Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Can't down load update

OP Thewiskeydude

17th March 2014, 03:11 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
I have kingroot installed no custom rooms and software version 4.3. I have tried to update my software and it stops at about 25% every time. Anybody have any ideas? Thanks
17th March 2014, 03:23 PM   |  #2  
graydiggy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Houma, LA
Thanks Meter: 2,416
 
4,488 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
You will have to do the Restore to MJ5 tutorial in the general section.

Root normally screws up the update.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
19th March 2014, 03:07 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
What if i wanted to remove everything from the phone root/safestrap and go back to stock?
19th March 2014, 03:37 PM   |  #4  
Pscheoverdrive's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Silver Spring
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Root doesn't screw up the update- Kingo does. I was in your exact shoes.

I did the MJ5 restore, rooted, did the OTA update and then did step 10 again for root. Works perfectly. Then I did Drakey's GPS Fix and now everything works great.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
19th March 2014, 07:05 PM   |  #5  
graydiggy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Houma, LA
Thanks Meter: 2,416
 
4,488 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pscheoverdrive

Root doesn't screw up the update- Kingo does. I was in your exact shoes.

I did the MJ5 restore, rooted, did the OTA update and then did step 10 again for root. Works perfectly. Then I did Drakey's GPS Fix and now everything works great.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app

I'm sorry, that is incorrect. Root will mess up an update. Kingo roots the device, that is it.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
19th March 2014, 07:13 PM   |  #6  
Pscheoverdrive's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Silver Spring
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by graydiggy

I'm sorry, that is incorrect. Root will mess up an update. Kingo roots the device, that is it.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Perhaps anecdotal, but I went in circles with Kingo. Couldn't unroot, couldn't update. Its method of rooting is not the same as other 'conventional' ways.

After restoring and rooting via the MJ5 restore process, I updated to NB4 with no issues. I didn't need RootCloak or anything of the sort. There are others. I haven't read of others successfully updating w/Kingo root. I could be wrong.
19th March 2014, 10:45 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
I did remove the root using kingroot web site but the safestrap was still there. I could not up date the phone. So i reinstalled kingroot again and iam back to square one, a rooted phone but cant up date.
The Following User Says Thank You to Thewiskeydude For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th March 2014, 11:03 PM   |  #8  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 694
 
2,157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thewiskeydude

I did remove the root using kingroot web site but the safestrap was still there. I could not up date the phone. So i reinstalled kingroot again and iam back to square one, a rooted phone but cant up date.

open safestrap uninstall recovery then go to your app manager and uninstall bootstrap then unroot
The Following User Says Thank You to jerrycoffman45 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th March 2014, 12:42 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
So here my problem like an idiot i tryed to unroot with out deleting any of the apps and programs (safeboot,titanium). So i had to to reroot and the safestrap is still there. I have dont see this file in application manager, but if i restart my safestrap comes up on my screen. Its safstrap 3.71 (twrp v2.6.31) i dont see a delete button.
20th March 2014, 04:54 AM   |  #10  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 694
 
2,157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thewiskeydude

So here my problem like an idiot i tryed to unroot with out deleting any of the apps and programs (safeboot,titanium). So i had to to reroot and the safestrap is still there. I have dont see this file in application manager, but if i restart my safestrap comes up on my screen. Its safstrap 3.71 (twrp v2.6.31) i dont see a delete button.

you need to reinstall safestrap then do what i wrote above

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jerrycoffman45 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes