CyanogenMod 12.1 for YU Yureka

YU Yureka recently received an official Cyanogen OS 12S update. If you prefer to use a newer revision of … more

Open War for Open Android: Antitrust for Cyanogen?

Android and openness is something we talk about all the time, but the recent … more

What Do You Do with All of Your Old Photos?

Smartphone cameras have advanced so tremendously over the past few years that they have … more

Diving into the April 2015 Material Design Update

Before the release of Android 5.0 Lollipop, the Holo Design guidelines served as the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Any way to force the mobile data network?

13th March 2014, 02:32 AM |#1  
OP Member
Flag Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 0
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
I have a need to connect to a WiFi device (Camera) not connected to the internet and be able to get internet data via 4G at the same time. Is it possible to force connection to the mobile network for data with the WiFi on? Rooted on KK.

TIA
 
 
15th March 2014, 03:33 AM |#2  
altrikdout21's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington, D.C.
Thanks Meter: 93
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
All I can think of would be to tether your data, portable hotshot to the camera.

Sent from my SM-N900A using Tapatalk
15th March 2014, 04:48 AM |#3  
Agent's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 127.0.0.1
Thanks Meter: 363
 
10
1,155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phredeee

I have a need to connect to a WiFi device (Camera) not connected to the internet and be able to get internet data via 4G at the same time. Is it possible to force connection to the mobile network for data with the WiFi on? Rooted on KK.

TIA

No you can't. I would say tether like the previous post said.
15th March 2014, 03:47 PM |#4  
OP Member
Flag Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 0
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent

No you can't. I would say tether like the previous post said.

Thanks for the replies.

Any suggestions where I can learn about portable hotspots? Is this a device requiring a separate data plan and acts like a mobile wifi access point? The camera I'm attempting to use wants to be on it's own network.

I've tethered before to a PC thru both USB or Bluetooth, but not familiar with hotspot.
15th March 2014, 05:30 PM |#5  
graydiggy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Houma, LA
Thanks Meter: 2,464
 
4,536 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
You can do wifi tether on your phone...

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
16th March 2014, 01:14 AM |#6  
OP Member
Flag Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 0
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by graydiggy

You can do wifi tether on your phone...

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I've tried Wifi tethering, but the camera wants to act like a router/master and can not be changed. The SSID and passwords are the only settable things.

Ad Hoc is not an option. It does the address assignment and security password management. Maybe I need a different software on the phone? Or maybe a configuration I'm not doing??
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes