Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,145 Members 45,516 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Sense camera on CM 10.2

Tip us?
 
xartic12
Old
#1  
xartic12's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 263
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Sense camera on CM 10.2

I recently flashed CM 10.2 on my One and really would like to be able to restore the original sense camera that came with the phone stock.. I downloaded the apk for the Google edition, but it force closes.. Any one have any luck?

Sent from my One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
sirshakealot
Old
#2  
sirshakealot's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 99
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Jackson
Would be nice if possible wouldn't it? Guess we have see what CM does with the Focal app.
 
xcrazydx
Old
#3  
xcrazydx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,195
Posts: 6,306
Join Date: Feb 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
No, it won't work.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk 4
 
xartic12
Old
#4  
xartic12's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 263
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirshakealot View Post
Would be nice if possible wouldn't it? Guess we have see what CM does with the Focal app.
Hopefully they improve the wakelocks, it constantly drains my battery until I force close it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xcrazydx View Post
No, it won't work.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk 4
I obviously understand it's not working, but I would like to be enlightened as to why it wouldn't.
 
Stoney 666
Old
#5  
Stoney 666's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 738
Posts: 2,699
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SUR GATE!!
Because the sense camera relies on the sense framework.

Check out Bad Seeds Work HERE!

HTC DNA BIATCH!!


Like my work... NEW DEVICE FUNDS HERE!! THANX...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Stoney 666 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xcrazydx
Old
#6  
xcrazydx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,195
Posts: 6,306
Join Date: Feb 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by xartic12 View Post
Hopefully they improve the wakelocks, it constantly drains my battery until I force close it.



I obviously understand it's not working, but I would like to be enlightened as to why it wouldn't.
It's tied to sense framework.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk 4
 
jkDave
Old
#7  
jkDave's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 44
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by xartic12 View Post
Hopefully they improve the wakelocks, it constantly drains my battery until I force close it.



I obviously understand it's not working, but I would like to be enlightened as to why it wouldn't.
Yea, sorry man it's tied to the sense framework. I did a ton of looking around on how to make it work and it keeps ultimately coming back to this same issue. It can't be done. I flashed over to ARHD just for this reason. I use my camera too often to "settle" for the google version. Catching my toddler with a smile is an act of God so the burst mode shooting just by holding the button is a HUGE help there plus I liked the zoe pics playing in the gallery. Also not to mention the sense cam (in ARHD 31.0 at least) lets you record downscaled for MMS, the latest google cam apk doesn't allow recording in less than 480. So 1-2 sec vids max when you want to share via mms. I recommend looking into ARHD if you liked sense but didn't like all the bloatware.
The Following User Says Thank You to jkDave For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
CharliesTheMan
Old
#8  
CharliesTheMan's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,483
Posts: 3,666
Join Date: May 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
These guys pretty much nailed it, for an explanation, it would be like taking a double carb high rise intake manifold from a 60s muscle car, and just snapping it down in place and bolting it up, then closing the stock hood while it's installed.

I know that isn't a good analogy because the intake would be easier to pull off, but it's late and I gotta go to be.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Help CharliesTheMan out by signing up for Copy with this link https://copy.com?r=lK6L1Y

 
IamUmpire57
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharliesTheMan View Post
These guys pretty much nailed it, for an explanation, it would be like taking a double carb high rise intake manifold from a 60s muscle car, and just snapping it down in place and bolting it up, then closing the stock hood while it's installed.

I know that isn't a good analogy because the intake would be easier to pull off, but it's late and I gotta go to be.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
With that said, you can try out all the other different cameras available and get much of the same functionality. I use Sony MotionShot for the motion combining shots and Camera Zoom FX for Burst Mode and other effects.

I haven't missed the Sense camera since changing.
 
joe3681
Old
#10  
joe3681's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 531
Posts: 2,459
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Laporte, IN
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharliesTheMan View Post
These guys pretty much nailed it, for an explanation, it would be like taking a double carb high rise intake manifold from a 60s muscle car, and just snapping it down in place and bolting it up, then closing the stock hood while it's installed.

I know that isn't a good analogy because the intake would be easier to pull off, but it's late and I gotta go to be.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Then this must be a chip foose specialty of engineering magic:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2351965

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
It's amazing what a search button can do

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes