Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,143 Members 54,413 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Q: Reset phone but keep root

Tip us?
 
Hell-Razor
Old
(Last edited by Hell-Razor; 19th March 2014 at 09:12 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 32
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Q: Reset phone but keep root

I am not sure where things started to go fubar (I moved to the Windows phone for a while but now I am back), but things on my rooted note 3 dont work like they should. For example, I cannot setup my work email (enterprise) or school email (microsoft exchange webmail) because it keeps on crashing. I have to reinstall the gmail email app every now and again because that goes haywire and the system update check crashes. I have frozen a few apps but I unfroze and it still doesnt work.

Well to my real question if all that was just mumbo jumbo, how can I reset my phone back to stock (like apps, settings, etc) without losing root? Is it as simple as just selecting factory reset in the settings menu?
 
Hulk0069
Old
#2  
Hulk0069's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 937
Join Date: Oct 2010
Well since your rooted how about flashing a stock rom,but make a backup and I'd your content with the stock rom then make a backup of that.

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda premium
 
sulla65
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 69
Join Date: Feb 2012
Doing a factory data reset will reset the phone back to what it was like out of the box. However It won't make you lose root.
 
TechSavvy2
Old
#4  
TechSavvy2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 473
Posts: 910
Join Date: Sep 2011
Yes, you can factory reset. Root is in /system files, where when you wipe you only lose /userdata and /cache
 
lmike6453
Old
#5  
lmike6453's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 318
Posts: 709
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Phila
Reboot into Recovery mode, select Wipe /data and /system and /cache and dalvik cache if you can, or make a selection similar to "Factory Reset". Be sure to not wipe your SD Card(s)

When you reboot your phone, it will be OOBE(out of box experience) so be sure to backup any call logs, texts, and user apps ahead of time. DO NOT backup/restore "system" apps as it will cause problems
Verizon Galaxy Note 3 - JB 4.3
 
LeftyGR
Old
#6  
LeftyGR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 775
Posts: 1,169
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bloomington, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmike6453 View Post
Reboot into Recovery mode, select Wipe /data and /system and /cache and dalvik cache if you can, or make a selection similar to "Factory Reset". Be sure to not wipe your SD Card(s)

When you reboot your phone, it will be OOBE(out of box experience) so be sure to backup any call logs, texts, and user apps ahead of time. DO NOT backup/restore "system" apps as it will cause problems
Actually, do not wipe system unless you have a rom to flash on your ext sd. If you do, the only way to use your phone again is by using odin.

<Note3>
I will not apologize for art.
The Following User Says Thank You to LeftyGR For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lmike6453
Old
#7  
lmike6453's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 318
Posts: 709
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Phila
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeftyGR View Post
Actually, do not wipe system unless you have a rom to flash on your ext sd. If you do, the only way to use your phone again is by using odin.

<Note3>
Good catch, sorry about misleading info there...always have your custom ROM on your SD Card
Verizon Galaxy Note 3 - JB 4.3
 
Hell-Razor
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 32
Join Date: Jan 2011
Thanks guys. I would have done the same mistake.

I have frozen some of the files, do I need to unfreeze them before I do this?
 
Hell-Razor
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 32
Join Date: Jan 2011
bump
 
LeftyGR
Old
#10  
LeftyGR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 775
Posts: 1,169
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bloomington, IL
Bumps allowed only once a day per forum rules. You're new, so we won't beat you...this time. lol

To answer your question, I don't think it would matter. I believe the settings that hold an app as frozen get wiped when you factory reset. If I'm wrong, it really shouldn't matter. What apps are frozen?

<Note3>
I will not apologize for art.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes