Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,291 Members 46,793 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q&A] Tasker Profile and Tasks Requests

Tip us?
 
dEris
Old
#1  
dEris's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 685
Posts: 2,804
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dallas Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Q&A] Tasker Profile and Tasks Requests

Hi. I've been a user of the popular Tasker app for over a year or more. I have basic profiles and tasks for simple things I need automated but lack the expertise.

I've looked at many websites including the ones provided for Tasker but never could really find what I'm looking for.. as far as profiles and tasks I need help creating.

So this thread is dedicated to people like me who can request what they want and have our community help creating the profiles and tasks that we simply do not know how to create or need help on.

With that said...

I need to create a profile that will text my girlfriend once I arrive at her work to pick her up stating that I have arrived. But only if it's after 3:45PM.

I have created a profile that does this but it's unreliable because it doesn't know I'm in the radius of what I set unless I use an app that triggers net GPS. Other wise it could take several minutes for it to pick up my location.

What I have:
GPS location profile >> Send SMS if %time>15.45

But like I said, it doesn't work most of the time.

I want to reverse it to:
Between hours 15.34 and 16.30 to check if I'm in the area, then text her. But I can't figure it out.

HELP!


Jelly Bean 4.2.1 (JellyB-TSM) / Apex Pro / BreezeHD theme


 
post-mortem
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 521
Posts: 1,488
Join Date: Oct 2012
The official Tasker Google group has loads of people who are experts in Tasker profiles. I'm not saying this thread shouldn't be here, but you might get better answers there.
XDA-Developers was founded on the simple principal that SHARING IS GOOD and when many people SHARE what they know, EVERYONE benefits. We exist upon this Ethos, we RESPECT each other, we SHARE with each other, we do not judge one another and we HELP all who ask. We believe that while some may have more knowledge than another, none are more important.
----------

> 10 Nandroid backup
> 20 Flash experimental .zip
> 30 IF (works) THEN GOTO 50
> 40 Nandroid restore
> 50 Eat cake
The Following User Says Thank You to post-mortem For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dEris
Old
#3  
dEris's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 685
Posts: 2,804
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dallas Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q&A] Tasker Profile and Tasks Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by post-mortem View Post
The official Tasker Google group has loads of people who are experts in Tasker profiles. I'm not saying this thread shouldn't be here, but you might get better answers there.
I can't even create a post there. :/


JellyB-TSM v16 / Apex Pro


 
post-mortem
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 521
Posts: 1,488
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dEris View Post
I can't even create a post there. :/
You need to join the group before you can post.
XDA-Developers was founded on the simple principal that SHARING IS GOOD and when many people SHARE what they know, EVERYONE benefits. We exist upon this Ethos, we RESPECT each other, we SHARE with each other, we do not judge one another and we HELP all who ask. We believe that while some may have more knowledge than another, none are more important.
----------

> 10 Nandroid backup
> 20 Flash experimental .zip
> 30 IF (works) THEN GOTO 50
> 40 Nandroid restore
> 50 Eat cake
 
jabberwock
Old
#5  
jabberwock's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 70
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Eindhoven
I have such a profile which works flawlessly.

Profile context:
Location + timeframe (from 1600 - 1700)
task: Send sms

for location I just use NET with a radius of 400 meters.
History:

Siemens S3 - Panasonic G520 - Nokia 3310 - Nokia 6610 - Nokia 6230i - Orange M1000 - Qtek 2020 - MDA Pro - HTC Tytn2 - HTC Touch Pro - HTC HD2 - HTC Desire HD - HTC One X
Asus Eepad Transformer
 
dEris
Old
#6  
dEris's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 685
Posts: 2,804
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dallas Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q&A] Tasker Profile and Tasks Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by jabberwock View Post
I have such a profile which works flawlessly.

Profile context:
Location + timeframe (from 1600 - 1700)
task: Send sms

for location I just use NET with a radius of 400 meters.
That's basically what I have but tasker doesn't know I'm in area unless GPS is triggered. Here is what I have: see attachment

I want:
Profile: Between 15.45 and 16.30
Task: Check to see if I'm in area, if so... Send SMS.

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1360290787291.jpg
Views:	273
Size:	41.2 KB
ID:	1712516


JellyB-TSM v16 / Apex Pro


 
post-mortem
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 521
Posts: 1,488
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default [Q&A] Tasker Profile and Tasks Requests

How do you prevent it from sending multiple SMSs? I guess you could set a variable.

You might have to experiment with what way to trigger the location setting, i.e., GPS, WiFi, or cell location.

-- Sent from my TouchPad using Communities
XDA-Developers was founded on the simple principal that SHARING IS GOOD and when many people SHARE what they know, EVERYONE benefits. We exist upon this Ethos, we RESPECT each other, we SHARE with each other, we do not judge one another and we HELP all who ask. We believe that while some may have more knowledge than another, none are more important.
----------

> 10 Nandroid backup
> 20 Flash experimental .zip
> 30 IF (works) THEN GOTO 50
> 40 Nandroid restore
> 50 Eat cake
 
jabberwock
Old
#8  
jabberwock's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 70
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Eindhoven
Default Re: [Q&A] Tasker Profile and Tasks Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by dEris View Post
That's basically what I have but tasker doesn't know I'm in area unless GPS is triggered. Here is what I have: see attachment

I want:
Profile: Between 15.45 and 16.30
Task: Check to see if I'm in area, if so... Send SMS.

Attachment 1712516


JellyB-TSM v16 / Apex Pro


Make sure you set the location when you're actually there. For me location works fine..based on cell towers.

Sent from my HTC One X

---------- Post added at 08:42 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:37 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by post-mortem View Post
How do you prevent it from sending multiple SMSs? I guess you could set a variable.

You might have to experiment with what way to trigger the location setting, i.e., GPS, WiFi, or cell location.

-- Sent from my TouchPad using Communities
It does not sent multiple sms. When location is entered the corresponding profile will start it's task. The task only runs once... So one SMS...

Sent from my HTC One X
History:

Siemens S3 - Panasonic G520 - Nokia 3310 - Nokia 6610 - Nokia 6230i - Orange M1000 - Qtek 2020 - MDA Pro - HTC Tytn2 - HTC Touch Pro - HTC HD2 - HTC Desire HD - HTC One X
Asus Eepad Transformer
 
dEris
Old
#9  
dEris's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 685
Posts: 2,804
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dallas Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q&A] Tasker Profile and Tasks Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by jabberwock View Post
Make sure you set the location when you're actually there. For me location works fine..based on cell towers.

Sent from my HTC One X
So instead of picking the area using the map, go there and set it? It uses the towers? I will try that. Thanks.



JellyB-TSM Official Guinea Pig/ Apex Pro


 
a7medabdou
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 38
Join Date: Feb 2014
Lightbulb can you guys help me with a tsak for tasker?!

Hi everyone and thank you in advance for your help
now i have tasker
And I wanna make a task and I need help here
i have an app called number scanner
And I use it to scan numbers and then call them
Now I wanna make a task
That
1- take the scanned number
2-add *505* the scanned number #
3-automatically call it after I scan the number with the app
I tried to make it, but there are two problems
1- the task automatically launches at the same time with the app
2-when it launches it, just call *505* and never use the number I scanned
So guys I need your help
And thank you

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes