Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Trading in S3 on EDGE Program--Question About Root

OP pettigrew95

25th March 2014, 04:50 PM   |  #1  
pettigrew95's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 68
 
1,123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Hey guys quick question. I think I am going to be trading my S3 in today to get the new HTC One on the EDGE program. My question is my S3 is rooted and running a custom ROM (CleanROM 8.1). Do I need to un-root and put stock ROM back onto the S3 when handing in the phone through the EDGE program? Thanks!
26th March 2014, 12:53 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by pettigrew95

Hey guys quick question. I think I am going to be trading my S3 in today to get the new HTC One on the EDGE program. My question is my S3 is rooted and running a custom ROM (CleanROM 8.1). Do I need to un-root and put stock ROM back onto the S3 when handing in the phone through the EDGE program? Thanks!

I'd love to see an answer to this question myself. I was going to do the same thing. The only difference is I have the stock ROM just rooted.
26th March 2014, 01:45 AM   |  #3  
twistedillutions's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 209
Thanks Meter: 283
 
2,369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
To be on the safe side and not get a called later on by vzw. I suggest to Unroot and put stock image on.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to twistedillutions For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2014, 03:22 AM   |  #4  
pettigrew95's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 68
 
1,123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by twistedillutions

To be on the safe side and not get a called later on by vzw. I suggest to Unroot and put stock image on.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

Thanks...If they did call you what would they say and would there be any repercussions? I didn't give them my S3, I had an old HTC Rhyme lying around (my girlfriends old phone) lol...It was rooted as well but stock ROM. I was to lazy to un-root it so I gave it to them rooted. I wonder what Verizon even does with phones traded in through EDGE?
26th March 2014, 03:28 AM   |  #5  
twistedillutions's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 209
Thanks Meter: 283
 
2,369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pettigrew95

Thanks...If they did call you what would they say and would there be any repercussions? I didn't give them my S3, I had an old HTC Rhyme lying around (my girlfriends old phone) lol...It was rooted as well but stock ROM. I was to lazy to un-root it so I gave it to them rooted. I wonder what Verizon even does with phones traded in through EDGE?

Worse case give it back to you. Since i haven't read about edge cant tell u wat is ACCEPTABLE and wats not. Depending hows the quality of the fone they probably fix them recertified them. Resell as use or us as replacement wen ppl have a warranty claim.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
26th March 2014, 04:17 AM   |  #6  
ShapesBlue's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 842
 
4,498 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pettigrew95

Hey guys quick question. I think I am going to be trading my S3 in today to get the new HTC One on the EDGE program. My question is my S3 is rooted and running a custom ROM (CleanROM 8.1). Do I need to un-root and put stock ROM back onto the S3 when handing in the phone through the EDGE program? Thanks!

Does VZW offer anything for the S3? If not and it's unlocked the dev community and a ton of members would love to get there hands on one

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2
26th March 2014, 04:21 AM   |  #7  
pettigrew95's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 68
 
1,123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShapesBlue

Does VZW offer anything for the S3? If not and it's unlocked the dev community and a ton of members would love to get there hands on one

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2

I think they offer like 55 bucks
26th March 2014, 04:24 AM   |  #8  
ShapesBlue's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 842
 
4,498 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pettigrew95

I think they offer like 55 bucks

Nice. You could easily sell it on swappa for more

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes