Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,777,659 Members 43,805 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

a2sd on Stock Rom

Tip us?
 
SherazHashmi
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 47
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default a2sd on Stock Rom

I am using stock rom on rooted htc explorer, I tried installing a2sd on it through guide on Darktremor official facebook page but i always get an error meaning I'm not able to install it.

My sd card is ext3 partitioned. I tried installing beta02, using gingerbread. Can anyone tell me how do I install it?
The Following User Says Thank You to SherazHashmi For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
soulheart17
Old
#2  
soulheart17's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 167
Join Date: Dec 2011
i dont think it will work on stock rom because stock rom doesn't support init.rc script.

may developers can help you in this case

Sent from my HTC Explorer A310e
 
Hpsgill
Old
#3  
Hpsgill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1588
Posts: 2,089
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Earth
Visit-http://www.bongizmo.com/blog/moving-...apps2sd-froyo/

Hit thanks if helped

Sent from my HTC Explorer A310 using xda premium
My work
Sense 5 EX
 
InfinityShooter
Old
#4  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4977
Posts: 5,667
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Delhi

 
DONATE TO ME
to run a2sd u need 2 things
1.Init.d and a2sd supported kernel
2.app2sd scripts
 
rr0yy
Old
#5  
rr0yy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 138
Posts: 389
Join Date: Jun 2012
Instal busybox first.. then it will work!!
Quote:
LG P-500
->Fix Old BB for New BB Roms.
->Fix New BB for Old BB Roms.

HIT THANKS.. IF YOU FIND ME HELPFULL..!!!
 





 
SifJar
Old
#6  
SifJar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 244
Posts: 586
Join Date: Jul 2009
I'm trying to figure this out at the moment too. I think from what I can gather what you need to do is install a custom kernel. As I understand it, most of the Explorer custom kernels should work (although not the ones for the CM ROMs etc.). Something like Cranium or Titanium should do the job.

After installing that, it should be relatively straightforward, provided you haven't already got a FAT32 partition full of apps via link2SD (which I do...).

Hope you get it working, if you manage please do post back here with what you did and how it went, as I will probably be attempting this in the next week or two and would appreciate your experience.
 
BleedingIris
Old
(Last edited by BleedingIris; 6th May 2013 at 05:36 PM.)
#7  
BleedingIris's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 743
Posts: 2,328
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: HEAVEN
Alright people!
Based on trial and error method:

Step by step instruction for a2SD on stock ROM
1.nandroid backup
2.backup all apps with titanium backup
3.unlink all apps if you're using link2SD and uninstall link2sd
3.1 install busbox from play store and install it.
4.backup and then format sdcard
5.partition with ext in recovery
2gb is enough
6.flash darktremors a2sd beta4 in recovery and then flash cranium kernel #2 or 800MHzkernel or kernel from ateeq ROM
7.wipe cache Dalvik cache and reboot
8.install a2sd gui
9.see if worked in gui
10.click move dalvik 2 sdext
11.wait for it
12.then move app data to sdcard with titanium backup after every app installation
13.enjoy HTC
FAQ:
1.I get "error installing from bla bla bla.zip"status 0
A:
Take the update binary from cranium kernel #2 and put it in the beta4 zip...
Just delete the update binary in beta4 and put the binary from cranium kernel zip
2.Now I get mount requires 4 args got only 3 status bla bla bla
A:
Well this time it'll be complicated..
Now open the update script with any text editor es note editor
You'll find that in beta4.zip you have mount system and then 3 parameters like "/data , etc etc," now you have to add a fourth parameter like this mount("yaffs2", "MTD", "system", "/system"); and the same way for data

If you're crazy enough, all you have to do is just copy and paste all the files in the beta4.zip in it's respective location and then give it permissions 777 (use terminal and es explorer)
And voila your zip finally installs!
That's it people!
If you don't understand anything mentioned here,google it search and search in xda until you find it.
All I can say is that it can be done and actually I'm sending this post from such a dt a2sd enabled stock ROM with 401apps in total!
Anyway all the best



Update:
Link to cranium kerndl: http://d-h.st/nJr
Link to modified a2sd scripts : http://d.pr/f/UF8i
(thanks to sifjar and sakindia)enjoy
If I didn't answer you for a long time, then enter the answer to your question is either here or here.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to BleedingIris For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SifJar
Old
(Last edited by SifJar; 15th September 2012 at 01:49 PM.)
#8  
SifJar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 244
Posts: 586
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptcpayme View Post
3.unlink all apps if you're using link2SD and uninstall link2sd
But I have 593MB of linked apps...How can I unlink them into about 18MB of free space on internal memory?

Also out of curiosity, which specific kernel do you use?

Thanks for your list of steps though, should prove quite helpful if I do finally get round to doing this.

EDIT: I am starting the process. I have made a nandroid backup and Titanium Backup of all apps + data. I have also uninstalled almost all my linked apps, moved a few to internal. Hopefully in the next few days I will be able to get DT apps2SD fully functional and then restore the Titanium Backup. I shall probably use cranium #2 kernel, is this the best option?

EDIT: Why do you recommend #2 and not #3? Is #3 buggy?
 
BleedingIris
Old
#9  
BleedingIris's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 743
Posts: 2,328
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: HEAVEN
Quote:
Originally Posted by SifJar View Post
But I have 593MB of linked apps...How can I unlink them into about 18MB of free space on internal memory?

Also out of curiosity, which specific kernel do you use?

Thanks for your list of steps though, should prove quite helpful if I do finally get round to doing this.

EDIT: I am starting the process. I have made a nandroid backup and Titanium Backup of all apps + data. I have also uninstalled almost all my linked apps, moved a few to internal. Hopefully in the next few days I will be able to get DT apps2SD fully functional and then restore the Titanium Backup. I shall probably use cranium #2 kernel, is this the best option?

EDIT: Why do you recommend #2 and not #3? Is #3 buggy?
Yes #3 has a major bug..
Delete all apps except essentials..after all you have titanium backup
I'd prefer the 800kernel posted by akya22 but it causes random reboots on my phone.(it might not on other phones though)

Sent from my HTC Explorer A310e using xda app-developers app
If I didn't answer you for a long time, then enter the answer to your question is either here or here.
The Following User Says Thank You to BleedingIris For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SifJar
Old
#10  
SifJar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 244
Posts: 586
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptcpayme View Post
Yes #3 has a major bug..
Delete all apps except essentials..after all you have titanium backup
I'd prefer the 800kernel posted by akya22 but it causes random reboots on my phone.(it might not on other phones though)

Sent from my HTC Explorer A310e using xda app-developers app
Excellent, thank you. I will probably try this next weekend, I really need my phone during the week and can't afford to risk messing it up, but next weekend I should have time to fix it if I encounter a problem.

Thanks for your help.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes