FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

BetterBatteryStats says my wifi is running 100% of the time?

10th October 2013, 05:28 PM |#1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
The ROM I'm on is ParanoidAndroid 3.99-RC2 on an AT&T Galaxy S3. I've been having battery problems for awhile on this phone, but after upgrading to this, it has just gotten much worse. I take a look at BetterBatteryStats and it says my wifi is running all the time. I don't have wifi on most of the time, and I've reset the phone and it is still occurring.
 
 
29th November 2013, 12:57 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCizzle65

The ROM I'm on is ParanoidAndroid 3.99-RC2 on an AT&T Galaxy S3. I've been having battery problems for awhile on this phone, but after upgrading to this, it has just gotten much worse. I take a look at BetterBatteryStats and it says my wifi is running all the time. I don't have wifi on most of the time, and I've reset the phone and it is still occurring.

I'm on task650's most recent 4.3 ROM and I got the same issue. Its draining 10% batt every hour. Killing me. Reinstalling the ROM or resetting did not help. It has in the past but not this time.
2nd April 2014, 07:30 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eatkabab

I'm on task650's most recent 4.3 ROM and I got the same issue. Its draining 10% batt every hour. Killing me. Reinstalling the ROM or resetting did not help. It has in the past but not this time.

I saw this post:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=51574320

i am trying it now to see if it really works. I Also have wifi running 100%
2nd April 2014, 11:46 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCizzle65

The ROM I'm on is ParanoidAndroid 3.99-RC2 on an AT&T Galaxy S3. I've been having battery problems for awhile on this phone, but after upgrading to this, it has just gotten much worse. I take a look at BetterBatteryStats and it says my wifi is running all the time. I don't have wifi on most of the time, and I've reset the phone and it is still occurring.

Is it the wlan_rx_wake stat? This came up on mine last week and I found a solution.
3rd April 2014, 01:01 AM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pc103

Is it the wlan_rx_wake stat? This came up on mine last week and I found a solution.

What was your solution?
3rd April 2014, 02:01 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
wlan_rx_wake solution
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCizzle65

What was your solution?

For wlan_rx_wake, the research was saying this error is triggered by settings and/or background activity on 1 or more particular wlans you connect on (not by anything on your phone). Different posters saw it draining their battery on their school, work or home wifi networks accordingly.

I took 2 approaches: Since it was my home network, I disabled the UPnP service on my main router. I also separately configured a static IP (one that is outside the range of automatic addresses) on my phone for the home wifi connection using the "Modify network config" command available by long pressing an SSID in the list on Wifi settings. It worked. 1.4% / hour overnight drain is restored. (It had risen to 4%).

Both approaches isolate the phone from some types of network broadcast activity that triggers excessive wake time.
The Following User Says Thank You to pc103 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th May 2014, 07:43 PM |#7  
Aiden88's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
For me, seems working this operation
Go to WiFi settings-> Advanced-> Uncheck "Scanning always available"

Credits to @phanitej for this post
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank