Post Reply

Wink untra power saving mode crapped your phone after root fix

OP davew41

17th June 2014, 03:52 AM   |  #1  
davew41's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Here is how I fixed it for the 900A AT&T version
I was getting fail errors on the stock tar.md5 from samsung through odin in download mode it just would not take, I tried 4 different computers, different cables, different usb ports...

The following is how I got mine to be back up and running properly:
You will need 2 files which I will provide a spam free link to and a little bit of time..
Odin 3.09 link
http://www.mediafire.com/download/ek...din3_v3.09.zip


Firmware for 900A link
http://www.mediafire.com/download/7n...2_Firmware.rar


Download the above files
extract the files
you will end up with 4 files
starting with
BL
AP
CP
CSC


boot your phone into download mode
Hold volume down
hold home button
press power button

then hit volume up to continue

Now connect your phone to the pc

extract and open odin
Open odin 3.09

if it detects your phone it will show a com port lit up now you are good to go.

in odin 3.09
make sure auto reboot is checked
and F.reset Time

NO NEED FOR THE BL file at this time with our locked bootloader[B]in the bl tab Leave blank

Do not load the bl file as of yet we have a locked bootloader and it wont flash

pick the ap and then the ap file you downloaded
pick the cp tab and the cp file
then the same for the csc file
make sure all tabs are checked
the AP file will take over a minute to load dont get nervous odin has to load it into itself..
once all 3 are in their respective tabs and checked click start and that is it
in about 6 minutes you will boot back up to a stock galaxy s5 for att
Last edited by davew41; 1st July 2014 at 08:23 PM.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to davew41 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 04:02 AM   |  #2  
LuckyColdJohnson's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Garland, TX
Thanks Meter: 482
 
914 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
Did you delete the systems Launcher while in your overboard state?

I use xposed etc.. My ultra power mode turns into emergency mode. At least that what it says. It works too. It also gives me an option to select a launcher, and people are deleting that launcher (if hat makes any since)

I think your fine to use those apps man.
Last edited by LuckyColdJohnson; 17th June 2014 at 04:08 AM.
17th June 2014, 04:36 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Thanks for this. I was freezing apps in TB and rebooted periodically to check stability. It got stuck on the AT&T screen. This got me back up with just updating the AP file.

Fortunately, I did a full backup in TB before screwing around. Now I need to figure out what did it. Too bad there isn't a safe-to-freeze list somewhere.
17th June 2014, 05:32 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
285 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by davew41


extract and open odin
Open odin 3.09
boot your phone into download mode
Hold volume down
hold home button
press power button

then hit volume up to continue

Now connect your phone to the pc

in odin 3.09
make sure auto reboot is checked
and F.reset Time

in the bl tab pick the Bl file
click start
this file may fail,it did for me many times with errors.

I was back to square 1 the same as I was with the samsung firmware I downloaded directly from samsung....
Don't give up yet..



close out odin

restart in download mode as above and then reconnect phone

pick only the ap and then the ap file you downloaded
click start it should work


let phone boot up
shut down the phone and back into download mode this time pick the cp tab and the cp file


do this and reboot one more time
then the same for the csc file


I had to do these all separately to get them all to work


I also was unable to get the bl file to work no matter what
But my phone is back up and running

This time
I did not install xposed, or youtube ad blocker, or gravity box.


I did uninstall all of the AT&T branded **** and tested ultra power saving mode after each one.
So far so good.

This is similar to what I ended up doing but I loaded all files minus BL file. It worked perfectly with out rebooting and going back into odin to flash everything one by one.
17th June 2014, 08:20 PM   |  #5  
zoso28's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East Coast
Thanks Meter: 53
 
373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
This is just a guess based on what i've read about the problem, but it makes sense to me. The UPS mode uses the most basic functions, and that launcher.apk is probably designed to be a basic launcher specifically for UPS mode. If it's frozen or removed, UPS can't load properly, and thus can't boot/be turned off. Make sense? I'm about to install xposed and mod everything so I'm trying to sort out all the bugs people are having. Anyone with the UPS brick, did you come to any conclusions about who had what disabled/installed?
17th June 2014, 11:17 PM   |  #6  
davew41's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Yes confirmed to be a launcher issue. Don't delete the launcher, I am back up with xposed, gravity box, YouTube ad blocker, and all the AT&T crop removed as well as Google games, news stand, music, gone
Last edited by davew41; 24th June 2014 at 04:49 PM.
18th June 2014, 08:59 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
I need to do this... I tried enabling Download Mode with the thread here in the general section and now my camera and browser do not work... does it matter if I took the update a few weeks ago? Baseband/bootloader matter?

Here's my info...


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Free mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1403078359858.jpg
Views:	327
Size:	45.7 KB
ID:	2804892  
18th June 2014, 11:10 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 290
 
768 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregthomas129

I need to do this... I tried enabling Download Mode with the thread here in the general section and now my camera and browser do not work... does it matter if I took the update a few weeks ago? Baseband/bootloader matter?

Here's my info...


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Free mobile app

For the download booster, yes it does matter. You must be on the previous firmware and modem for the download booster to work. You cannot change the bootloader right now, as it is locked down tight. The download booster will work, but it's not 100% stable right now. My gps did not work, but some may not see any problems at all.
18th June 2014, 12:16 PM   |  #9  
Player04's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
My s5 is rooted. No problems at all with ultra power mode.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
18th June 2014, 01:29 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortydoggg

For the download booster, yes it does matter. You must be on the previous firmware and modem for the download booster to work. You cannot change the bootloader right now, as it is locked down tight. The download booster will work, but it's not 100% stable right now. My gps did not work, but some may not see any problems at all.

Right now I'm not concerned with getting the download booster to work, only with getting my camera and browser back. So if I understand correctly, I can use this method to downgrade regardless of the bootloader version, and the browser and camera will then work, correct?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Free mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy S5 General by ThreadRank