Post Reply

[Q] Full Android reboot after flashing recovery?

16th March 2014, 01:48 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 402
 
511 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Hi,

In several posts I read, that after flashing recovery you should first fully boot into Android, before booting into the new recovery.
I would really like to understand the reason for this.

Anyone who can give some technical details?

Thanks!
16th March 2014, 06:29 PM   |  #2  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 375
 
1,066 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by f69m

Hi,

In several posts I read, that after flashing recovery you should first fully boot into Android, before booting into the new recovery.
I would really like to understand the reason for this.

Anyone who can give some technical details?

Thanks!

When you don't reboot into Android, many people will get the dreaded TWRP password bug when you have not already set a password:
The Following User Says Thank You to cmendonc2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th March 2014, 09:28 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 402
 
511 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmendonc2

When you don't reboot into Android, many people will get the dreaded TWRP password bug when you have not already set a password:

You mean the password prompt showing up, though the filesystem has not been encrypted?
Interesting, I thought that happens only, when the TWRP version does not match the bootloader.

Hard to explain, but then weird things happen all the time that cannot always be explained.
22nd March 2014, 03:03 PM   |  #4  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Muti-Verse
Thanks Meter: 1,435
 
1,753 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by f69m

You mean the password prompt showing up, though the filesystem has not been encrypted?
Interesting, I thought that happens only, when the TWRP version does not match the bootloader.

Hard to explain, but then weird things happen all the time that cannot always be explained.

And depending on which method you use, You would be flashing the recovery to the staging partition, so a full reboot is need, thats why you

get the blue bar on you tab on reboot, Its moving what you just flashed from the staging to the correct partition, in your case the recovery...

Thx Josh
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Transformer TF300T Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank