Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROM][STOCK] Rogers/Bell/Telus [TW 4.3/MK5/ROOTED] KNOX/NO-KNOX - 12/05/13

OP kriEv

6th December 2013, 09:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 78
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Disclaimer
I am not responsible for any bricks, dead SD cards, house fires or girlfriends leaving you while flashing these. Flash at your own risk

I am not a DEV, im a simple man trying to learn how to compile and modify ROMS, this is my first official release of something! Be gentle! There shouldn't be any issues with these, there's not much that needed to be done, only time consuming! Enjoy!

For PURE UNROOTED STOCK ODIN images go here. Thanks @HiKsFiles


All the roms are zipaligned and deodexed.


ROGERS OFFICIAL STOCK ROOTED
TouchWiz 4.3 I747MVLUEMK5

Untouched with KNOX / DEODEX
This is untouched, pure stock with KNOX, besides being rooted, this is as stock as stock can be.

Untouched without KNOX / DEODEX
This is pure stock but with KNOX removed, everything else in intact.


BELL OFFICIAL STOCK ROOTED
TouchWiz 4.3 I747MVLUEMK5

Seems to be an issue with both Bells versions. I had issues when i uploaded. I will recompile to be sure and re-upload soon. If you can't wait, i would suggest a Telus version (has no bloat) just need to add your APN settings to enable data.


TELUS OFFICIAL STOCK ROOTED
TouchWiz 4.3 I747MVLUEMK5

Untouched with KNOX / DEODEX
This is untouched, pure stock with KNOX, besides being rooted, this is as stock as stock can be.

Untouched without KNOX / DEODEX
This is pure stock but with KNOX removed, everything else in intact.



Installation:

You can install the new Bootloader IF YOU WANT. IT'S OPTIONAL. - Thank you -Mr. X-
If you decide to install it, please be aware that you will NOT be able to downgrade to 4.1.x bootloader. If you need to know if a file is safe to flash please refer to post #3 by @loserskater

Backup your data
Factory reset (Highly recommended)
Flash zip of your choice via recovery
Install new modem MK5 (if you haven't all ready)
Install this Kernel (only if you are having Wifi and Data issues. Will be sorted out, this kernel is a temporary fix) Thanks @scotteb
Clear cache
Reboot (First boot takes 4-5mins)
Enjoy

Concerning bloat, i think it's a personal decision. XDA member Kaito95 made a nice script which is editable here if you wish to remove bloat yourself.


Thanks to Kaito95 for KNOX removal and debloater script, dsixda for his Android Kitchen and -Mr. X- for Bootloader.

Like my work? Want to help me do more? Buy me a coffee!
Last edited by kriEv; 9th December 2013 at 07:29 PM. Reason: Removed Bell versions for now. Will recompile and re-upload soon
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to kriEv For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th December 2013, 09:18 PM   |  #2  
HiKsFiles's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Québec city
Thanks Meter: 160
 
530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Thanks @kriEv, will add a link to this thread in my thread of official images!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to HiKsFiles For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th December 2013, 10:08 PM   |  #3  
loserskater's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag East Stroudsburg, PA
Thanks Meter: 3,318
 
1,851 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriEv

...
If you decide to install it, please be aware that you will NOT be able to downgrade to 4.1.2. You can flash anything 4.3+ but you will not be able to go back to TW 4.1.2....

I feel like there's a lot of confusion about the new bootloaders. So let me try to clear some of it up.

You CAN flash 4.1.2 roms but NOT 4.1.x bootloaders.


If you're unsure that a rom contains bootloaders or a modem here's how to check, download the rom and look in the zip file. What you should look for are any of the following files:
Code:
aboot.mbn
sbl1.mbn
sbl2.mbn
sbl3.mbn
rpm.mbn
tz.mbn
NON-HLOS.bin
modem.bin
If the zip contains any of those files DO NOT flash it.

If it contains just these:
Code:
boot.img
system
META-INF
(There may be other folders if the rom uses aroma)
it is OK to flash.
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to loserskater For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th December 2013, 10:35 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 78
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by loserskater

I feel like there's a lot of confusion about the new bootloaders. So let me try to clear some of it up.

You CAN flash 4.1.2 roms but NOT 4.1.x bootloaders.


If you're unsure that a rom contains bootloaders or a modem here's how to check, download the rom and look in the zip file. What you should look for are any of the following files:

Code:
aboot.mbn
sbl1.mbn
sbl2.mbn
sbl3.mbn
rpm.mbn
tz.mbn
NON-HLOS.bin
modem.bin
If the zip contains any of those files DO NOT flash it.

If it contains just these:
Code:
boot.img
system
META-INF
(There may be other folders if the rom uses aroma)
it is OK to flash.

thanks for the clarification @loserskater

thats what happens when i don't proof read my post before posting it
6th December 2013, 11:39 PM   |  #5  
loserskater's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag East Stroudsburg, PA
Thanks Meter: 3,318
 
1,851 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriEv

thanks for the clarification @loserskater

thats what happens when i don't proof read my post before posting it

No worries. Everybody's always learning! Glad you got these up.
The Following User Says Thank You to loserskater For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th December 2013, 07:15 PM   |  #6  
IUH1991's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 210
 
670 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
I installed this ROM, and wifi doesn't work. How can I restore my WiFI -- installed the new LK5 moden, and data is working...
7th December 2013, 07:32 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 78
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUH1991

I installed this ROM, and wifi doesn't work. How can I restore my WiFI -- installed the new LK5 moden, and data is working...

Which one did yoy install and which carrier are you on? These a pure stock builds, i tested all 6 versions and they all work. I would suggest a complete wipe (data, system) and reflash. If not, could be a bad download.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S3 on Rogers Wireless
7th December 2013, 07:33 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 78
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
These files are big.. i would also recommend not downloading these on a mobile. Broadband is the best way.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S3 on Rogers Wireless
7th December 2013, 08:00 PM   |  #9  
Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 4
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUH1991

I installed this ROM, and wifi doesn't work. How can I restore my WiFI -- installed the new LK5 moden, and data is working...

Ditto here. Went from 4.1.2 to this, No wifi. Erased everything including Data and System, No wifi. Tried reboots and reflash and redownloads.

EDIT: BELL 4.3 WITH KNOX
Last edited by motomandd; 7th December 2013 at 08:06 PM.
7th December 2013, 09:12 PM   |  #10  
scotteb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St. John's
Thanks Meter: 60
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by motomandd

Ditto here. Went from 4.1.2 to this, No wifi. Erased everything including Data and System, No wifi. Tried reboots and reflash and redownloads.

EDIT: BELL 4.3 WITH KNOX

Flash this kernel http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23196940996968860 and try your wifi again.

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to scotteb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes