Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,798 Members 38,848 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HELP] Variant System Version

Tip us?
 
ural_berk
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Mar 2009
Exclamation [HELP] Variant System Version

Hi,

I installed one of GuruReset roms to my htc one, Software number is 3.63.707.3 I bought this phone from turkey and i found that rom as compatible to my device. After i installed rom, i got a software update warning and started to download but when it starts to install, i got 'Variant System Version'. The device info is down below.

**TAMPERED**
**UNLOCKED**
security S-ON
HTC__J15
HBOOT 1.55.0000
RADIO 4A.21.3263.04
OS 3.63.401.3

When i try to update firmware in RUU mode, i got CID warning end it aborts setup. I thought my rom is incompatible. So i need help in this situation.

Thanks
 
muhammad.uzi1994
Old
(Last edited by muhammad.uzi1994; 15th March 2014 at 10:36 AM.)
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 291
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ural_berk View Post
Hi,

I installed one of GuruReset roms to my htc one, Software number is 3.63.707.3 I bought this phone from turkey and i found that rom as compatible to my device. After i installed rom, i got a software update warning and started to download but when it starts to install, i got 'Variant System Version'. The device info is down below.

**TAMPERED**
**UNLOCKED**
security S-ON
HTC__J15
HBOOT 1.55.0000
RADIO 4A.21.3263.04
OS 3.63.401.3

When i try to update firmware in RUU mode, i got CID warning end it aborts setup. I thought my rom is incompatible. So i need help in this situation.

Thanks
the variant error shows up when your OS in the bootloader and Software number inside the ROM doesnt match, you need to find a compatible ROM, the ROM you are using (3.63.707.3) is for India/Asia with cid HTC__038 and HTC__044 and MIDs PN0711000 and PN0714000 respectively, what's your Model ID? can you post the results of "fastboot getvar all" excluding your Serial No. and IMEI? if you can tell me your Model ID i can suggest the compatible stock ROM reset or RUU for your phone
 
nkk71
Old
#3  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2819
Posts: 5,686
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994 View Post
the variant error shows up when your OS in the bootloader and Software number inside the ROM doesnt match, you need to find a compatible ROM, the ROM you are using (3.63.707.3) is for India/Asia with cid HTC__038 and HTC__044 and MIDs PN0711000 and PN0714000 respectively, what's your Model ID? can you post the results of "fastboot getvar all" excluding your Serial No. and IMEI? if you can tell me your Model ID i can suggest the compatible stock ROM reset or RUU for your phone
It's probably PN0711000 (m7_u not ul)
 
muhammad.uzi1994
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 291
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
It's probably PN0711000 (m7_u not ul)
yeah, i think so too, my phone is m7_u too with this MID
 
nkk71
Old
#5  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2819
Posts: 5,686
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994 View Post
yeah, i think so too, my phone is m7_u too with this MID
PN0710000 = M7_UL
PN0711000 = M7_U

HTC__J15 is Middle East CID, and both models are available (U and UL), but he got it in Turkey, and has OS 3.63.401.3 which I think is the U model
 
muhammad.uzi1994
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 291
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
PN0710000 = M7_UL
PN0711000 = M7_U

HTC__J15 is Middle East CID, and both models are available (U and UL), but he got it in Turkey, and has OS 3.63.401.3 which I think is the U model
i dont know much about the Middle Eastern variants, maybe you can guide him better once he posts the result of "fastboot getvar all"
 
nkk71
Old
#7  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2819
Posts: 5,686
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994 View Post
i dont know much about the Middle Eastern variants, maybe you can guide him better once he posts the result of "fastboot getvar all"
on the M7, it's just the same as the other international unbranded WWE editions, no differences.
 
ural_berk
Old
(Last edited by ural_berk; 16th March 2014 at 06:34 PM.)
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Mar 2009
the getvar all code results like below.
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.55.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.21.3263.04
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 3.63.401.3
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno:
(bootloader) imei:
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_u
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0711000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__J15
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 3786mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-ea0bccbd
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0

By the way, thanks for all replies. And also i tried the OS 3.63.401.3 version and it never prompts the 4.4.2 OTA update.
 
muhammad.uzi1994
Old
(Last edited by zelendel; 16th March 2014 at 03:27 PM.)
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 291
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ural_berk View Post
the getvar all code results like below.
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.55.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.21.3263.04
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 3.63.401.3
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno:
(bootloader) imei:
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_u
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0711000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__J15
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 3786mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-ea0bccbd
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0

By the way, thanks for all replies. And also i tried the OS 3.63.401.3 version and it never prompts the 4.4.2 OTA update.
edit your post and remove Serial No. and IMEI from it , just like i have removed them from the post quote
 
ural_berk
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994 View Post
edit your post and remove Serial No. and IMEI from it , just like i have removed them from the post quote
I miss that, thanks. Re-editted

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes