Post Reply

Wifi calling from overseas?

20th April 2014, 03:24 PM   |  #1  
varaff's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 5
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Has anyone been able to take their stock note 3 overseas and been able to use wifi calling?
If so, the address setup, was it an issue?

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda app-developers app
20th April 2014, 03:40 PM   |  #2  
Account currently disabled
Flag phoenix
Thanks Meter: 1,035
 
2,634 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by varaff

Has anyone been able to take their stock note 3 overseas and been able to use wifi calling?
If so, the address setup, was it an issue?

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda app-developers app

I do believe it says it doesn't work overseas when you set it up but haven't done it ... says standard cdma rates apply

Sent from my SM-N900P using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
20th April 2014, 04:20 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 210
 
1,389 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epix4G

I do believe it says it doesn't work overseas when you set it up but haven't done it ... says standard cdma rates apply

Sent from my SM-N900P using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2

According to Sprint: http://newsroom.sprint.com/blogs/dev...-customers.htm

"Unlimited voice calling and messaging on Wi-Fi: All domestic calling and messaging is FREE (standard CDMA international rates apply for international calls)"

Those international rates vary by country but are quite expensive: http://shop2.sprint.com/assets/pdfs/...ide_eflyer.pdf
20th April 2014, 04:29 PM   |  #4  
varaff's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 5
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Yes i see if you are calling overseas.
But im wondering being abroad and calling the US as though you were here in the States.

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda app-developers app
20th April 2014, 06:13 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 210
 
1,389 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by varaff

Yes i see if you are calling overseas.
But im wondering being abroad and calling the US as though you were here in the States.

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda app-developers app

I think they will be able to tell that you are not in the States and will charge international rates, but we won't know for sure until someone tries it. For myself, it works on my home networks but I haven't been able to get it activated on Denny's Wi-Fi, so calling on an international Wi-Fi might be even more challenging.
23rd April 2014, 02:45 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
A VPN relay through the US should work too.

Sent from my SM-N900P using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
24th April 2014, 02:25 AM   |  #7  
erik077's Avatar
Senior Member
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Thanks Meter: 70
 
553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
I don't think sprint can charge you if you have international calling disabled. I have mine disabled and I can't even place call... this would be my arguing point in case of charge but no guarantee. Just in case disable your location / GPS and give it a shot with VPN. Place short call, wait 24h, login to sprint and check is there any charges

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda app-developers app
Last edited by erik077; 24th April 2014 at 02:28 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Sprint Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank