Post Reply

Keyboard Secondary Symbols?

14th February 2014, 02:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
So I noticed today that my keyboard secondary symbols on all the letters are missing. They were there yesterday. Since then, I have rooted the phone, installed Xposed Framework, Wanam, Multi Window Manager, and RootCloak. Somewhere between then and now, they have disappeared. Anybody have any ideas?

I have enabled Keyboard symbols in Wanam and rebooted, doesnt seem to change anything.

Thanks in advance!
13th March 2014, 05:39 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Largo, FL
Thanks Meter: 18
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil.culler

So I noticed today that my keyboard secondary symbols on all the letters are missing. They were there yesterday. Since then, I have rooted the phone, installed Xposed Framework, Wanam, Multi Window Manager, and RootCloak. Somewhere between then and now, they have disappeared. Anybody have any ideas?

I have enabled Keyboard symbols in Wanam and rebooted, doesnt seem to change anything.

Thanks in advance!

I'm having the same issue. Anyone have a fix?
14th March 2014, 09:57 AM   |  #3  
d12unk13astard's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bakersucks
Thanks Meter: 630
 
2,212 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil.culler

So I noticed today that my keyboard secondary symbols on all the letters are missing. They were there yesterday. Since then, I have rooted the phone, installed Xposed Framework, Wanam, Multi Window Manager, and RootCloak. Somewhere between then and now, they have disappeared. Anybody have any ideas?

I have enabled Keyboard symbols in Wanam and rebooted, doesnt seem to change anything.

Thanks in advance!







Quote:
Originally Posted by bennemat

I'm having the same issue. Anyone have a fix?

Did you both try going into actual input settings and not just wanam to check if symbols are enabled on keyboard?

Sent from my SM-N900T using xda premium
14th March 2014, 03:37 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Yeah I did. I have since jumped ship for the SwiftKey beta since it has an optional number row like the Samsung keyboard and I like the autocorrect better.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
14th March 2014, 03:40 PM   |  #5  
d12unk13astard's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bakersucks
Thanks Meter: 630
 
2,212 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil.culler

Yeah I did. I have since jumped ship for the SwiftKey beta since it has an optional number row like the Samsung keyboard and I like the autocorrect better.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

That was going to be my next suggestion lol

Sent from my SM-N900T using xda premium
14th March 2014, 03:41 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
I had SwiftKey on all my phones prior to this one, but I fell in love with the dedicated number row and SwiftKey didn't have that at the time. Now all is good

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
14th March 2014, 06:28 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Largo, FL
Thanks Meter: 18
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
The problem is in the feature.xml file in system/csc. Xposed and/Wanam alter that file and remove the secondary symbols. I just backed up the original file then copied it over the changed one after I installed xposed and Wanam. Problem solved.

Thanks for the input everyone.
The Following User Says Thank You to bennemat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th March 2014, 01:20 AM   |  #8  
wudien's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbia
Thanks Meter: 14
 
143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennemat

The problem is in the feature.xml file in system/csc. Xposed and/Wanam alter that file and remove the secondary symbols. I just backed up the original file then copied it over the changed one after I installed xposed and Wanam. Problem solved.

Thanks for the input everyone.

so I have this same problem. could you provide me with your back up? Or possibly, if anyone could advise what line to change, please do!
15th March 2014, 01:52 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Largo, FL
Thanks Meter: 18
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Here's a copy of mine. Just move it to system/csc and change the permissions to r-w-r-r. Hope this helps.
Attached Files
File Type: zip feature.xml.zip - [Click for QR Code] (2.4 KB, 83 views)
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to bennemat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th March 2014, 06:11 PM   |  #10  
b0Ne83's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennemat

Here's a copy of mine. Just move it to system/csc and change the permissions to r-w-r-r. Hope this helps.


Bro, thank you for this fix

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
keyboard, symbols, wanam, xposed
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes