Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,452 Members 42,649 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROOT] Root your G2 [ATT|VZW|TMO|KT|RGS|BELL|TELUS|OPEN] [Yay!]

Tip us?
 
thecubed
Old
(Last edited by thecubed; 3rd January 2014 at 03:28 AM.)
#1  
thecubed's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4271
Posts: 871
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [ROOT] Root your G2 [ATT|VZW|TMO|KT|RGS|BELL|TELUS|OPEN] [Yay!]

Howdy everyone!

Here's another neat root!
What is this?

This is a very simply and easy to use root package for the LG G2.
For now I'm calling it IORoot, despite the fact that it's not really all that deserving of a name.
Which phones does this support?

Currently the following phones are supported by this root package:
  • AT&T G2 (D800) - D80010d
  • Verizon G2 (VS980) - VS98010B (Shipping ROM)
  • Verizon G2 (VS980) - VS98011A (OTA)
  • T-Mobile G2 (Shipping ROM)
  • KT F320k (Shipping ROM)
  • Rogers D803 (Shipping ROM)
  • Bell D803 (Shipping ROM)
  • Telus D803 (Shipping ROM)
  • OPEN D802 (Shipping ROM)
How do I use this?

Here's a video!


Or, in List Form:
  1. Ensure you have the proper USB drivers installed, and your phone is in the proper mode (For Verizon, use Ethernet mode on the PC settings menu)
  2. Enable Developer Mode on your phone and enable USB Debugging
  3. Extract this zip file somewhere on your PC
  4. Run root.bat
  5. The phone will ask you to disconnect USB, disable USB debugging, then re-enable it and plug the phone back in, do so when prompted
  6. You will then be asked if you would like to have a superuser package installed, which you can accept or decline
Why is it asking if I want to 'trip rootchecker'?

LG's phones come with some software loaded that detects the presence of root on a phone, and invalidates your warranty.
Rooting the phone, by nature, voids your warranty. You can put your phone in a special mode where ADB shell has root permissions, however your phone is not technically 'rooted' by app standards.

You will not be able to use 'root required' apps on your phone if you do not let the root script install Superuser.
Okay, where do I get this?

See @autoprime's post here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=869

-- OLD VERSION --
I'll be keeping this link up to date, and changing the version number as new releases come out.
Please do not mirror this link, as it makes my life easier to keep everything under one roof. Thanks!
News:

NEW UPDATE: Now supports F320k on KT
NEW NEW UPDATE: Supports the VZW OTA, haven't confirmed yet, but this should do the trick.
NEW NEW NEW UPDATE: Thanks to DeamonFish in IRC, we now have a lovely howto video for this root!
NEW NEW NEW NEW UPDATE: Rogers AND Bell AND Telus AND D802 now supported!

Okay guys, so, @autoprime is taking over from here -- see his post http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=869 and be sure to thank him!
Help! I cant even! I accidentally a phone!

Calm down, don't panic. Join us in #lg-g2 on Freenode.
If you're new to IRC, click here http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=#lg-g2 and it'll connect you to the channel.

I'm IOMonster on IRC, I still don't know why I have two nicknames. Personality disorder I suppose

PLEASE don't PM me on XDA asking for help. My inbox has exploded, and can no longer handle it. I will not be able to help you over PM of any sort (IRC or XDA, or even email).
Alright guys, let me know if you run into any issues!
The Following 732 Users Say Thank You to thecubed For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
djkinetic
Old
(Last edited by djkinetic; 16th October 2013 at 02:06 AM.)
#2  
djkinetic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1021
Posts: 2,784
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecubed View Post
Howdy everyone!

Here's another neat root!



This is confirmed to work for the ATT and Verizon variants, I'll add support for T-Mobile as soon as I get someone in #lg-g2 in Freenode who owns one.

Simple:
  1. Ensure you have ADB drivers installed and USB Debugging enabled
  2. Extract this .zip file somewhere
  3. Run the root.bat file, and read the instructions

During the installation, you'll have to disable USB Debugging and re-enable it, then the app will ask you if you care about rootcheckerd (rctd).
If you don't want your phone to show "rooted" in download mode, or in settings, hit CTRL-C when prompted and you'll just have a root shell through ADB.

Personally, this is enough for me, but if you want full root, press continue and it'll install superuser and a superuser binary for you.

PLEASE do not mirror this! It makes my life easy if I can just edit the file on my server if need be instead of contacting all the mirrors.
First!!! Thanks IO and all the devs responsible
Current Devices:

One Plus One Sandstone Black 64GB
LG G3 D851 SIM Unlocked (ATT) 32GB
HTC One M8 32GB Gunmetal Grey
LG G-Pad 8.3 GPE
Google Nexus 7 16 GB (2013)

Google Chromecast

Add me to your Google+ Circle: https://plus.google.com/106721746210047548500/posts
The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to djkinetic For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
friguy3
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 507
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manalapan, NJ
Can you explain the difference between root shell (leaving it to say unrooted) and "full" root? Will this affect once we get a way to unlock the bootloader or get a recovery for roms? And is there a way to unroot? Thanks for this!!
The Following User Says Thank You to friguy3 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
thecubed
Old
#4  
thecubed's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4271
Posts: 871
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by friguy3 View Post
Can you explain the difference between root shell (leaving it to say unrooted) and "full" root? Will this affect once we get a way to unlock the bootloader or get a recovery for roms? And is there a way to unroot? Thanks for this!!
Root shell allows you to have root only through ADB. Apps on the phone will not be able to use the root functions of the device if you don't let my script install superuser.
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to thecubed For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Mikef3j
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 33
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by djkinetic View Post
First!!! Thanks IO and all the devs responsible
Most definitely thanks, I see I have USB debugging on but am not sure what is meant by:

command prompt and type adb devices, you should see your Serial Number and online.

Command prompt from where?

Thanks...

Mike
VZW G2
The Following User Says Thank You to Mikef3j For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
thecubed
Old
#6  
thecubed's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4271
Posts: 871
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikef3j View Post
Most definitely thanks, I see I have USB debugging on but am not sure what is meant by:

command prompt and type adb devices, you should see your Serial Number and online.

Command prompt from where?

Thanks...

Mike
What?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to thecubed For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
scrosler
Old
#7  
scrosler's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 50328
Posts: 23,052
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fargo

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecubed View Post
Howdy everyone!

Here's another neat root!
I dont have the phone (yet) but thanks for rootz!
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to scrosler For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
yyhd
Old
#8  
yyhd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 156
Posts: 1,830
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Awesome. Now I'm gonna go buy a G2. Hehe.
The average woman would rather have beauty than brains, because the average man can see better than he can think.
The Following User Says Thank You to yyhd For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Han Solo 1
Old
#9  
Han Solo 1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 162
Posts: 664
Join Date: Aug 2013
What can we do if we rooted with that weird Chinese exe?

How can I unroot so that I can use this?
 
RiverdALIEN
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 119
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecubed View Post
Howdy everyone!

Here's another neat root!

http://downloads.codefi.re/thecubed/...ot/ioroot2.zip

This is confirmed to work for the ATT and Verizon variants, I'll add support for T-Mobile as soon as I get someone in #lg-g2 in Freenode who owns one.

Simple:
  1. Ensure you have ADB drivers installed and USB Debugging enabled
  2. Extract this .zip file somewhere
  3. Run the root.bat file, and read the instructions

During the installation, you'll have to disable USB Debugging and re-enable it, then the app will ask you if you care about rootcheckerd (rctd).
If you don't want your phone to show "rooted" in download mode, or in settings, hit CTRL-C when prompted and you'll just have a root shell through ADB.

Personally, this is enough for me, but if you want full root, press continue and it'll install superuser and a superuser binary for you.

PLEASE do not mirror this! It makes my life easy if I can just edit the file on my server if need be instead of contacting all the mirrors.
what happened to the other thread (which links to this one) in which there were t-mobile variant rooting instructions? i mean i know what happened, they were deleted but why?

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to RiverdALIEN For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes