Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,429 Members 54,514 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROOT]Lenovo Vibe Z (K910)

Tip us?
 
csu333
Old
(Last edited by csu333; 16th April 2014 at 06:45 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 73
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Tablet [ROOT]Lenovo Vibe Z (K910)

This is a build at a really early stage so take care !

Ok, so the method I propose is absolutely non intrusive. You might want to flash the recovery you'll find here-under but I personally haven't done it so feel free to go first Flashing back the original recovery shouldn't be a big deal anyway.

Prerequisite
You should have installed:
  • K910 ADB Driver (available on the CD that appear when you connect the device)
  • ADB
  • Fastboot

Rooting
So the method is pretty easy:
  1. Download the latest SuperSU update.zip and put it at the root of your Internal SD Card
  2. (Optional) Download Google Apps for Android 4.2.2 (thanks to TeamAndroid) and put it at the root of your Internal SD Card
  3. Download the recovery.img (build 140205)
  4. un-7zip it
  5. Restart your device in the bootloader:
    Code:
    adb reboot-bootloader
  6. Boot your phone into the ClockworkMod recovery:
    Code:
    fastboot boot cwm_recovery_custom.img
  7. Install zip, wipe partition, backup/restore, adb sideload, ...
  8. Reboot

The phone is left untouched except for the zip you flashed.

Update on the 6th of February (Build 140205):
  • Bigger font
  • /sdcard mounted on the first user's internal storage (= symlink /sdcard /data/media/0)
  • Makes use of the latest kernel

The old recovery.img stays available.

For those who would be stuck on K910_SS_S_2_040_0039_131101, I posted the official update.zip here

How to build my own recovery
If you are curious about building the recovery, I'll post here a few tips.

First of all, you'll need a good tutorial like the one on XDA University. The steps are the following:
  • Prepare your OS to receive a cyanogenmod repository. I would advice an Ubuntu so you can following this guide. Note that this is for a plain Android so you need to stop following it when they issue the first repo command
  • Then you need to carefully read this guide on porting CyanogenMod ROM. You don't need to build the full system (which is a completely other story) but only the recovery. I prepared the vendor directory for you (base on LG Optimus and a lot of research).
  • The building happens according to this guide.

You could be done by now if it wasn't for the dtb. If you try to boot your recovery as is, fastboot will complain about it. You'll find other people having the same issue, just follow their solution.
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to csu333 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sakilxda
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by csu333 View Post
This is a build at a really early stage so take care !

Ok, so the method I propose is absolutely non intrusive. You might want to flash the recovery you'll find here-under but I personally haven't done it so feel free to go first Flashing back the original recovery shouldn't be a big deal anyway.

So the method is pretty easy:
  1. Download the recovery.img
  2. un-7zip it
  3. Restart your device in the bootloader:
    Code:
    adb reboot-bootloader
  4. Boot your phone into the ClockworkMod recovery:
    Code:
    fastboot boot recovery-clockwork-6.0.4.6-kiton.img
  5. Install zip, wipe partition, backup/restore, adb sideload, ...
  6. Reboot

The phone is left untouched except for the zip you flashed.

More precisions to come in a next edit.

Yess!!! Thanks!!!
 
katalinscrob
Old
(Last edited by katalinscrob; 5th January 2014 at 09:12 AM.) Reason: ....
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 35
Join Date: Nov 2006

 
DONATE TO ME
creating boot image...
creating boot image - 4493312 bytes
downloading 'boot.img'...
OKAY [ 0.142s]
booting...
FAILED (remote: dtb not found)
finished. total time: 0.155s


What rom version did you have when boot .img?
cwm (loki) .img from lg g2 says ok afterall, but phone restarts after showing me a nice blue line .
take a look https://gitlab.com/itsmikeramsay/mkbootimg/tree/master and this http://looollll.doorblog.jp/archives/29337755.html and this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2469510
I believe this really may be helpful to you http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2073775
Attached Files
File Type: zip cwmlgg2.img.zip - [Click for QR Code] (9.91 MB, 270 views)
 
nlohani
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 43
Join Date: Jul 2008
[QUOTE=katalinscrob;49123371]creating boot image...
creating boot image - 4493312 bytes
downloading 'boot.img'...
OKAY [ 0.142s]
booting...
FAILED (remote: dtb not found)
finished. total time: 0.155s
QUOTE]

Same result for me too.
 
csu333
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 73
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by katalinscrob View Post
creating boot image...
creating boot image - 4493312 bytes
downloading 'boot.img'...
OKAY [ 0.142s]
booting...
FAILED (remote: dtb not found)
finished. total time: 0.155s


What rom version did you have when boot .img?
cwm (loki) .img from lg g2 says ok afterall, but phone restarts after showing me a nice blue line .
take a look https://gitlab.com/itsmikeramsay/mkbootimg/tree/master and this http://looollll.doorblog.jp/archives/29337755.html and this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2469510
I believe this really may be helpful to you http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2073775
I have K910_SS_S_2_040_0109_131226 but it shouldn't be an issue anyway. This sounds like I uploaded the wrong recovery (I have so many) because "dtb not found" is the message you receive when, well, the DTB doesn't appear in the recovery. Adding the DTB is the very last step to build the recovery.

Try this one instead.

Just for your information, note that following the guide I mentioned earlier did work but I have to add a custom init.rc because there was no backlight on the screen.
 
sakilxda
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by csu333 View Post
I have K910_SS_S_2_040_0109_131226 but it shouldn't be an issue anyway. This sounds like I uploaded the wrong recovery (I have so many) because "dtb not found" is the message you receive when, well, the DTB doesn't appear in the recovery. Adding the DTB is the very last step to build the recovery.

Try this one instead.

Just for your information, note that following the guide I mentioned earlier did work but I have to add a custom init.rc because there was no backlight on the screen.
Other possible root???

http://lenovobbs.cnmo.com/thread-14620407-1-1.html
 
csu333
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 73
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by sakilxda View Post
I honestly doubt it: all the 1 click root I've seen until know are based on a bug in the backup mechanism that have been fixed for a while now. But since it seems pretty recent, anything is possible. I can't confirm since I'm rooted now
 
sakilxda
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Dec 2010
Right now with this method, and when I get my Lenovo steps that I can do?

Update first and then use this method to root?

I do not understand English, use google translate, and as I see there seems to be no problems?
Still it take at least 2 weeks to receive it and I'm sure there will be changes and improvements ...
Thanks again for sharing your experiences.
 
katalinscrob
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 35
Join Date: Nov 2006

 
DONATE TO ME
Big thanks button should be available too...
Managed to boot in cwm, root from cwm (btw very nice option ), Gapps full reinstall and finally a backup. EVRIKA! YOU DID IT ! Respect man ! permanent img flash would be next step I assume...
 
csu333
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 73
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by sakilxda View Post
Right now with this method, and when I get my Lenovo steps that I can do?

Update first and then use this method to root?

I do not understand English, use google translate, and as I see there seems to be no problems?
Still it take at least 2 weeks to receive it and I'm sure there will be changes and improvements ...
Thanks again for sharing your experiences.
You're right: best method is to upgrade then root with this method. If it seems difficult to get the upgrades, I can post the zip files (it took me more than a week to get the first one).

The Following User Says Thank You to csu333 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes