Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

2.14 Hboot Flash Error

OP cajer

24th July 2013, 05:52 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
I was attempting to update my phone to hboot 2.14 and I downloaded the third hboot file found here.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2156686

However when flashing the file I get the error "Failed (remote: 32 header error)". I re-downloaded the file, and it still failed. I think the file maybe corrupt is that possible? If so does anyone have any hboot 2.14 file that I can download? I have an AT&T HTC One X.
24th July 2013, 05:59 AM   |  #2  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 7,587
 
15,581 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
For what reason are you trying to change the hboot?

Sent from my Evita
24th July 2013, 06:01 AM   |  #3  
RollTribe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Virginia, USA
Thanks Meter: 733
 
1,907 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
1. You are s-off, right?
2. If you're trying to upgrade for the 3.4 kernel AOSP ROMs then you'd better think again.... You'll have to run the full RUU (BE SURE YOU'RE S-OFF).

Sent from my evita
24th July 2013, 06:18 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by RollTribe

1. You are s-off, right?
2. If you're trying to upgrade for the 3.4 kernel AOSP ROMs then you'd better think again.... You'll have to run the full RUU (BE SURE YOU'RE S-OFF).

Sent from my evita

I am s-off. I was accidentally flashing the .img file instead of the zip. However when I flashed the zip file the process was stuck on "(bootloader) zip info parsing..." and has been for 10 minutes. Is it ok to force stop the process? What should I do now?
24th July 2013, 06:20 AM   |  #5  
RollTribe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Virginia, USA
Thanks Meter: 733
 
1,907 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cajer

I am s-off. I was accidentally flashing the .img file instead of the zip. However when I flashed the zip file the process was stuck on "(bootloader) zip info parsing..." and has been for 10 minutes. Is it ok to force stop the process? What should I do now?

After 10 minutes, I don't know what other option there is, but it seems pretty dangerous especially since you're dealing with hboots which, to put it simply, control whether or not your phone turns on (as well as other things).

Anyone have a better solution?

Sent from my evita
24th July 2013, 06:37 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by RollTribe

After 10 minutes, I don't know what other option there is, but it seems pretty dangerous especially since you're dealing with hboots which, to put it simply, control whether or not your phone turns on (as well as other things).

Anyone have a better solution?

Sent from my evita

So I went ahead and pressed control-c. However now when I tell it to erase cache it fails, and trying to flash again makes fastboot crash. Any advice?
24th July 2013, 06:39 AM   |  #7  
RollTribe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Virginia, USA
Thanks Meter: 733
 
1,907 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cajer

So I went ahead and pressed control-c. However now when I tell it to erase cache it fails, and trying to flash again makes fastboot crash. Any advice?

Reboot to recovery, and use the format cache option (not wipe dalvik) and try again.

Sent from my evita
24th July 2013, 06:45 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by RollTribe

Reboot to recovery, and use the format cache option (not wipe dalvik) and try again.

Sent from my evita

"Fastboot reboot" returns

"rebooting...

finished. total time: 0.551s"

Then the phone stays on the same screen as before. Hold power button?
24th July 2013, 06:47 AM   |  #9  
RollTribe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Virginia, USA
Thanks Meter: 733
 
1,907 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cajer

"Fastboot reboot" returns

"rebooting...

finished. total time: 0.551s"

Then the phone stays on the same screen as before. Hold power button?

If nothing else works, that's you're only option, so I would.

Sent from my evita
14th March 2014, 01:56 AM   |  #10  
cuteyr's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RollTribe

If nothing else works, that's you're only option, so I would.

Sent from my evita

Did anyone find a solution?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes