Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,966 Members 50,694 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Can't down load update

Tip us?
 
Thewiskeydude
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Can't down load update

I have kingroot installed no custom rooms and software version 4.3. I have tried to update my software and it stops at about 25% every time. Anybody have any ideas? Thanks
 
graydiggy
Old
#2  
graydiggy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2133
Posts: 4,227
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Houma, LA

 
DONATE TO ME
You will have to do the Restore to MJ5 tutorial in the general section.

Root normally screws up the update.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


Lost in a paper bag again...
 
Thewiskeydude
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jan 2014
What if i wanted to remove everything from the phone root/safestrap and go back to stock?
 
Pscheoverdrive
Old
#4  
Pscheoverdrive's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Silver Spring

 
DONATE TO ME
Root doesn't screw up the update- Kingo does. I was in your exact shoes.

I did the MJ5 restore, rooted, did the OTA update and then did step 10 again for root. Works perfectly. Then I did Drakey's GPS Fix and now everything works great.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
 
graydiggy
Old
#5  
graydiggy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2133
Posts: 4,227
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Houma, LA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pscheoverdrive View Post
Root doesn't screw up the update- Kingo does. I was in your exact shoes.

I did the MJ5 restore, rooted, did the OTA update and then did step 10 again for root. Works perfectly. Then I did Drakey's GPS Fix and now everything works great.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
I'm sorry, that is incorrect. Root will mess up an update. Kingo roots the device, that is it.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


Lost in a paper bag again...
 
Pscheoverdrive
Old
#6  
Pscheoverdrive's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Silver Spring

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by graydiggy View Post
I'm sorry, that is incorrect. Root will mess up an update. Kingo roots the device, that is it.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Perhaps anecdotal, but I went in circles with Kingo. Couldn't unroot, couldn't update. Its method of rooting is not the same as other 'conventional' ways.

After restoring and rooting via the MJ5 restore process, I updated to NB4 with no issues. I didn't need RootCloak or anything of the sort. There are others. I haven't read of others successfully updating w/Kingo root. I could be wrong.
 
Thewiskeydude
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jan 2014
I did remove the root using kingroot web site but the safestrap was still there. I could not up date the phone. So i reinstalled kingroot again and iam back to square one, a rooted phone but cant up date.
The Following User Says Thank You to Thewiskeydude For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jerrycoffman45
Old
#8  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 628
Posts: 1,993
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: ashland ky
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thewiskeydude View Post
I did remove the root using kingroot web site but the safestrap was still there. I could not up date the phone. So i reinstalled kingroot again and iam back to square one, a rooted phone but cant up date.
open safestrap uninstall recovery then go to your app manager and uninstall bootstrap then unroot
The Following User Says Thank You to jerrycoffman45 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Thewiskeydude
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jan 2014
So here my problem like an idiot i tryed to unroot with out deleting any of the apps and programs (safeboot,titanium). So i had to to reroot and the safestrap is still there. I have dont see this file in application manager, but if i restart my safestrap comes up on my screen. Its safstrap 3.71 (twrp v2.6.31) i dont see a delete button.
 
jerrycoffman45
Old
#10  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 628
Posts: 1,993
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: ashland ky
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thewiskeydude View Post
So here my problem like an idiot i tryed to unroot with out deleting any of the apps and programs (safeboot,titanium). So i had to to reroot and the safestrap is still there. I have dont see this file in application manager, but if i restart my safestrap comes up on my screen. Its safstrap 3.71 (twrp v2.6.31) i dont see a delete button.
you need to reinstall safestrap then do what i wrote above

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jerrycoffman45 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools
Display Modes