Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,274 Members 45,942 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: Will this work or will I royally #$%# my phone
Yes 6 54.55%
No 0 0%
Maybe 3 27.27%
I don't know 2 18.18%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

Building a pre-rooted, de-knoxed stock ROM for S4 (i337m)

Tip us?

The French Tickl3r
Old
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Info 2 Building a pre-rooted, de-knoxed stock ROM for S4 (i337m)

Hello XDA-san

This is my first time working with cygwin and Android Kitchen and I wanted to make sure I didn't miss anything that will royally brick my s4. I have attached screenshots of my journey for reference.

I started with the stock ROM from you know where, version 4.4.2 (i337MOYAFNC1) and proceeded to remove the KNOX bootloader (using instructions from SilviuMik). I skipped the last step where it is re-md5, to continue on to the kitchen..

Using the de-knoxed tar file, I created a working folder for the ROM in the kitchen. It started unpacking, everthing went well. When i was prompted to choose if I wanted to extract the CSC, I said no.. because the DiskInternals Linux reader was giving me an error saying along the lines of cant read disk..

From my working folder, I proceeded to root & busybox, all went well. I then deodexed both the system apps and framework, all went well.

lastly, I made a build from the working folder. Selected all default options while doing so (see pictures) , signed the freshly minted rom and voila.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	android kitchen S4 part 1.jpg
Views:	650
Size:	134.1 KB
ID:	2640558   Click image for larger version

Name:	android kitchen S4 part 2.jpg
Views:	548
Size:	226.0 KB
ID:	2640559   Click image for larger version

Name:	android kitchen S4 part 3.jpg
Views:	463
Size:	140.0 KB
ID:	2640560   Click image for larger version

Name:	android kitchen S4 part 4.jpg
Views:	399
Size:	185.1 KB