Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Micro SD Card problem

OP arpinacio

17th March 2014, 12:27 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Lisbon
Thanks Meter: 8
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Hi there.

I'm having problems with the SD card, is always unmounting with no apparent reason...

When I'm on the Album (or gallery) and I scroll trough the photos (I've got a few) the card is unmounted and I need to take it of, and put it back in...

While I'm copying files from the PC to the card (trough the phone) the same thing happens...

The card is a sandisk class 10 32Gb... it was used on my SGS2 and never had any problem...

Does it worth to buy another card, or someone else is having the same problems?
17th March 2014, 12:37 PM   |  #2  
zxz0O0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,392
 
911 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
I think this is a problem with your sd card. I don't have any problem like that.
17th March 2014, 01:50 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Lisbon
Thanks Meter: 8
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Can you please tell me what card do you have?

I have already formatted the card on the pc and on the phone, the result is the same...
17th March 2014, 02:35 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Weird problem, I own a Goodram 32 GB Class 10 micro sd card and I haven't got any problems with it. You say that you have tried formatting the card. What format have you chosen? Have you tried reset to factory reset your device? Are you on some custom rom or the stock one? Do you have a possibility to check wheter the problem exists with other micro sd card? Perhaps you can borrow it from someone for a moment or you have another one somewhere. Worst case scenario the card port could be damaged.
17th March 2014, 03:46 PM   |  #5  
zxz0O0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,392
 
911 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arpinacio

Can you please tell me what card do you have?

I have already formatted the card on the pc and on the phone, the result is the same...

I have a Kingston microSDHC 32GB, Class 4
17th March 2014, 03:56 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Hi,

I'm sure that's an issue with your sd card. I've had the same issue with my old SGS3 and an SanDisk 64GB sd card. Then I bought a new Kingston 64GB sd card and it works.
17th March 2014, 04:02 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag Lisbon
Thanks Meter: 8
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I formated in FAT and in FAT32, same result in both.

Im in the stock ROM, totally unchanged.

I already get a new card and I'm testing it now, if it stills get me troubles I will try the factory reset.

Yeah... that is my fear... that the port is defective or something like that
19th March 2014, 10:54 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Flag Lisbon
Thanks Meter: 8
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Thumbs up
Ok, updating from the previous post.

I've bought another SD Card and although that on the first time that I used it on the phone, it gave me the same behavior, after formatted it on the phone itself, so far so good.

I've tried the old SD Card with an adapter on the pc, and it works fine, no problem at all... so it must be something specific to the phone, I've read that some Samsung are a SD card eaters, so I believe that the problem is related to that (my previous phone was a SGS2).

Thank you all for the tips.
19th March 2014, 02:40 PM   |  #9  
F308's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
168 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arpinacio

I've tried the old SD Card with an adapter on the pc, and it works fine, no problem at all... so it must be something specific to the phone,

Not necessarily.
Card of class 4 may be good enough for your computer, specially if it is older too, but may be too weak for newest modern phone.
19th March 2014, 07:32 PM   |  #10  
Darkimmortal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Belfast, UK
Thanks Meter: 181
 
215 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by F308

Not necessarily.
Card of class 4 may be good enough for your computer, specially if it is older too, but may be too weak for newest modern phone.

An SD card can't be 'too weak'

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes