Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,298 Members 42,862 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Guide][Mod]Change Data and statusbar buttons to any carrier

Tip us?
 
tp2215
Old
#1  
tp2215's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2581
Posts: 1,576
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Orlando

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Guide][Mod]Change Data and statusbar buttons to any carrier

Hey Everyone! Just wanted to right a quick guide on how to change the statusbar icons to any other carrier since I have not seen this anywhere. Some people may like them a little better then T-mobile. I have seen mods that do this but it is actually as easy as a few build.prop changes.

Please note: These may cause more subtle changes as well since it basically fools the device into thinking its that carrier. The main change is the data icons, but some carriers also put there network on the left of the statusbar (at&t) and other things

Just simply use a file manager with root (recommend ES Explorer) and navigate to /system. Then open up the build.prop file in a text editor (after making a backup first). All you need to do is change the following lines from kltetmo to whatever you would like..

Stock T- Mobile
Code:
Select Code
ro.product.name=kltetmo
ro.product.device=kltetmo
AT&T
Code:
Select Code
ro.product.name=klteatt
ro.product.device=klteatt
Verizon
Code:
Select Code
ro.product.name=kltevzw
ro.product.device=kltevzw
Sprint
Code:
Select Code
ro.product.name=kltespr
ro.product.device=kltespr
Then just save the file and reboot! I will update with pictures eventually if I get the chance. Also if you change it to anything else then it will change your data icons to the stock aosp icons (with the H+ icons) There maybe a few more too for other carriers but haven't tracked them down yet. Enjoy!
My Current Projects::

<------ If you like my work please hit thanks or donate!
My Devices::
Samsung Galaxy S5 -
Samsung Galaxy S3 - B&N Nook Color (Modified)
My Threads::
The Ultimate Android Ported Apps Directory!
T-Mobile Galaxy S5 Tips And Tricks Thread
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to tp2215 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
aooga
Old
#2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 836
Posts: 2,868
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
It worked great, thanks.
 
koolboyztn
Old
#3  
koolboyztn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 360
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: sOmE WhErE
picture would be nice. ☺
 
tp2215
Old
#4  
tp2215's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2581
Posts: 1,576
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Orlando

 
DONATE TO ME
Just randomly curious, could anyone running an international rom try this and let me know if it works? It should but I was just curious in verifying it.
My Current Projects::

<------ If you like my work please hit thanks or donate!
My Devices::
Samsung Galaxy S5 -
Samsung Galaxy S3 - B&N Nook Color (Modified)
My Threads::
The Ultimate Android Ported Apps Directory!
T-Mobile Galaxy S5 Tips And Tricks Thread
 
rfb813
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 527
Posts: 1,239
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Valrico, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp2215 View Post
Just randomly curious, could anyone running an international rom try this and let me know if it works? It should but I was just curious in verifying it.
I have the 900T and use ATT so I wanted to get the ATT 4G Icons. I also downloaded and flashed the Stock NE2 Rom with extras from the International G5 forum and modified the build prop for ATT and changed the country to US. Working great! now my phone looks like an ATT phone, with the latest international firmware.
The Following User Says Thank You to rfb813 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
koolboyztn
Old
#6  
koolboyztn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 360
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: sOmE WhErE
still waiting picture from op.
 
aooga
Old
#7  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 836
Posts: 2,868
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by koolboyztn View Post
still waiting picture from op.
Of?
 
inneyeseakay
Old
#8  
inneyeseakay's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 1,121
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
klteatt kltevzw
kltespr
kltetmo kltexx



Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
---Nick---
The Following User Says Thank You to inneyeseakay For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
koolboyztn
Old
#9  
koolboyztn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 360
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: sOmE WhErE
nice, thanks.
 
slimc84
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 351
Posts: 934
Join Date: Nov 2011
Worked like a charm. I am using an international ROM and changed ro.product.model to SM-G900T and it updated as well. So for those of you using an international ROM, you can change that as well so it shows that you are using the T-Mobile Variant
Device:Verizon LG G3 (White) - ROOTED
ROM: Stock
Kernel: Stock
Recovery: Stock

Device: AT&T Samung Galaxy S5 Active - ROOTED!
ROM: Stock
Kernel: Stock
Recovery: Stock
If I have helped you out, please hit the thanks button.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...