FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

ADB on KK 4.4.2 ROM

581 posts
Thanks Meter: 162
 
By sathish804, Senior Member on 20th March 2014, 01:14 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi All,

I was trying to enable the ADB with PAC ROM when my evita is switched on as we do on sense roms.

But my Windows 7 PC is unable to detect the phone as android and It was searching for drivers online and at last failing to find the drivers.

I have HTC Android drivers installed on my PC and android debugging enabled on my evita.

Is this is the known behaviour of KK 4.4.2 AOSP ROM's ??
 
 
20th March 2014, 01:31 PM |#2  
Heisenberg's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Knocking on your door
Thanks Meter: 10,733
 
Donate to Me
More
Not that I know of, I've had no problems using adb on any of the KitKat ROMs I've tried. How have you installed the drivers?

Sent from my Evita
20th March 2014, 05:03 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 372
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sathish804

Hi All,

I was trying to enable the ADB with PAC ROM when my evita is switched on as we do on sense roms.

But my Windows 7 PC is unable to detect the phone as android and It was searching for drivers online and at last failing to find the drivers.

I have HTC Android drivers installed on my PC and android debugging enabled on my evita.

Is this is the known behaviour of KK 4.4.2 AOSP ROM's ??

I've had this issue quite a lot as well. ADB won't ever work when booted into the ROM, but if you boot into fastboot, no problems at all. What happens is that it searched for drivers, then can't find them.
20th March 2014, 05:20 PM |#4  
Heisenberg's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Knocking on your door
Thanks Meter: 10,733
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scozzar

I've had this issue quite a lot as well. ADB won't ever work when booted into the ROM, but if you boot into fastboot, no problems at all. What happens is that it searched for drivers, then can't find them.

Are you talking about adb commands working in fastboot? Or fastboot commands working in fastboot?

Sent from my Evita
20th March 2014, 05:35 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 372
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa

Are you talking about adb commands working in fastboot? Or fastboot commands working in fastboot?

Sent from my Evita

Nah, I should have specified.

Basically, when you get the phone all situated to work with adb (USB debugging and the like), command prompt will not find the device. It just says:


Code:
List of devices


(working directory)
It just turns up blank. However, as soon as you boot into fastboot, fastboot commands usually work fine.
20th March 2014, 05:58 PM |#6  
Heisenberg's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Knocking on your door
Thanks Meter: 10,733
 
Donate to Me
More
Ok. It can be a huge hassle, I had the opposite problem. My adb was working beautifully on my new laptop but I couldn't get fastboot working with official HTC drivers. Ended up using the drivers from pdanet to get it to work, but they ended up not being compatible with RUUs. So tried with the official HTC drivers again, plugged in my fiance's Evita instead of mine, and bam! Perfect driver setup. Go figure. The amount of times I've helped people on XDA get their drivers working and it took me like three friggin days.

Sent from my Evita
20th March 2014, 07:06 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 372
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa

Ok. It can be a huge hassle, I had the opposite problem. My adb was working beautifully on my new laptop but I couldn't get fastboot working with official HTC drivers. Ended up using the drivers from pdanet to get it to work, but they ended up not being compatible with RUUs. So tried with the official HTC drivers again, plugged in my fiance's Evita instead of mine, and bam! Perfect driver setup. Go figure. The amount of times I've helped people on XDA get their drivers working and it took me like three friggin days.

Sent from my Evita

Wait, so you have two kinds of drivers installed? I usually just get the HTC Sync drivers, then uninstall HTC sync and leave the drivers.
20th March 2014, 07:27 PM |#8  
Heisenberg's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Knocking on your door
Thanks Meter: 10,733
 
Donate to Me
More
No, only one set of drivers. When the official HTC drivers didn't work with fastboot I uninstalled them and used the pdanet drivers. When the pdanet drivers didn't work with the RUU I uninstalled them and installed the HTC drivers again.

Sent from my Evita
20th March 2014, 10:49 PM |#9  
sathish804's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 162
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa

No, only one set of drivers. When the official HTC drivers didn't work with fastboot I uninstalled them and used the pdanet drivers. When the pdanet drivers didn't work with the RUU I uninstalled them and installed the HTC drivers again.

Sent from my Evita

PDANet drivers worked for me as well. But my device is showing as Offline, what could be the reason for this?
21st March 2014, 04:59 AM |#10  
Heisenberg's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Knocking on your door
Thanks Meter: 10,733
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sathish804

PDANet drivers worked for me as well. But my device is showing as Offline, what could be the reason for this?

You need to have your screen on and accept the prompt that pops up.

Sent from my Evita
25th March 2014, 05:42 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Clemson
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I have experience similar problem after flash to KK4.2.2: adb never connect and no authorization confirmation pop up will show. I found that in my device manager there is a device called "One X" without driver. I get all my htc driver from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2217396 never installed htc sync. I searched around, everyone was talking about disable and re-enablle adb debug and "allow" its access from the popup and no one was having the "no driver" problem. I solved this problem by editing one inf file in the installed driver.

SOLUTION

If you have installed the driver from the link above, under:
C:\Program Files (x86)\HTC\HTC Driver\Driver Files\Win7_x64

there will be a file named androidusb.inf. Depending on your windows installation path and bitness, this path may be slightly different. Edit it with notepad, find a line

%MyHTC%=HTCAND64.Dev, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0FF2&MI_01

insert the following line just below that line

%MyHTC%=HTCAND64.Dev, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0FF9&MI_01

save the file and use "update driver" in device manager to install driver. manually select the search directory and windows should find the driver. After the driver is installed, adb works like a charm.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to sippey For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes