Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unhappy GPS doesn't work at all on any roms

OP acaplea

18th March 2014, 08:43 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Please help me to understand what kind of trouble with GPS could be?
The truth is that I got this phone as second hand with Vodafone ROM and not working GPS. I changed the rom on official HTC Europe 3.16, radio 1.11 - the same result no GPS. Of course i've tried different tools and tests (like GPS Status&Toolbox, GPS Test&Fix, etc), i've reset AGPS data, but unsuccesfully - the test finds satellites but can't fix connection with them to check my coordinates.
Next, I unlocked the phone, made S-off and installed the custom rom ViperOnes 3.1.2 with 1.20 radio, no changes... All other comms 3G, Bluetooth, WiFi work fine.
Is there any solution to check the GPS module, antennas or smth else?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-03-18-20-34-53[1].png
Views:	10
Size:	137.3 KB
ID:	2637377  
18th March 2014, 11:32 PM   |  #2  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 586
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by acaplea

Please help me to understand what kind of trouble with GPS could be?
The truth is that I got this phone as second hand with Vodafone ROM and not working GPS. I changed the rom on official HTC Europe 3.16, radio 1.11 - the same result no GPS. Of course i've tried different tools and tests (like GPS Status&Toolbox, GPS Test&Fix, etc), i've reset AGPS data, but unsuccesfully - the test finds satellites but can't fix connection with them to check my coordinates.
Next, I unlocked the phone, made S-off and installed the custom rom ViperOnes 3.1.2 with 1.20 radio, no changes... All other comms 3G, Bluetooth, WiFi work fine.
Is there any solution to check the GPS module, antennas or smth else?


Have you tried editing your gps.cfg accordig to your region/country?
19th March 2014, 09:11 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
GPS doesn't work at all on any roms
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Have you tried editing your gps.cfg accordig to your region/country?

I have, I setup it for Europe zone. But from my experience I had before Desire X, which was in gps.cfg as "north_america" and GPS worked perfectly. As I know it may influence on connection time with satellites only, and I tested my problem OneS on open sky more than one hour...
19th March 2014, 10:00 AM   |  #4  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 586
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Info 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by acaplea

I have, I setup it for Europe zone. But from my experience I had before Desire X, which was in gps.cfg as "north_america" and GPS worked perfectly. As I know it may influence on connection time with satellites only, and I tested my problem OneS on open sky more than one hour...


quote:

"It is almost impossible to test a GPS Antenna without connecting it to a GPS receiver, so attempts to diagnose problems using a test-meter (or even a Spectrum Analyser) are at best pointless. In some cases, attempting to measure impedance at the Antenna connector can be fatal to the internal LNA, which is often a sensitive low-voltage Gallium-Arsenide semiconductor chip.

In particular it is essential that if RF cable-testing equipment is in use at a site, that the GPS Antenna is left disconnected from the cable until after all cable testing is complete. The power level required to destroy the LNA is very low. It is also important that the Receiver unit at the other end of the cable is disconnected during cable testing." read more --> http://www.spectracom.co.uk/Installa...0/Default.aspx
The Following User Says Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes