FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

[Q] possible to flash stock rom from diffrent carriers

343 posts
Thanks Meter: 31
 
By mootmetal, Senior Member on 13th March 2014, 07:59 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have a trend plus stock and i found newer updates but not yet for my country so if i flash a stock rom of another country or an other carrier in my country that will lock my phone? or may brick it in anyway? Will i loose my emei ?
 
 
13th March 2014, 03:47 PM |#2  
hnkotnis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sangli, Maharashtra, India, Asia, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Local Galaxy Group,Universe
Thanks Meter: 487
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mootmetal

I have a trend plus stock and i found newer updates but not yet for my country so if i flash a stock rom of another country or an other carrier in my country that will lock my phone? or may brick it in anyway? Will i loose my emei ?

There is a possiblility of brick if you use different carrier firmware.

One of my friend had Verizon S3 and he flashed Indian S3 Firmware and resulted in hard bricked device.
He could not go to recovery mode and download mode, USB Jig failed. Even JTAG Device could not repair.

Only Samsung Service Center could repair it (and he had to pay them).

But IMEI was not lost. (I think because IMEI is stored in /efs and it is not harmed in ROM business)
The Following User Says Thank You to hnkotnis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th March 2014, 05:41 PM |#3  
mootmetal's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag casa
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hnkotnis

There is a possiblility of brick if you use different carrier firmware.

One of my friend had Verizon S3 and he flashed Indian S3 Firmware and resulted in hard bricked device.
He could not go to recovery mode and download mode, USB Jig failed. Even JTAG Device could not repair.

Only Samsung Service Center could repair it (and he had to pay them).

But IMEI was not lost. (I think because IMEI is stored in /efs and it is not harmed in ROM business)

Thanks man for the answer ... what about flashing diffrent carrier firmware from the same country i thinks this wont brick the phone but it may lock the phone ..right?
13th March 2014, 09:06 PM |#4  
Captain Sweatpants's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edinburgh
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
It might work but its risky and you would end up with all the bloatware from another carrier boot screen etc. It shouldn't have any affect on the sim lock as this is in another part of the phone.

Programming is a race between engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Captain Sweatpants For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th March 2014, 10:20 PM |#5  
mootmetal's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag casa
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Sweatpants

It might work but its risky and you would end up with all the bloatware from another carrier boot screen etc. It shouldn't have any affect on the sim lock as this is in another part of the phone.

Programming is a race between engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning.

yeah sad but true ... i wonder why there's no universal stock rom ..all roms i found are for this or that carrier ... is there any way i can find the systeme folder because i deleted some systeme apps and than the phone become a liitle bit crazy ...now if i insert an sd card the become slow and hang on after some minutes, a thing that wasnt befor ... and even after a factory reset from the phone or from cwm there's some aps missing like stock file browser or alarm app ...
13th March 2014, 11:33 PM |#6  
Captain Sweatpants's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edinburgh
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
Unless you want to try the other ROMs you could find someone with the same phone and get them to download apk extractor. They can then extract the apk from whichever system apps are damaged/missing and send them to you

Programming is a race between engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning.
14th March 2014, 08:38 AM |#7  
mootmetal's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag casa
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Sweatpants

Unless you want to try the other ROMs you could find someone with the same phone and get them to download apk extractor. They can then extract the apk from whichever system apps are damaged/missing and send them to you

Programming is a race between engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning.

well i tried to copy the missing aps from another rooted phone (the same phone and firmware) and ended with apps intstalator FC after rebooting and now i cant use the phone will try to flash a nandroid backup i made on the other phone
14th March 2014, 04:00 PM |#8  
Captain Sweatpants's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edinburgh
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
Odd any luck with backups?

Programming is a race between engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes