Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,470 Members 40,437 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Broke screen getting replacement

Tip us?
 
crbnfbr
Old
#1  
crbnfbr's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 27
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Broke screen getting replacement

I just cracked the screen on my i605 yesterday, and they're sending me a replacement today. What are the odds that it'll have 4.3 on it? Because, I'd really like to unlock the bootloader.
 
crbnfbr
Old
#2  
crbnfbr's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 27
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbnfbr View Post
I just cracked the screen on my i605 yesterday, and they're sending me a replacement today. What are the odds that it'll have 4.3 on it? Because, I'd really like to unlock the bootloader.
Just got my "new" replacement phone, and yep 4.3 on it. So, no unlocking the boot loader. Is there any way I can installed sophisticated ROM, or better yet CWM recovery?
 
lacoursiere18
Old
#3  
lacoursiere18's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 4,276
Posts: 3,192
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: LbTs

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbnfbr View Post
Just got my "new" replacement phone, and yep 4.3 on it. So, no unlocking the boot loader. Is there any way I can installed sophisticated ROM, or better yet CWM recovery?
No there is not at this moment.. sad to say.. There is one option but it might cost you about a $100.. You could look online for a 4.1.2 motherboard for i605, the specific model.. it very simple to swap out..took me only about 15 mind and I have never done it before.. If your not comfortable PM me and I can recommend someone you can send it to that guarantees their work/parts for 3 months.. good luck man!

Hit "Thanks" if I helped you
 
crbnfbr
Old
#4  
crbnfbr's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 27
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacoursiere18 View Post
No there is not at this moment.. sad to say.. There is one option but it might cost you about a $100.. You could look online for a 4.1.2 motherboard for i605, the specific model.. it very simple to swap out..took me only about 15 mind and I have never done it before.. If your not comfortable PM me and I can recommend someone you can send it to that guarantees their work/parts for 3 months.. good luck man!
I actually tries "saferoot" and so far so good. I'm still waiting to see if it'll restore my data through Titanium Backup. Root checker does show it is rooted though.

I though about taking the mobo out of my cracked screen phone and swapping it once I booted this replacement and saw it was 4.3.
 
lacoursiere18
Old
#5  
lacoursiere18's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 4,276
Posts: 3,192
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: LbTs

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbnfbr View Post
I actually tries "saferoot" and so far so good. I'm still waiting to see if it'll restore my data through Titanium Backup. Root checker does show it is rooted though.

I though about taking the mobo out of my cracked screen phone and swapping it once I booted this replacement and saw it was 4.3.
Dude thats a GREAT idea! You should.. as long as it was not damaged with the phone..
You can root 4.3 just fine.. that is the same method I used when I did it.. Make sure evrything is installing properly and you have no errors when the script runs through..
If you need any helping swapping motherboard out.. Hit me up in a PM and I can maybe provide some pointers..

Hit "Thanks" if I helped you
 
crbnfbr
Old
#6  
crbnfbr's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 27
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacoursiere18 View Post
Dude thats a GREAT idea! You should.. as long as it was not damaged with the phone..
You can root 4.3 just fine.. that is the same method I used when I did it.. Make sure evrything is installing properly and you have no errors when the script runs through..
If you need any helping swapping motherboard out.. Hit me up in a PM and I can maybe provide some pointers..
Is it just a matter of taking out all the baby silver screws, and connecting some ribbon cables? Also, will I still keepxmy CWM recovery and old sophisticated root?

I've done dzens of pc mobos but never a phone.
 
lacoursiere18
Old
#7  
lacoursiere18's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 4,276
Posts: 3,192
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: LbTs

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbnfbr View Post
Is it just a matter of taking out all the baby silver screws, and connecting some ribbon cables? Also, will I still keepxmy CWM recovery and old sophisticated root?

I've done dzens of pc mobos but never a phone.
Yes..thats all it takes.. Umm not to sure.. Whatever you had on your old one might still be there.. not sure if it resets or anything..

If you have done PC's then it should be no problem for you.. take your time..just smaller pieces..
Good Luck!

Hit "Thanks" if I helped you
 
crbnfbr
Old
#8  
crbnfbr's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 27
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacoursiere18 View Post
Yes..thats all it takes.. Umm not to sure.. Whatever you had on your old one might still be there.. not sure if it resets or anything..

If you have done PC's then it should be no problem for you.. take your time..just smaller pieces..
Good Luck!
I've already sealed it up in the return envelope, but I'll cut it open for a chance to run a custom recovery and better root. I just don't think I can last a full year before my contracts up.

Even if it does reset my CWM backup I'd hope would restore everything.
 
lacoursiere18
Old
#9  
lacoursiere18's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 4,276
Posts: 3,192
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: LbTs

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbnfbr View Post
I've already sealed it up in the return envelope, but I'll cut it open for a chance to run a custom recovery and better root. I just don't think I can last a full year before my contracts up.

Even if it does reset my CWM backup I'd hope would restore everything.
Worse case scenario is just running CASUAL again and unlocking it. Let me know what happens

Hit "Thanks" if I helped you
 
crbnfbr
Old
#10  
crbnfbr's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 27
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacoursiere18 View Post
Worse case scenario is just running CASUAL again and unlocking it. Let me know what happens
At the very least I'll at least I'll get my boot loader unlocked, CWM recovery and sophisticated rom all back.

The Following User Says Thank You to crbnfbr For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes