Post Reply

Google Maps glitches in CM10.2-20130902

OP wuselfuzz

4th September 2013, 11:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Hi.

There's two issues with Google Maps in bubor's CM10.2 build 20130902:

1. On a clean install, Voice Recognition is not installed. This makes Google Maps crash when pressing the Voice Search button.

Solution: Install Google Voice Search

2. When Maps is open and the phone goes to sleep (both timeout and pressing the power button work), after turning the screen back on, Maps only displays a white screen (flickering when trying to scroll).

This seems to be an NVidia/GL problem, this pops up in logcat, just before sleep and just after wake up:

E/gralloc ( 115): NvGrPost: Failed, TEGRA_DC_EXT_FLIP 6 No such device or address

Later, there's multiple failed calls to NvRmChannelSubmit.

Restarting Maps fixes the problem.

Full logcat dump attached.

Solution: I have no idea.

/edit: Same in the 20130904. Keyboard light confirmed working, though.
Attached Files
File Type: txt maplog.txt - [Click for QR Code] (15.6 KB, 3 views)
Last edited by wuselfuzz; 4th September 2013 at 11:27 PM.
5th September 2013, 06:24 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 163
 
484 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuselfuzz

Hi.

Restarting Maps fixes the problem.

I noticed that I had issues last time I used google maps on my phone, not just sleeping but when switching apps and then switching back to it ... pretty useless if I want to check anything and then go back to the phone when using GPS to navigate.

Maybe re-applying GAPPS might fix it, just don't update gmaps anymore ... ?? ... I donno man.. pretty BS they dropped support of our phones because of lack of neon support. Our hardware is still to this day more than adequate ... side by side, my phone is faster response than an S3 with JB.
5th September 2013, 07:36 AM   |  #3  
Adam77Root's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag My coordinates
Thanks Meter: 11,074
 
2,456 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Donate to Me
More
The new GMaps is still buggy. The glitches are present on other devices as well.

Sent from my LG-P880
The Following User Says Thank You to Adam77Root For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th September 2013, 08:27 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam77Root

The new GMaps is still buggy. The glitches are present on other devices as well.

Other devices as in other Tegra 2 devices, or all 4.3 devices?

I found a post referring to a similar issue on the nvidia devzone where it turned out to be an application problem.

Google Earth does not show this issue. Can't do a logcat right now, but I suppose that's an EGL application, too.

/edit: Alright, I just learned that Google Maps 7.x is pretty new (first 7.0.0 release in July) and that downgrading to 6.14 might solve my issues. Oh the outrage in Google Maps for Android product forum on Google Groups.

/edit2: http://productforums.google.com/foru...id/aRr10hYi8AU[1-25-true]
Last edited by wuselfuzz; 5th September 2013 at 08:39 AM.
5th September 2013, 09:23 AM   |  #5  
Adam77Root's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag My coordinates
Thanks Meter: 11,074
 
2,456 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Donate to Me
More
I'm on a Tegra 3 device, the LG O4X HD and do experience the issue sometimes.

Sent from my LG-P880
5th September 2013, 04:30 PM   |  #6  
Member
Sacramento, CA
Thanks Meter: 7
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Glide with CM10.1.2, same issue except my Maps goes black.
5th September 2013, 05:14 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 163
 
484 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam77Root

The new GMaps is still buggy. The glitches are present on other devices as well.

Sent from my LG-P880

thanks for clarifying that for us!
6th September 2013, 12:01 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
This thread has a link to the latest Maps 6 (6.14.4):

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2357873

It works just fine without those issues mentioned above.
The Following User Says Thank You to wuselfuzz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2013, 04:14 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
I also had the black screen issue in Maps when switching apps. As others reported, this issue is not present in Maps version 6 so I downgraded to this version.

Now I'm wondering if there is a way to fix Maps to version 6? It is annoying to update the other apps one by one, since clicking in the "Update all" button in Google Play will update Maps as well.
22nd September 2013, 11:42 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Same issue
I have the same issue on v7.2 with both CM and Stock Rom.
My device is the Captivate Glide (i927)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Captivate Glide General by ThreadRank