Post Reply

[Q] Help Rooting on MK2

OP RBarnett09

23rd March 2014, 02:53 AM   |  #1  
RBarnett09's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 284
 
1,210 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
I just picked up an S4 and am coming from an S3.
Found this link to get root but not sure if I want to take the method.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2574652

I'm on MK2.
Has the bootloader been unlocked yet or is it unlocked by default?
My phone needs some AOSP in its life. Bad.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app
23rd March 2014, 05:52 AM   |  #2  
Surge1223's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Iowa
Thanks Meter: 4,096
 
1,758 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBarnett09

I just picked up an S4 and am coming from an S3.
Found this link to get root but not sure if I want to take the method.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2574652

I'm on MK2.
Has the bootloader been unlocked yet or is it unlocked by default?
My phone needs some AOSP in its life. Bad.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app

Not sure anyone can help you if your not sure you want to try the method in the first place. The thread Naddict refers to says its roots MK2 in the title. The bootloader Is locked so no AOSP. Theres a sticky that most people refer users to when they ask this question (which is at least 4 times a day) I trust you'll be able to find it though.
23rd March 2014, 05:57 AM   |  #3  
RBarnett09's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 284
 
1,210 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surge1223

Not sure anyone can help you if your not sure you want to try the method in the first place. The thread Naddict refers to says its roots MK2 in the title. The bootloader Is locked so no AOSP. Theres a sticky that most people refer users to when they ask this question (which is at least 4 times a day) I trust you'll be able to find it though.

The only reason I wasn't sure if I wanted to try it is because I'm strictly wanting AOSP ROMs... I hate Touchwiz with a passion. So if I can't use any AOSP ROMs, I won't bother rooting it.
Hopefully they get the bootloader unlocked soon.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app
Last edited by RBarnett09; 23rd March 2014 at 06:01 AM.
23rd March 2014, 07:50 AM   |  #4  
RBarnett09's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 284
 
1,210 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Would it be possible to Odin to a previous build that has an unlockable bootloader, root and then flash?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app
23rd March 2014, 09:27 AM   |  #5  
Mistertac's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 1,918
 
3,752 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBarnett09

Would it be possible to Odin to a previous build that has an unlockable bootloader, root and then flash?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app

No that's not possible sorry. Wish it were that easy.

Look into SafeStrap compatible ROMs for the Verizon s4... There's a list on here of them. Some pretty cool ones that have the feel of aosp.

Or... Go on swappa and buy an MDK build which you can run aosp on.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
23rd March 2014, 11:36 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 816
 
2,411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBarnett09

The only reason I wasn't sure if I wanted to try it is because I'm strictly wanting AOSP ROMs... I hate Touchwiz with a passion. So if I can't use any AOSP ROMs, I won't bother rooting it.
Hopefully they get the bootloader unlocked soon.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app


all S4 owners need to start with this thread...
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2606501
23rd March 2014, 07:15 PM   |  #7  
RBarnett09's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 284
 
1,210 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Ah.
I'm just going to resell this thing.
Theres no way to get away from Touchwiz.

Thanks though guys.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Samsung Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank