Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,629 Members 41,532 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Phone not always staying rooted?

Tip us?
 
millsmillsmills
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Chicago IL via Newtown CT
Default Phone not always staying rooted?

Sorry if this is a very noobish question, but I've done a pretty good amount of searching and haven't found anything. Every once in a while when I check an app like WakeLock Detector or browse Xposed modules my phone will tell me that I am not rooted. I use root checker just to double check and it confirms this. Upon reset my phone will 'go back' to being rooted. I've done a factory reset and rooted again but was still getting the same problem. Has anyone else encountered this problem?


I'm on a Sprint HTC One with 4.4.2 for the record.




To any mods: sorry if this is in the wrong place, feel free to move it or let me know where to correctly post it.
 
cr1960
Old
#2  
cr1960's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 286
Posts: 1,370
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by millsmillsmills View Post
Sorry if this is a very noobish question, but I've done a pretty good amount of searching and haven't found anything. Every once in a while when I check an app like WakeLock Detector or browse Xposed modules my phone will tell me that I am not rooted. I use root checker just to double check and it confirms this. Upon reset my phone will 'go back' to being rooted. I've done a factory reset and rooted again but was still getting the same problem. Has anyone else encountered this problem?


I'm on a Sprint HTC One with 4.4.2 for the record.




To any mods: sorry if this is in the wrong place, feel free to move it or let me know where to correctly post it.
what rom are you running? (stock or custom)

HTC M8
ROM: Renovate
 
millsmillsmills
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Chicago IL via Newtown CT
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr1960 View Post
what rom are you running? (stock or custom)
Just using the stock rom.
 
cr1960
Old
#4  
cr1960's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 286
Posts: 1,370
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by millsmillsmills View Post
Just using the stock rom.
so you have 'superuser' or 'supersu' installed on your device?

HTC M8
ROM: Renovate
 
millsmillsmills
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Chicago IL via Newtown CT
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr1960 View Post
so you have 'superuser' or 'supersu' installed on your device?
Supersu. Although I might have figured out the problem.

For some reason the binaries weren't updating correctly so I just did a clean install of it again and that seems to have done the trick. I'll update in a few days if the problem's gone away for good.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes