Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Wifi calling from overseas?

OP varaff

20th April 2014, 04:24 PM   |  #1  
varaff's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 6
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Has anyone been able to take their stock note 3 overseas and been able to use wifi calling?
If so, the address setup, was it an issue?

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda app-developers app
20th April 2014, 04:40 PM   |  #2  
Account currently disabled
Flag phoenix
Thanks Meter: 1,036
 
2,634 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by varaff

Has anyone been able to take their stock note 3 overseas and been able to use wifi calling?
If so, the address setup, was it an issue?

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda app-developers app

I do believe it says it doesn't work overseas when you set it up but haven't done it ... says standard cdma rates apply

Sent from my SM-N900P using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
20th April 2014, 05:20 PM   |  #3  
JimSmith94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 246
 
1,604 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epix4G

I do believe it says it doesn't work overseas when you set it up but haven't done it ... says standard cdma rates apply

Sent from my SM-N900P using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2

According to Sprint: http://newsroom.sprint.com/blogs/dev...-customers.htm

"Unlimited voice calling and messaging on Wi-Fi: All domestic calling and messaging is FREE (standard CDMA international rates apply for international calls)"

Those international rates vary by country but are quite expensive: http://shop2.sprint.com/assets/pdfs/...ide_eflyer.pdf
20th April 2014, 05:29 PM   |  #4  
varaff's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 6
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Yes i see if you are calling overseas.
But im wondering being abroad and calling the US as though you were here in the States.

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda app-developers app
20th April 2014, 07:13 PM   |  #5  
JimSmith94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 246
 
1,604 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by varaff

Yes i see if you are calling overseas.
But im wondering being abroad and calling the US as though you were here in the States.

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda app-developers app

I think they will be able to tell that you are not in the States and will charge international rates, but we won't know for sure until someone tries it. For myself, it works on my home networks but I haven't been able to get it activated on Denny's Wi-Fi, so calling on an international Wi-Fi might be even more challenging.
23rd April 2014, 03:45 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 41
 
168 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
A VPN relay through the US should work too.

Sent from my SM-N900P using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
24th April 2014, 03:25 AM   |  #7  
erik077's Avatar
Senior Member
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Thanks Meter: 80
 
627 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
I don't think sprint can charge you if you have international calling disabled. I have mine disabled and I can't even place call... this would be my arguing point in case of charge but no guarantee. Just in case disable your location / GPS and give it a shot with VPN. Place short call, wait 24h, login to sprint and check is there any charges

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda app-developers app
Last edited by erik077; 24th April 2014 at 03:28 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes