Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,543 Members 37,877 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Screen locks immediately during calls - proximity sensor not working?

Tip us?
 
Sirchuk
Old
#1  
Sirchuk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 780
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default Screen locks immediately during calls - proximity sensor not working?

I have two SGS4's. On one, when I place a call, the call screen stays on and it turns off when I raise it to my ear. It then turns on when I pull it away.

On the other, as soon as I place I call the screen goes dark. The only way to get it back is to push the power button and unlock the phone.

The "Turn screen off during a call" setting is set on both phones.

Anyone have any idea what is causing this? Next step is to do a wipe, but that just sucks.

I'm on stock and not rooted.

Thanks!
Rooted Android Devices:
Samsung Galaxy Note 3
Samsung Galaxy S4
Kindle Fire HD
HTC EVO 4G LTE
Samsung Galaxy Nexus
Motorola Xoom - Verizon
HTC EVO 4G
HTC Hero
HTC T-Mobile G1
 
jprocket45
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 140
Join Date: Jan 2013
Sadly I have the same issue on mine but not my wifes.... hope somebody knows something or maybe the rumored update thats going to be coming out will have a fix?? I dunno...
 
Sirchuk
Old
#3  
Sirchuk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 780
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jprocket45 View Post
Sadly I have the same issue on mine but not my wifes.... hope somebody knows something or maybe the rumored update thats going to be coming out will have a fix?? I dunno...
Have you tried doing a reset yet? I'm hesitant since it's a pain to restore everything the way I like it. Definitely a weekend task.
Rooted Android Devices:
Samsung Galaxy Note 3
Samsung Galaxy S4
Kindle Fire HD
HTC EVO 4G LTE
Samsung Galaxy Nexus
Motorola Xoom - Verizon
HTC EVO 4G
HTC Hero
HTC T-Mobile G1
 
jprocket45
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 140
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirchuk View Post
Have you tried doing a reset yet? I'm hesitant since it's a pain to restore everything the way I like it. Definitely a weekend task.
I have done a reset it solved it a little I guess but still having issues once in a great while all works well id blame it on the otterbox case but my wife has one so dunno if that could be the issue you have a case on urs never really played with the phone outside of the case lol

Sent from my SPH-L720 using xda app-developers app
 
Sirchuk
Old
#5  
Sirchuk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 780
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jprocket45 View Post
I have done a reset it solved it a little I guess but still having issues once in a great while all works well id blame it on the otterbox case but my wife has one so dunno if that could be the issue you have a case on urs never really played with the phone outside of the case lol

Sent from my SPH-L720 using xda app-developers app
Nope, mine is naked for now. I'll have to do a reset today/tomorrow and see if that solves my issue. If not, I'm taking back to the store for an exchange. It's only been a couple of weeks.
Rooted Android Devices:
Samsung Galaxy Note 3
Samsung Galaxy S4
Kindle Fire HD
HTC EVO 4G LTE
Samsung Galaxy Nexus
Motorola Xoom - Verizon
HTC EVO 4G
HTC Hero
HTC T-Mobile G1
 
jprocket45
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 140
Join Date: Jan 2013
To late for me to take it back but suppose to be a update coming soon that does alot of fixes so we will see Good luck like I said reset I did notice fixed it a bit let me know how it goes I'm threw sprint just curious if you have them only reason I ask if it's just a carrier issue with software or something I doubt it but just figured to see who you had lol

Sent from my SPH-L720 using xda app-developers app
 
samersh72
Old
#7  
samersh72's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6918
Posts: 3,438
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Android City
Dial *#7353# and make a test

sent from my Galaxy
Google Nexus 5: N5 Tips & Tricks
Galaxy S4 I9500/I9505: Unroot, flash official stock
Galaxy S5 G900: EFS Backup / Post your PIT file.
Galaxy Nexus I9250: Gnex Tips & Tricks ////// Odin/Back to stock 4.3 / 4.2.2
Galaxy SIII Mini I8190: Unroot, Flash official stock
Galaxy Ace Plus S7500: Unroot, Flash official stock
Galaxy Young S5360: Young Tips & Tricks
Galaxy S2 Plus I9105/P: Unroot, Flash official stock
Sony Experia SP C5303 // Sony Experia L C2105
The Following User Says Thank You to samersh72 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Sirchuk
Old
#8  
Sirchuk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 780
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by samersh72 View Post
Dial *#7353# and make a test

sent from my Galaxy
That's what I was looking for!

Sure enough,the proximity sensor was always on and wouldn't go off.

I'm with T-Mobile and they have a 30 return/exchange policy if you buy it outright, which I had, so it only took about 10 minutes for them to exchange it!

Thanks for the testing code! XDA comes through once again!
Rooted Android Devices:
Samsung Galaxy Note 3
Samsung Galaxy S4
Kindle Fire HD
HTC EVO 4G LTE
Samsung Galaxy Nexus
Motorola Xoom - Verizon
HTC EVO 4G
HTC Hero
HTC T-Mobile G1
 
TommyTheGun
Old
#9  
TommyTheGun's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 22
Join Date: Dec 2008
Same problem when I'm making a call, the screen goes blank when I put it to my head and when I remove it nothing happens.

I tried *#7353# and the proximity sensor goes of but will not stop..

I'm currently rooted, could it solve the problem to go back to stock?
 
chriskerper
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Akron
Default Possible Fix

Quote:
Originally Posted by jprocket45 View Post
Sadly I have the same issue on mine but not my wifes.... hope somebody knows something or maybe the rumored update thats going to be coming out will have a fix?? I dunno...
I have had the same problem over the last 3 weeks and decided to take a gamble. I tightened up all the screws on the device and squeezed real hard on the area where the prox sensor is and poof... it works. I have no idea what was up but I feel like the sensor is loose and the pressure resolved the issue. Many other post have talked about cleaning the area over the prox real good and it works but I think its the pressure that is actually fixing the issue. Anyone else have any ideas? Sorry if this was posted incorrectly, I have never posted before but I felt this issue is a PITA.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes