Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,557 Members 46,405 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] is it safe turn off "keep awake" / wakelock for "Android System" ?

Tip us?
 
geminihc
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 109
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default [Q] is it safe turn off "keep awake" / wakelock for "Android System" ?

in app ops, what happens if i turn this off? thanks,
 
LordManhattan
Old
#2  
LordManhattan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5646
Posts: 14,996
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kepler-34b
I wouldn't touch that. It could mess up quite a bit of stuff.
 
I DO NOT RUN A SUPPORT LINE THROUGH PERSONAL MESSAGES,
SO PLEASE DO NOT PM ME ABOUT HELP (*COUGH* UNLESS I KNOW YOU *COUGH*).

THANK YOU, AND PLEASE HAVE A COOKIE ON YOUR WAY OUT.


 
haxti
Old
(Last edited by haxti; 13th January 2014 at 10:48 AM.)
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2014
Hi xda-community,

I've been stupid enough to deny android system the wakelock rights. I was a little to quick but the google play service ate 25% of my battery today, and so I just messed around with App-Ops.
I'm running CM10.2 nightly on my sgs2. I've already tried to get into the safe mode with holding Vol+ and - while booting, but it wasn't successfull. The Phone is stuck on the boot logo.

Is there any way besides a reset?

Edit: Just tried reflashing the recent update but it's still stuck...

Edit2: Just did a backup to sd card via CWM. My current plan is to modify this update in a way to let app-ops forget his settings. Is this possible? Any clue where I have to look?

Edit3: Just did rm -R * on /data/data/com.android.providers.settings. THIS DOES NOT CLEAR APP-OPS SETTINGS but my phone booted afterwards and i had enough time to revert my previous changes. Need to reconfigure some of stuff obviously.

Edit4: Deleting everything with the cmd in Edit3 will cause the notificationbar to malfunction. Furthermore you won't recieve any notifications. I just restored the files from my backup i made with CWM (adb push c:\backup /data/data/com.android.providers.settings and everything is working again. Now I'm really done

bye
 
senthilrameshjv
Old
#4  
senthilrameshjv's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 214
Posts: 818
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chennai
Quote:
Originally Posted by haxti View Post
Hi xda-community,

I've been stupid enough to deny android system the wakelock rights. I was a little to quick but the google play service ate 25% of my battery today, and so I just messed around with App-Ops.
I'm running CM10.2 nightly on my sgs2. I've already tried to get into the safe mode with holding Vol+ and - while booting, but it wasn't successfull. The Phone is stuck on the boot logo.

Is there any way besides a reset?

Edit: Just tried reflashing the recent update but it's still stuck...

Edit2: Just did a backup to sd card via CWM. My current plan is to modify this update in a way to let app-ops forget his settings. Is this possible? Any clue where I have to look?

Edit3: Just did rm -R * on /data/data/com.android.providers.settings. THIS DOES NOT CLEAR APP-OPS SETTINGS but my phone booted afterwards and i had enough time to revert my previous changes. Need to reconfigure some of stuff obviously.

Edit4: Deleting everything with the cmd in Edit3 will cause the notificationbar to malfunction. Furthermore you won't recieve any notifications. I just restored the files from my backup i made with CWM (adb push c:\backup /data/data/com.android.providers.settings and everything is working again. Now I'm really done

bye
I denied the keep awake of Android system and I am gone. My touch didn't work. I did forced restart using the power button. It worked for sometime. Again the touch doesn't work. In the allowed time, I set it to Allow but still i face the issue. Is factory reset the only solution?
Hit thanks if it helped

Nexus 4 - Velocity - ART - Velocity/Hells Creed Kernel - Banks Minimal Gapps
Neo V - Resurrection Remix Rom
Tab - Micromax Fun Book talk

Only Rooting makes a smartphone 'SMART'. Until then, its just a PHONE. - Self

Get Dropbox and get 500Mb space for both of us - https://db.tt/ZQG4kcVe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes