had a bad modem flash, but everything works and shows NAE. What is the issue?
it's the exact same story for me .had to go back to 4.3 but my only issue is now i am unable to watch video in any form (personal vids ,Netflix,youtube,vine even cutscenes in games) i really dont know what to do .even tried to Odin back to MF9 but no success.I neeed HELP
 
leaderbuilder
Old
#6  
leaderbuilder's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1227
Posts: 2,275
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Somewhere in the dark and wet Northwest.
@hakeem0996
Quote:
.even tried to Odin back to MF9 but no success.I neeed HELP
If you were on MJA/MK2 bootloader you CANNOT Odin to anything before that - MF9 etc.
You'll need to PC Odin MK2 full tar to get back to stock. That tar is here.

For the others if you have a MK2 or NAE bootloader why not flash the full .tar of either one (MK2 or NAE) - both are available here. Full .tar will restore baseband and ALL partitions.

The for both the above root via CF-Autoroot, install recovery via PC Odin or goomanager - I'd go with Philz via PC Odin.
Then install what ever you want following the developer's instructions.
* MK2/NAE ROMs * NAE Modem * 4.3/4.4 Kernels * MF9 Bootloader *

if you've found any of my blathering useful, there is a thanks button that can be hit.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to leaderbuilder For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hAvAAck
Old
#7  
hAvAAck's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 36
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by bioshocked View Post
go to the Phone dial pad and punch in ##786# to pull up the RTN screen, It'll show you more accurate info on than what your Baseband and Software ect.

Your problem is most likey CWM. flash Philz 6.0.4.6 then re try, let me know how it goes
Quote:
Originally Posted by pontif View Post
Agree with @bioshocked I've ended up with unknown baseband before as well. Flashed nae firmware before the installation worked out perfect.


Sent from my SPH-L720 using xda app-developers app
Thanks, I'll try a full NAE firmware ODIN tonight, but I'm not sure where to get it. Is it this?
Sprint Galaxy S4
Android 4.4.2
Baseband NAE
Slimrom 3.0
 
cruise350
Old
#8  
cruise350's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 573
Posts: 1,837
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Memphis, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by hAvAAck View Post
Thanks, I'll try a full NAE firmware ODIN tonight, but I'm not sure where to get it. Is it this?
No, download the full tar file from Random45's thread in the android development thread. His has great download speed.


Sent from my icrap 2 using Tapatalk HD
Phones & Tablets: Galaxy S4, Galaxy Note 8", Evo 4g LTE, Evo 3D, Acer Iconia A500, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1, Ipad 2, Nabi 2,


Rom: Rooted Stock Odexed, Hotspot Mod, Xposed, Wanum, several other xposed tweaks
Firmware: NAE
Kernel: Stock
TWRP: 2.7.1.0

The Following User Says Thank You to cruise350 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hAvAAck
Old
#9  
hAvAAck's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 36
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruise350 View Post
No, download the full tar file from Random45's thread in the android development thread. His has great download speed.


Sent from my icrap 2 using Tapatalk HD
Thanks. Link
Sprint Galaxy S4
Android 4.4.2
Baseband NAE
Slimrom 3.0
The Following User Says Thank You to hAvAAck For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
daniel4653
Old
#10  
daniel4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2594
Posts: 8,119
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Southern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by hAvAAck View Post
Thanks. Link
Yup that it.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk


 
Team Kernelizers: Making the best out of your phone

The Following User Says Thank You to daniel4653 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes