Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,979 Members 46,338 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

S5360T locked to Telstra

Tip us?
 
ouch3
Old
(Last edited by ouch3; 11th March 2013 at 07:37 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default S5360T locked to Telstra

hi i have a Telstra S5360T which is currently locked to Telstra.

i have try universal GB root V25 and i can't get root access, it shows as it's being rooted but when i try unlocking with Galaxy Toolbox, it still says no root access.

i have tried super one click 2.3.3 and was frozen on the way, and i have try many version of update.zip and none of them are working.

does anyone has any idea how to unlock/root Aus Telstra version of S5360T?
 
TingTingin
Old
#2  
TingTingin's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1228
Posts: 3,164
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Point Fortin
Default Re: S5360T locked to Telstra

Try this
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1044765

PHONE SLOW CLICK ME?
_____________________________________
"Waiting 4 s4......"- TingTingin"

 
Ubuntu phone OS announced

what do u think share your thoughts --->HERE<---
 
mintnavy
Old
(Last edited by mintnavy; 28th March 2013 at 06:42 AM.)
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2012
A little help ...see attached.
 
pattriccio
Old
(Last edited by pattriccio; 28th March 2013 at 11:09 AM.)
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 77
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ouch3 View Post
hi i have a Telstra S5360T which is currently locked to Telstra.

i have try universal GB root V25 and i can't get root access, it shows as it's being rooted but when i try unlocking with Galaxy Toolbox, it still says no root access.

i have tried super one click 2.3.3 and was frozen on the way, and i have try many version of update.zip and none of them are working.

does anyone has any idea how to unlock/root Aus Telstra version of S5360T?
what i did the last time is installed different s5360T firmware then use universal root...hope it can help..
 
Mz2453
Old
(Last edited by Mz2453; 17th March 2014 at 12:55 PM.) Reason: more info
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dundurrabin NSW
Default SGY S5360T 'root' solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by ouch3 View Post
hi i have a Telstra S5360T which is currently locked to Telstra.

i have try universal GB root V25 and i can't get root access, it shows as it's being rooted but when i try unlocking with Galaxy Toolbox, it still says no root access.

i have tried super one click 2.3.3 and was frozen on the way, and i have try many version of update.zip and none of them are working.

does anyone has any idea how to unlock/root Aus Telstra version of S5360T?
Hi, I started off like you - tried many different methods on XDA and elsewhere - even hair pulling.
Firstly network 'unlocking' doesn't require 'root' access. Telstra will supply an 'unlock code' for free if your phone is over 2 years old. (Otherwise they may charge you to break contract) You give them IMEI number of your phone - they can give you code.
To open your Network Unlock screen – dial > #7465625*638*# on your handset and enter 'unlock code'.
I don't know if 'root' requires that handset is ' network unlocked'.
Anyway . .
Then I found this post - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1927769 - and by adopting method "3-Just(only)root:", and downloading the corresponding attached file - " 3-KERUK_Samsung_Root-only_signed.7z " I finally was successful in rooting my SGY GT S5360T (after weeks of frustration).
All credit and thanks to -CALIBAN666- for supplying the solution.

Incidently - my reason for attempting root was to try to properly unlock my phone to operate on Optus 3G (umts 900 MHz).
Although phone is network unlocked (unlock code supplied by Telstra), and the phone specs say it's 3G 900Mhz compatible, it is still not able to operate on that signal. I'm flummoxed. Would like to know, if you get your root, can your phone (S5360T) go 3G 900 MHz.
I suspect Telstra's firmware is holding out on me.

Good luck with it, hope this helps, and send thanks to -CALIBAN666-.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

[OTA Captured] Verizon LG G Pad 8.3 Finally Gets Official KitKat Update

It’s been almost nine months since the LG G Pad … more

Enjoy Wallpaper Overload with PhotoPhase

We don’t usually feature live wallpapers on the XDA Portal unless they are somewhat innovative … more

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more