FORUMS

Request: LG Quick Remote for AOSP

762 posts
Thanks Meter: 161
 
By steveo17, Senior Member on 28th October 2013, 12:41 AM
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have a request. Are there any devs out there that can get the LG quick remote app working on AOSP roms? I have found a zip, but it doesnt seem to work in AOSP. I would love if i could have the remote working on CM 10.2!!
 
 
28th October 2013, 04:24 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte NC
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
This is going to be issue and same reason why there are no 3rd party remote apps, like the g2 camera you will need a lot lg framework to make it work. This is the reason I'm not flashing any more roms. Asop cameras suck you loose alot of g2 features. After years of abuse by asop style roms I'm happy with what lg has given us.

Sent from Bad Azz VZW LG G2 Cyan Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to moosc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th October 2013, 02:24 PM |#3  
steveo17's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South Amboy
Thanks Meter: 161
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moosc

This is going to be issue and same reason why there are no 3rd party remote apps, like the g2 camera you will need a lot lg framework to make it work. This is the reason I'm not flashing any more roms. Asop cameras suck you loose alot of g2 features. After years of abuse by asop style roms I'm happy with what lg has given us.

Sent from Bad Azz VZW LG G2 Cyan Tapatalk


yeah so i've heard. i emailed the DEV of the remote app for the gs4 and htc one. hoping we can get some support. waht features are we missing from LG's camera software?
28th October 2013, 03:39 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte NC
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Some one already emailed that dev and asked if they were going to put out there app for the G2. His response was that the remote stuff was built into lg unlike the hTc and Samsung phones. Camera you'll lose everything that is in the lg camera.
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveo17

yeah so i've heard. i emailed the DEV of the remote app for the gs4 and htc one. hoping we can get some support. waht features are we missing from LG's camera software?



Sent from Bad Azz VZW LG G2 Cyan Tapatalk
28th October 2013, 04:19 PM |#5  
steveo17's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South Amboy
Thanks Meter: 161
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moosc

Some one already emailed that dev and asked if they were going to put out there app for the G2. His response was that the remote stuff was built into lg unlike the hTc and Samsung phones. Camera you'll lose everything that is in the lg camera.



Sent from Bad Azz VZW LG G2 Cyan Tapatalk



right this is what he said:

"Hi

Unfortunately the LG has their communication with the infrared sensor private and we would have to go through their app and use their database which is something that would introduce many other problems , not to mention that the app would be half ours and not having control over the database would mean not having control over what users need .

If their policy will change we will definitely take this device into consideration .

Thank you for your interest in our app!

Regards,

Alina"
28th October 2013, 05:20 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte NC
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Yep sucks
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveo17

right this is what he said:

"Hi

Unfortunately the LG has their communication with the infrared sensor private and we would have to go through their app and use their database which is something that would introduce many other problems , not to mention that the app would be half ours and not having control over the database would mean not having control over what users need .

If their policy will change we will definitely take this device into consideration .

Thank you for your interest in our app!

Regards,

Alina"



Sent from Bad Azz VZW LG G2 Cyan Tapatalk
29th October 2013, 05:26 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
It CAN be done, it has been done before
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveo17

right this is what he said:

"Hi

Unfortunately the LG has their communication with the infrared sensor private and we would have to go through their app and use their database which is something that would introduce many other problems , not to mention that the app would be half ours and not having control over the database would mean not having control over what users need .

If their policy will change we will definitely take this device into consideration .

Thank you for your interest in our app!

Regards,

Alina"


This is inaccurate. The LG Q Remote has been used on CM and other AOSP-based ROMS on other devices. The following link is for a download for the Q Remote for the Optimus G Pro that works on AOSP-based roms. I've tried it on the G2 and unfortunately it doesn't work... http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2458277&page=2
29th October 2013, 05:36 PM |#8  
steveo17's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South Amboy
Thanks Meter: 161
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brasilguy

This is inaccurate. The LG Q Remote has been used on CM and other AOSP-based ROMS on other devices. The following link is for a download for the Q Remote for the Optimus G Pro that works on AOSP-based roms. I've tried it on the G2 and unfortunately it doesn't work... http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2458277&page=2

correct. i have as well. I am hoping that someone will be able to fix this to work on CM for us!
29th October 2013, 11:27 PM |#9  
RieGo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 455
 
Donate to Me
More
tried porting the QRemote today... no success so far.
seems like LGQRemote.apk does only contain resources, but no code (unlike the QRemote from Optimus G)
maybe someone else has more knowledge of porting, we really need to get this working
30th October 2013, 09:48 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RieGo

tried porting the QRemote today... no success so far.
seems like LGQRemote.apk does only contain resources, but no code (unlike the QRemote from Optimus G)
maybe someone else has more knowledge of porting, we really need to get this working

Maybe the answer then is to port the exact remote from the Optimus G Pro (from this post: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2458277) to the G2?
31st October 2013, 07:58 PM |#11  
steveo17's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South Amboy
Thanks Meter: 161
 
Donate to Me
More
looks like 4.4 is going to treat the lg g2 nicely. IR support is native to 4.4 now!!

Quote:

IR Blasters

Android 4.4 introduces platform support for built-in IR blasters, along with a new API and system service that let you create apps to take advantage them.

Using the new API, you can build apps that let users remotely control nearby TVs, tuners, switches, and other electronic devices. The API lets your app check whether the phone or tablet has an infrared emitter, query it's carrier frequencies, and then send infrared signals.

Because the API is standard across Android devices running Android 4.4 or higher, your app can support the broadest possible range of vendors without writing custom integration code.

Read More
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes