Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,213 Members 39,973 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

I want to use my T-Mobile LG G2 on AT&T

Tip us?
 
tarheeltx
Old
#1  
tarheeltx's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Amarillo, TX
Question I want to use my T-Mobile LG G2 on AT&T

On January 24th, 2014, I switched from Verizon to T-Mobile mainly for the price. T-Mobile is sending me a reimbursement for the early termination fee that Verizon charged.

T-Mobile service in my area isn't as good as Verizon and AT&T and I want to switch to AT&T and use my LG G2 that I got from T-Mobile.

I am planning to switch very soon after I receive the ETF reimbursement in the mail.

Will there be any problems with using my T-Mobile LG G2 when I change to AT&T? I have seen some specifications and saw some differences between the T-Mobile and AT&T G2's. Will I still be able to get good AT&T service with the T-Mobile version of the G2? I entered the IMEI# on AT&T site and it shows it's compatible, but was just wondering if it is going to have limitations.


I'm wondering if I should just sell my T-Moble LG G2 when I switch to AT&T and just buy a new phone(possibly an AT&T LG G2)
 
kmp542
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jul 2010
I use my T-Mobile LG g2 without any problems on AT&T. I did the exact same thing you are doing

Sent from my LG-D801 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to kmp542 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tarheeltx
Old
#3  
tarheeltx's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Amarillo, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmp542 View Post
I use my T-Mobile LG g2 without any problems on AT&T. I did the exact same thing you are doing

Sent from my LG-D801 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


Thank you for the reply, are you able to get 4G LTE data and get the same voice signal as you would on the AT&T version of the phone? I just don't want to get worse service than I would get if I got the AT&T version of the phone.
 
BreakingVZW
Old
#4  
BreakingVZW's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 324
Posts: 904
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carmel
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheeltx View Post
On January 24th, 2014, I switched from Verizon to T-Mobile mainly for the price. T-Mobile is sending me a reimbursement for the early termination fee that Verizon charged.

T-Mobile service in my area isn't as good as Verizon and AT&T and I want to switch to AT&T and use my LG G2 that I got from T-Mobile.

I am planning to switch very soon after I receive the ETF reimbursement in the mail.

Will there be any problems with using my T-Mobile LG G2 when I change to AT&T? I have seen some specifications and saw some differences between the T-Mobile and AT&T G2's. Will I still be able to get good AT&T service with the T-Mobile version of the G2? I entered the IMEI# on AT&T site and it shows it's compatible, but was just wondering if it is going to have limitations.


I'm wondering if I should just sell my T-Moble LG G2 when I switch to AT&T and just buy a new phone(possibly an AT&T LG G2)
Wait did you just say "AT&T and I want to switch to AT&T..."? Lol. How did that convo go? You: "T-Mobile is jank! Why didn't I check coverage before I did this!?" AT&T: "Idk! Come to our network! Its what the cool kids do!" You "I don't know..." AT&T: "Oh come on! Do it! I want you too!" You: "Okay!!" And... scene.

Sent from my VS980 4G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
hal3146
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 102
Join Date: Jul 2007
The tmobile G2 is lacking LTE band 5 which AT&T uses. However my understanding is that AT&T had not deployed band 5 in many areas so there should be no issues.

I am considering doing the same.

Sent from my LG-D801 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to hal3146 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
housry23
Old
#6  
housry23's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 764
Posts: 2,692
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Springfield, OH
I used my G2 on att and got LTE. You'll have to input the APN, but a quick Google search will help you find that. You'll have to pay the phone off or it will get blacklisted and you'll have to get T-Mobile to unlock it which shouldn't be hard once you pay it off.

Sent from my Red Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to housry23 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes