Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Question [Q] Samsung note 3 Keyboard

OP FSake

7th October 2013, 02:27 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Bangor
Thanks Meter: 3
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Can anyone tell me how to get the accents/symbols to appear on the keyboard. If you look at the phonearena review of the IPhone 5s versus Note 3 you'll see they have shown a keyboard with accents/symbols accessible when you long press a letter. My keyboard doesnt show this.

Any help would be great.

Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-10-07-13-12-34.jpg
Views:	294
Size:	32.8 KB
ID:	2308417

Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-10-07-13-25-23.jpg
Views:	259
Size:	35.1 KB
ID:	2308421
7th October 2013, 03:05 PM   |  #2  
MBariya's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jamnagar
Thanks Meter: 274
 
586 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
One solution is there bur you have to be rooted for that.

Go to /system/csc/others.xml or feature.xml file.
Open this file with root browser text editor and add below lines between <FeatureSet> lines.

<CscFeature_Sip_UseSymbolInCMKey>true</CscFeature_Sip_UseSymbolInCMKey>
<CscFeature_Sip_EnableSymbolInSecondary>de;en_US;e n_GB</CscFeature_Sip_EnableSymbolInSecondary>


Save file and set permission to -rw-r--r--.
Reboot done.

Make sure to take backup od this file before edit.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MBariya For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th October 2013, 03:28 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Bangor
Thanks Meter: 3
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Thanks for the quick reply. I'm not going to Root until I see if this Efuse thing can be circumvented by the Devs.

Does that mean phone arena rooted there phone? Does everyone's keyboard looks the same as mine as standard?
Last edited by FSake; 7th October 2013 at 04:24 PM.
7th October 2013, 06:22 PM   |  #4  
MBariya's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jamnagar
Thanks Meter: 274
 
586 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Yes all keyboards are same as yours.
Check at google play store. Keyboard update is rollout by samsung.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 4
7th October 2013, 06:50 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Bangor
Thanks Meter: 3
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
So are the review units sent out to websites etc different to consumer ones? Or has phone arena posted the wrong pictures.

http:// http://www.phonearena.com/im...142157&popup=1

Check out the photos of the note 3 keyboard in there review. Clearly shows the option to long press letters to bring up alternative symbols etc.

Thanks again for the reply
8th October 2013, 01:40 AM   |  #6  
force70's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag toronto
Thanks Meter: 2,211
 
3,674 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBariya

Yes all keyboards are same as yours.
Check at google play store. Keyboard update is rollout by samsung.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 4

I saw that...im not one to take updates lol..dont trust them. That update doesnt enable secondary symbols though does it?

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using xda premium
8th October 2013, 07:35 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Bangor
Thanks Meter: 3
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I accidentally accepted the update and it didn't enable secondary symbols.
I new there was a specific name for it. Lol. 😃
The Following User Says Thank You to FSake For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th October 2014, 09:54 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2014
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBariya

One solution is there bur you have to be rooted for that.

Go to /system/csc/others.xml or feature.xml file.
Open this file with root browser text editor and add below lines between <FeatureSet> lines.

<CscFeature_Sip_UseSymbolInCMKey>true</CscFeature_Sip_UseSymbolInCMKey>
<CscFeature_Sip_EnableSymbolInSecondary>de;en_US;e n_GB</CscFeature_Sip_EnableSymbolInSecondary>


Save file and set permission to -rw-r--r--.
Reboot done.

Make sure to take backup od this file before edit.



Nice it worked

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes