Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,704 Members 52,492 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] DNA stuck in boot loop, Supercharged Hatka DNA ROM (1 Litecoin bounty for help)

Tip us?
 
Esploded
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2013
Unhappy [Q] DNA stuck in boot loop, Supercharged Hatka DNA ROM (1 Litecoin bounty for help)

Droid DNA with Supercharged Hatka DNA got stuck in bootloop after running fine for over a year (ROM flashed last February)

I have a *fairly* recent backup if I could get it to boot to recovery, but I would prefer not to considering the 20ish Litecoins walleted on the device. I will be willing to give a whole Litecoin to whoever can fix my problem
 
jhr5474
Old
(Last edited by jhr5474; 9th March 2014 at 12:31 AM.)
#2  
jhr5474's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 250
Posts: 823
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Albany, Oregon

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esploded View Post
Droid DNA with Supercharged Hatka DNA got stuck in bootloop after running fine for over a year (ROM flashed last February)

I have a *fairly* recent backup if I could get it to boot to recovery, but I would prefer not to considering the 20ish Litecoins walleted on the device. I will be willing to give a whole Litecoin to whoever can fix my problem
Do you have adb? If you do the command is adb reboot recovery. Need to know more it just cycles? If so then try to push both power button and and both volumes until it has lights flashing at the bottom and reboots dont let go until it reboots. Other then that I am not sure. I tried to boot to recovery the manual way and it doesnt work. Which is why i Always use that to reboot recovery. Wait, I figured it out. Hold down volume power dont let go until bootloader comes up then let go of both. use volume down and select recovery and bam!
Sprint LG G2!!!!!!!!!!!!

THE THANKS BUTTON IS ALWAYS APPRECIATED!!!!!!!!!!
The Following User Says Thank You to jhr5474 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Esploded
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2013
Okay so I tried holding down power and down volume to get into bootloader, it got me there and I could scroll to recovery, but it kept cycling the reboot before it would boot into recovery. I tried plugging it into the computer to use adb, but it just makes the plug/unplug USB sound in Windows. I also tried holding down all three buttons, and it makes no difference.
 
jhr5474
Old
#4  
jhr5474's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 250
Posts: 823
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Albany, Oregon

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esploded View Post
Okay so I tried holding down power and down volume to get into bootloader, it got me there and I could scroll to recovery, but it kept cycling the reboot before it would boot into recovery. I tried plugging it into the computer to use adb, but it just makes the plug/unplug USB sound in Windows. I also tried holding down all three buttons, and it makes no difference.
Ok so if you have fastboot you should be able to use fastboot to flash recovery. If you are going to use a backup then you would need to have the same recovery image you used for the original. My suggestion is go to twrp and get the image. make sure you are plugged in at bootloader and fastboot is selected. IT should say fastboot usb if you are connected correctly on the top. I am assuming you have fastboot? If not my suggestion is to get minimal adb and fastboot it is the easiest. after you have installed run this command.

fastboot devices

it should come up with your device number if it doesnt then you need fastboot drivers. If it does then take the recovery.img you downloaded and place it in the same folder as your fastboot and adb folder. I suggest changing name to make it easier, I usually just change it to recovery.img instead of whatever it downloaded as. Then enter this command

fastboot flash recovery recovery.img

It should say sending and complete then enter this command

fastboot reboot recovery

bam you are in recovery!
Sprint LG G2!!!!!!!!!!!!

THE THANKS BUTTON IS ALWAYS APPRECIATED!!!!!!!!!!
The Following User Says Thank You to jhr5474 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Esploded
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhr5474 View Post
Ok so if you have fastboot you should be able to use fastboot to flash recovery. If you are going to use a backup then you would need to have the same recovery image you used for the original. My suggestion is go to twrp and get the image. make sure you are plugged in at bootloader and fastboot is selected. IT should say fastboot usb if you are connected correctly on the top. I am assuming you have fastboot? If not my suggestion is to get minimal adb and fastboot it is the easiest. after you have installed run this command.

fastboot devices

it should come up with your device number if it doesnt then you need fastboot drivers. If it does then take the recovery.img you downloaded and place it in the same folder as your fastboot and adb folder. I suggest changing name to make it easier, I usually just change it to recovery.img instead of whatever it downloaded as. Then enter this command

fastboot flash recovery recovery.img

It should say sending and complete then enter this command

fastboot reboot recovery

bam you are in recovery!
I'll give the fastboot utility a shot, hopefully it works. Thank you
 
jhr5474
Old
#6  
jhr5474's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 250
Posts: 823
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Albany, Oregon

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esploded View Post
I'll give the fastboot utility a shot, hopefully it works. Thank you
IT is a lifesaver and so is adb once you learn how to use them you will be freed from lots of problems! Good luck.
Sprint LG G2!!!!!!!!!!!!

THE THANKS BUTTON IS ALWAYS APPRECIATED!!!!!!!!!!
 
Esploded
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhr5474 View Post
IT is a lifesaver and so is adb once you learn how to use them you will be freed from lots of problems! Good luck.
ADB tool is no help, computer will not recognize my phone even with all the HTC drivers installed. I'm at my wit's end, starting to believe something in the phone's hardware is messed up because nothing is working
 
jhr5474
Old
#8  
jhr5474's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 250
Posts: 823
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Albany, Oregon

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esploded View Post
ADB tool is no help, computer will not recognize my phone even with all the HTC drivers installed. I'm at my wit's end, starting to believe something in the phone's hardware is messed up because nothing is working
Which adb drivers did you install and you need the fastboot drivers also. I have never found a phone that would not accept a fastboot command what OS are you on?
Sprint LG G2!!!!!!!!!!!!

THE THANKS BUTTON IS ALWAYS APPRECIATED!!!!!!!!!!
 
Esploded
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhr5474 View Post
Which adb drivers did you install and you need the fastboot drivers also. I have never found a phone that would not accept a fastboot command what OS are you on?
I only installed the HTC Sync and the ADB utility, I didn't know about ADB drivers. I'm on Windows 7
 
sdamark
Old
#10  
sdamark's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 254
Posts: 375
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esploded View Post
I only installed the HTC Sync and the ADB utility, I didn't know about ADB drivers. I'm on Windows 7
All this stuff has been asked and answered a hundred times... Look here

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2131284

Get your ADB and Fastboot working. You will be fine.

If you feel I've helped, hit Thanks.

The Following User Says Thank You to sdamark For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes