Post Reply

[Q] Google Now cannot be activated since KitKat upgrade

OP neoghio

20th March 2014, 02:36 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Gibraltar
Thanks Meter: 8
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
I've always been able to use Google Now on my Xperia Z1 on JB. I've updated it to the latest KitKat version and I can no longer activate Google Now. It says I need to activate Google Location Reporting and when I go to activate it, it says "Google Location Reporting is not available in my country."

Now I know Google love to block availability of products on a geographical basis, I.E USA only....

I just find it odd that it worked on JB and now they've locked it down in KitKat.
20th March 2014, 03:05 PM   |  #2  
dladz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 763
 
3,698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoghio

I've always been able to use Google Now on my Xperia Z1 on JB. I've updated it to the latest KitKat version and I can no longer activate Google Now. It says I need to activate Google Location Reporting and when I go to activate it, it says "Google Location Reporting is not available in my country."

Now I know Google love to block availability of products on a geographical basis, I.E USA only....

I just find it odd that it worked on JB and now they've locked it down in KitKat.

Change your language in google search. Go to voice then english then US. Should work.
20th March 2014, 03:07 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Gibraltar
Thanks Meter: 8
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
It's already set to US. Unfortunately doesn't seem to work.
20th March 2014, 03:15 PM   |  #4  
dladz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 763
 
3,698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoghio

It's already set to US. Unfortunately doesn't seem to work.

Ah well then it's not going to work, i know the Z2 it doesn't work on either, as i've tried it.

Only launcher i've found it to work on from the homescreen is the Nexus 5 launcher, i've been using that launcher for some time now and have only come back to the Xperia one since the Z2 launcher was released, i've not upgraded to 4.4 yet, i'm going to allow the kinks to be ironed out.

If you click search then it'll let you use the ok google feature but wheres the fun in that
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Z1 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank