Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,670 Members 44,544 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] controll which app produces sound

Tip us?
 
Moldat
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Dec 2012
Question [Q] controll which app produces sound

Hi, i have a question/problem thats been bugging me for a while and i couldnt find a solution...

I want to be able to listen to music while playing a game/ using an app, now some apps are ok with this and "shut up" the moment you start playing music, but others, such as kingdom rush for example, shut down the music playback the moment you open the app.

Is there a method to controll wich app produces sound? Much like on the pc?

Thats in advance for your help =]


(Also i read some where that the best way to get an answer is not to ask a question but instead provide the wrong answer, so here goes: ANDROID SUCKS BECAUSE THERES NO WAY TO CONTROL WHICH APP PRODUCES SOUBD!! =] )
 
TheArc
Old
(Last edited by TheArc; 14th March 2014 at 11:29 AM.)
#2  
TheArc's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 1,737
Posts: 2,175
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Auckland City
Hello @Moldat

Firstly, this can be quite easily achieved if you're running a device with Android 4.4.

I'm not sure if "App Ops" is available on lower android versions. But if you're on KitKat, you can simply go into App Ops, scroll through the apps, find you game. And turn off the "Media Volume".

This stops the game from using inbuilt music and sound fx. This means you can keep your music on in the background.

Hope this helped, if you need to ask anything else, please do so.

Sent from this toast making Nexus 5, you wish your Nexus could make toast don't you? (;
iOS7 Kik Messenger | Svelte UI CM11 Theme | Active Launcher
The Following User Says Thank You to TheArc For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Moldat
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Dec 2012
Thanks for the answer kris!

Sadly my device isnt kitkat
 
TheArc
Old
#4  
TheArc's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 1,737
Posts: 2,175
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Auckland City
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moldat View Post
Thanks for the answer kris!

Sadly my device isnt kitkat
What android version is it?

Sent from this toast making Nexus 5, you wish your Nexus could make toast don't you? (;
iOS7 Kik Messenger | Svelte UI CM11 Theme | Active Launcher
 
Moldat
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Dec 2012
Its 4.3
 
TheArc
Old
#6  
TheArc's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 1,737
Posts: 2,175
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Auckland City
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moldat View Post
Its 4.3
Oh you're in luck mate, go to the play store and search for "App Ops" download and install it. There are many choose the one that you feel like having. And its pretty much the same procedure, scroll lthrough apps and disable the media volume.

Sent from this toast making Nexus 5, you wish your Nexus could make toast don't you? (;
iOS7 Kik Messenger | Svelte UI CM11 Theme | Active Launcher
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes