Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Smile Splashtop Anywhere Access Pack FREE! sort of.

OP m03m1x

8th December 2012, 04:36 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
How to Play Hardware Accelerated Games over the Air on an iOS Device.
Splashtop Anywhere Access Pack FREE! sort of.

This I made because i was a little infuriated Splashtop was going to charge
a recurring fee rather than a one time fee for their hardware accelerated RDP software.
So the only thing i could think of was VPN! Trick splashtop into thinking i was at home
(or where ever your graphic accelerated monster is) so i could play and heres how.

Requirements:
-Splashtop (there are two versions one for iphone/ipod, one for ipad. purchase correctly)
-Windows 7 computer (doesnt have to be but its what i used)
-Router Access (required to forward a port, 1723, for VPN)

For those who want to use this for Over the Air. Be aware of these factors please.
-You may be using data, this will use ALOT of data.
-This will use your home connections bandwith.
--Keep an eye on your home internets usage.
--it will slow down the connection for other users on it, unless its has alot of bandwith.

Let's Begin.

1. Install Splashtop on your iOS device
2. Go to "Network and Sharing Center"
3. On the left click "Change Adapter Settings"
4. Click " File" and select "New Incoming Connection" ( if you dont see "File" in the top left hit Alt once ).
5. Tell it who may connect ( I suggest creating a custom user or use the one thats listed ).
6. Just hit next through everything until done.
7. Now this part we must port forward. Depending on wether your computers LAN IP changes or not you may need to manually set it.
8. Moving on. Forward port 1723 to your LAN IP found by double clicking "Local Area Connection" icon on that same window.
9. Now we find our IP, google "What is my IP" wam boom bam, you got your IP.
10. Go to your iDevice and go to Settings.
11. Go to VPN
12. Add New
13. PPTP
14. input info, RSA SecurID off. Encryption Level to Auto. Send All the Traffic baby.
15. If done correctly you may now connecto to your home network from anywhere on any network your on.
16. This means splashtop will think your on the same router and allow you to play or work graphic accelerated.

-moeiscool

I made this tut no jacking please.

EDIT:

Heres a YouTube watchlink of it working:

kinda nooby video taking skills but what ever i just wanted to show you guys it working.
Last edited by overground; 17th July 2014 at 11:21 PM. Reason: Adding a Video link to show my concept working
The Following User Says Thank You to m03m1x For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th April 2013, 03:02 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
please elaborate steps 4 to 9.
31st May 2013, 08:21 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
You sir are brilliant lol... or more like I'm dumb I completely forgot about just using VPN with this even though it's setup already *facepalm*
Last edited by sengook; 31st May 2013 at 08:25 PM.
11th July 2013, 06:37 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
I already bought splashtop, the company is full of deceptive liars. I would love to get this working on my andoid device. Has anyone actually got this to work. Are they blocking this?
12th July 2013, 03:16 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Great guide. Thanks!
12th July 2013, 04:17 PM   |  #6  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Enschede, The Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 1,036
 
4,147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Huh? I play FEAR, Skyrim and Anno 1404 over Splashtop THD every day in the train, never noticed anything about additional payments

Edit: Oh. Right. No, forget I said anything. I momentarily forgot where I got Splashtop from...
15th July 2013, 10:57 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarthak1305

please elaborate steps 4 to 9.

Steps 4 - 6 Are to setup VPN on a Windows machine that has the Packages installed for it. (i used Windows 7 Ultimate, so i had the VPN feature built into my windows)

4. Click " File" and select "New Incoming Connection" ( if you dont see "File" in the top left hit Alt once ).
(this part if for Windows users, it is in the "Network Connections" folder... basically the list where your network adapters show. [ie: Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller, etc.])

5. Tell it who may connect ( I suggest creating a custom user or use the one thats listed ).
(This is a step after you have selected "Connect Through the Internet", for me there is no other option)

6. Just hit next through everything until done.

7. Now this part we must port forward. Depending on wether your computers LAN IP changes or not you may need to manually set it.
(This is done in the Network adapters menu and right-clicking the main network adapter and clicking properties and double clicking "internet Protocol Version 4" in the list.)

8. Moving on. Forward port 1723 to your LAN IP found by double clicking "Local Area Connection" icon on that same window.
(This is done in your router settings, the IP for this should be your local Gateway IP)

9. Now we find our IP, google "What is my IP" wam boom bam, you got your IP.
2nd August 2013, 01:07 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by m03m1x

Steps 4 - 6 Are to setup VPN on a Windows machine that has the Packages installed for it. (i used Windows 7 Ultimate, so i had the VPN feature built into my windows)

4. Click " File" and select "New Incoming Connection" ( if you dont see "File" in the top left hit Alt once ).
(this part if for Windows users, it is in the "Network Connections" folder... basically the list where your network adapters show. [ie: Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller, etc.])

5. Tell it who may connect ( I suggest creating a custom user or use the one thats listed ).
(This is a step after you have selected "Connect Through the Internet", for me there is no other option)

6. Just hit next through everything until done.

7. Now this part we must port forward. Depending on wether your computers LAN IP changes or not you may need to manually set it.
(This is done in the Network adapters menu and right-clicking the main network adapter and clicking properties and double clicking "internet Protocol Version 4" in the list.)

8. Moving on. Forward port 1723 to your LAN IP found by double clicking "Local Area Connection" icon on that same window.
(This is done in your router settings, the IP for this should be your local Gateway IP)

9. Now we find our IP, google "What is my IP" wam boom bam, you got your IP.

Yeah I still don't get it. Please help me.
20th October 2013, 12:36 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
So I followed your tutorial and getting PPTP VPN is A PAIN IN THE ASS. Aside from that I got it working. I am having another issue that maybe you can help me out with. On my galaxy nexus, I connect to the VPN over my 4g LTE connection on my phone. Once I connect to my VPN and log into Splashtop 2, I can't reach splashtop servers. Do any of you guys have this same problem?

Am I missing something?
2nd December 2013, 04:34 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
I am out of ideas why I can't connect to my Windows 7 vpn host from my iphone 4 running on ios6.1.2. I've doubled checked my settings and open ports, but I can't seem to get my iphone to connect to my vpn.

I can; however, connect if I am connected to my network AND using my local ip address. But, I cannot connect using my external address while being connected to the same network or 3G.

Port 1723 tcp is forwarded and I have verify it by checking with an online port checker. Can someone suggest what else I need to check or enable? I have also tried disabling windows firewall and my virus program to no available.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes