Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Exclamation TWRP Failing to Flash ANY ROMs

OP elijahpr

8th January 2013, 09:59 PM   |  #1  
elijahpr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Portland
Thanks Meter: 5
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Hey all,

I have my AT&T One X(L), and I'm unable to flash any custom ROMs with TWRP.

The phone is rooted, and unlocked, and on hboot 1.14.0002 if that helps.

I'm [trying] to run TWRP version 2.3.3.1 for Evita phones.

Here's the process I'm using:

I've placed the ROM zip file in the downloads section on my SD card.

Extract and flash the boot.img from the ROM zip file using command prompt.

Wipe cache/delvik/factory reset from TWRP

Press "install", and find the zip file (in this case it's ViperXL)

It never gets past this point. No error messages, all it says is that it failed to flash the zip file. I made sure that the check MD5 box is UNchecked.

ANY help is greatly appreciated!
Last edited by elijahpr; 8th January 2013 at 10:04 PM.
8th January 2013, 11:28 PM   |  #2  
area51avenger's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 338
 
865 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Make sure signature verify is unchecked too.
Make sure the md5 of the zip file is okay
9th January 2013, 12:01 AM   |  #3  
18th.abn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,843
 
1,497 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Go to mounts, see if sdcard is mounted. Uncheck it, go flash. It will work

Sent from my One X using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 18th.abn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th January 2013, 02:10 AM   |  #4  
elijahpr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Portland
Thanks Meter: 5
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Thanks, how do I check the MD5 file to make sure it's ok?
9th January 2013, 02:21 AM   |  #5  
ToxicWaste's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by elijahpr

Thanks, how do I check the MD5 file to make sure it's ok?


Download MD5 checker from Play store if you care to ensure. Before you swipe to flash the Rom, make sure you DON'T check MD5 check.
Sent from my HTC One XL using Tapatalk 2
9th January 2013, 02:33 AM   |  #6  
elijahpr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Portland
Thanks Meter: 5
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 18th.abn

Go to mounts, see if sdcard is mounted. Uncheck it, go flash. It will work

Sent from my One X using Tapatalk 2

So the SD card should not be mounted when I try to flash?
9th January 2013, 03:13 AM   |  #7  
18th.abn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,843
 
1,497 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
In mounts- box should have an X in it and say unmount sdcard

X unmount sdcard

Sent from my One X using Tapatalk 2
9th January 2013, 05:39 AM   |  #8  
elijahpr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Portland
Thanks Meter: 5
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToxicWaste

Download MD5 checker from Play store if you care to ensure. Before you swipe to flash the Rom, make sure you DON'T check MD5 check.
Sent from my HTC One XL using Tapatalk 2

Thanks! I'm not 100% sure how to use this though; sorry. I uploaded the rom .zip, and the text appeared red. I'm guessing that's a bad thing?
9th January 2013, 05:40 AM   |  #9  
elijahpr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Portland
Thanks Meter: 5
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 18th.abn

In mounts- box should have an X in it and say unmount sdcard

X unmount sdcard

Sent from my One X using Tapatalk 2

Oh, yeah. It always has. Still a no-go.
9th January 2013, 05:59 AM   |  #10  
elijahpr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Portland
Thanks Meter: 5
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Went back to the basics, and downloaded Rootchecker. It says my phone does not appear to be rooted, but I'm not sure how that's possible? I used the X-Factor exploit for 2.20 firmware, and on the bootloader screen it does say unlocked at the top. Could it actually not be rooted, or is it possible the app is wrong?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes