Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,698 Members 49,781 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

TWRP Failing to Flash ANY ROMs

Tip us?
 
elijahpr
Old
(Last edited by elijahpr; 8th January 2013 at 09:04 PM.)
#1  
elijahpr's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 153
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portland

 
DONATE TO ME
Exclamation TWRP Failing to Flash ANY ROMs

Hey all,

I have my AT&T One X(L), and I'm unable to flash any custom ROMs with TWRP.

The phone is rooted, and unlocked, and on hboot 1.14.0002 if that helps.

I'm [trying] to run TWRP version 2.3.3.1 for Evita phones.

Here's the process I'm using:

I've placed the ROM zip file in the downloads section on my SD card.

Extract and flash the boot.img from the ROM zip file using command prompt.

Wipe cache/delvik/factory reset from TWRP

Press "install", and find the zip file (in this case it's ViperXL)

It never gets past this point. No error messages, all it says is that it failed to flash the zip file. I made sure that the check MD5 box is UNchecked.

ANY help is greatly appreciated!
Now:HTC One X Viper XL
Then:HTC Inspire 4G [32GB] with RCMix3D KINGDOM v2.0
 
area51avenger
Old
#2  
area51avenger's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 338
Posts: 864
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Toronto
Make sure signature verify is unchecked too.
Make sure the md5 of the zip file is okay
Phone: Nexus 5
 
18th.abn
Old
#3  
18th.abn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1835
Posts: 1,492
Join Date: Oct 2011
Go to mounts, see if sdcard is mounted. Uncheck it, go flash. It will work

Sent from my One X using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 18th.abn For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
elijahpr
Old
#4  
elijahpr's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 153
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portland

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks, how do I check the MD5 file to make sure it's ok?
Now:HTC One X Viper XL
Then:HTC Inspire 4G [32GB] with RCMix3D KINGDOM v2.0
 
ToxicWaste
Old
#5  
ToxicWaste's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 202
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by elijahpr View Post
Thanks, how do I check the MD5 file to make sure it's ok?

Download MD5 checker from Play store if you care to ensure. Before you swipe to flash the Rom, make sure you DON'T check MD5 check.
Sent from my HTC One XL using Tapatalk 2
 
elijahpr
Old
#6  
elijahpr's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 153
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portland

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by 18th.abn View Post
Go to mounts, see if sdcard is mounted. Uncheck it, go flash. It will work

Sent from my One X using Tapatalk 2
So the SD card should not be mounted when I try to flash?
Now:HTC One X Viper XL
Then:HTC Inspire 4G [32GB] with RCMix3D KINGDOM v2.0
 
18th.abn
Old
#7  
18th.abn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1835
Posts: 1,492
Join Date: Oct 2011
In mounts- box should have an X in it and say unmount sdcard

X unmount sdcard

Sent from my One X using Tapatalk 2
 
elijahpr
Old
#8  
elijahpr's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 153
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portland

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToxicWaste View Post
Download MD5 checker from Play store if you care to ensure. Before you swipe to flash the Rom, make sure you DON'T check MD5 check.
Sent from my HTC One XL using Tapatalk 2
Thanks! I'm not 100% sure how to use this though; sorry. I uploaded the rom .zip, and the text appeared red. I'm guessing that's a bad thing?
Now:HTC One X Viper XL
Then:HTC Inspire 4G [32GB] with RCMix3D KINGDOM v2.0
 
elijahpr
Old
#9  
elijahpr's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 153
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portland

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by 18th.abn View Post
In mounts- box should have an X in it and say unmount sdcard

X unmount sdcard

Sent from my One X using Tapatalk 2
Oh, yeah. It always has. Still a no-go.
Now:HTC One X Viper XL
Then:HTC Inspire 4G [32GB] with RCMix3D KINGDOM v2.0
 
elijahpr
Old
#10  
elijahpr's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 153
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portland

 
DONATE TO ME
Went back to the basics, and downloaded Rootchecker. It says my phone does not appear to be rooted, but I'm not sure how that's possible? I used the X-Factor exploit for 2.20 firmware, and on the bootloader screen it does say unlocked at the top. Could it actually not be rooted, or is it possible the app is wrong?
Now:HTC One X Viper XL
Then:HTC Inspire 4G [32GB] with RCMix3D KINGDOM v2.0

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes