Post Reply

LG G2 Tmo or ATT: Which has more bands?

30th September 2013, 08:20 PM   |  #1  
ergoautumn's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Hello,

ATT user here currently on Note 2. I'm planning on buying G2 off contract and I'm debating between ATT and Tmo. Verizon is out because although it has SIM card it won't access LTE on GSM.

I understand that Tmo has all the bands ATT does and more, is that true? Would that explain why it's $600 on Tmo site and $580 on ATT? I looked at their respective wiki's and product page but they don't provide consistent descriptions. If anyone can help it'd be greatly appreciated



Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
30th September 2013, 08:28 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Chicago
Thanks Meter: 93
 
818 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ergoautumn

Hello,

ATT user here currently on Note 2. I'm planning on buying G2 off contract and I'm debating between ATT and Tmo. Verizon is out because although it has SIM card it won't access LTE on GSM.

I understand that Tmo has all the bands ATT does and more, is that true? Would that explain why it's $600 on Tmo site and $580 on ATT? I looked at their respective wiki's and product page but they don't provide consistent descriptions. If anyone can help it'd be greatly appreciated



Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app

I know the Moto X has more bands for Tmobile's version vs. AT&T. I wouldn't be surprised if the same is true for the LG G2 as well
30th September 2013, 08:31 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
From Wikipedia:
D800 ZNFD800 AT&T 850/1900/2100 LTE 2, 4, 5, 17
D801 ZNFD801 T-mobile 850/1700/1900/2100 LTE 2, 4, 17

TMO supports AWS, unlike AT&T. AT&T supports LTE band 5, unlike TMO.
30th September 2013, 09:43 PM   |  #4  
cortez.i's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag north texas
Thanks Meter: 207
 
1010
2,320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
More
this doesn't answer the OP's question, but, i have a sim unlocked att G2 and i can get 4G and 4G LTE service with my T-Mobile sim/account. coverage is not as good as at&t in my location.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-09-30 15.31.54.jpg
Views:	693
Size:	35.0 KB
ID:	2293624   Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-09-30 15.32.43.jpg
Views:	740
Size:	23.9 KB
ID:	2293625  
30th September 2013, 10:53 PM   |  #5  
ergoautumn's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Awesome, thanks Sacrosaint!

I went through the LTE wiki, it seems like 5 is not that prevalent. Seems like the Bahamas, South Korea, Belize...it seems to me that Tmo would be the better choice, no? What with its use of the AWS spectrum and all. I'm still on ATT for another year so I won't be jumping ship yet (by then I guess the G3 would be out...)

The only concern is whether ATT's LTE-A frequency can be grabbed by the Tmo version, whenever it launches...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sacrosaint

From Wikipedia:
D800 ZNFD800 AT&T 850/1900/2100 LTE 2, 4, 5, 17
D801 ZNFD801 T-mobile 850/1700/1900/2100 LTE 2, 4, 17

TMO supports AWS, unlike AT&T. AT&T supports LTE band 5, unlike TMO.

30th September 2013, 11:46 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
I tried att lg g2 with my tmobile SIM it never gave me 4g/lte returned it back and got the new one from tmobile. Everything Is working fine on att I could only get 2g/edge and that is a known prob the att lg g2 does not have 1700 aws band for tmobile.

Sent from my LG-D801 using XDA Premium HD app
1st October 2013, 04:26 AM   |  #7  
ergoautumn's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Hmm. So you have Tmo plan and the ATT model didn't get you any LTE at all?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to ergoautumn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st October 2013, 08:33 AM   |  #8  
Z51's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
790 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
I have AT&T and im using the t-mobile G2
I get 100% LTE everywhere I go. no problems whatsoever. havnt seen my phone display anything lower than 4G (and 4G LTE)
1st October 2013, 08:35 AM   |  #9  
Z51's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
790 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
TapaTalked From My G2
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1380612901355.jpg
Views:	753
Size:	46.3 KB
ID:	2294319  
1st October 2013, 12:55 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by leony74

I tried att lg g2 with my tmobile SIM it never gave me 4g/lte returned it back and got the new one from tmobile. Everything Is working fine on att I could only get 2g/edge and that is a known prob the att lg g2 does not have 1700 aws band for tmobile.

Sent from my LG-D801 using XDA Premium HD app

Not sure of the truth to that. Verizon, T-mobile, and At&t all support LTE band 4 which is AWS 1700. It might be more likely a carrier lock that prevents you from getting full coverage?






---------- Post added at 07:55 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:15 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sacrosaint

From Wikipedia:
D800ZNFD800AT&T850/1900/2100 LTE 2, 4, 5, 17
D801ZNFD801T-mobile850/1700/1900/2100 LTE 2, 4, 17

TMO supports AWS, unlike AT&T. AT&T supports LTE band 5, unlike TMO.

LTE band 4 is AWS and supported by AT&T. The frequencies listed in the wiki are for 3G/UMTS coverage which AT&T doesn't support AWS.


Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk 4
Last edited by kyler13; 1st October 2013 at 12:20 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 General by ThreadRank