Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Guide - Get s-off on 1.31 HTC One (Sprint) Update:

OP Indirect

3rd August 2013, 04:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,961
 
2,324 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Hello, here is a very simple guide to be able to use revone to s-off on the 1.31 update.

Make sure you have dev unlocked and you flashed a custom recovery (CWM or TWRP both work fine)

After that, you need to make sure adb works (if you can't figure out how to do any of this, I will not help you. If you can't find out basic things about Android, then you shouldn't have s-off)

So, as we all know, HTC has made it so with newer bootloaders, you cannot downgrade to older firmwares. Well, this is true except when the software version changes but the hboot version doesn't. So all we need to do is this:

Boot into recovery


adb shell
echo "1.29.651.10" | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p19 bs=1 seek=160
adb reboot bootloader
fastboot oem lock

then just flash an RUU of 1.29 and it'll work out. All you do is flash the misc partition to contain the proper mainver and it works.
Last edited by Indirect; 7th August 2013 at 10:15 AM.
The Following 28 Users Say Thank You to Indirect For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd August 2013, 06:05 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
591 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indirect

Hello, here is a very simple guide to be able to use revone to s-off on the 1.31 update.

Make sure you have dev unlocked and you flashed a custom recovery (CWM or TWRP both work fine)

After that, you need to make sure adb works (if you can't figure out how to do any of this, I will not help you. If you can't find out basic things about Android, then you shouldn't have s-off)

So, as we all know, HTC has made it so with newer bootloaders, you cannot downgrade to older firmwares. Well, this is true except when the software version changes but the hboot version doesn't. So all we need to do is this:

Boot into recovery


adb shell
echo "1.29.651.10" | dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p19 bs=1 seek=160
adb reboot bootloader

then just flash an RUU of 1.29 and it'll work out. All you do is flash the misc partition to contain the proper mainver and it works.

Flash an ruu.zip or can it be ruu.exe also? Should revone be done after the ruu?

Sent from my PG86100 using xda app-developers app
3rd August 2013, 06:22 PM   |  #3  
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,961
 
2,324 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bleichtman

Flash an ruu.zip or can it be ruu.exe also? Should revone be done after the ruu?

Sent from my PG86100 using xda app-developers app

either or and yes. After you RUU.
The Following User Says Thank You to Indirect For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd August 2013, 06:27 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
591 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indirect

either or and yes. After you RUU.

Just to be sure cause I'm having issues. This will allow me to flash a 1.29 ruu after having the 1.31 update? This could save me!

Sent from my PG86100 using xda app-developers app
3rd August 2013, 06:31 PM   |  #5  
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,961
 
2,324 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bleichtman

Just to be sure cause I'm having issues. This will allow me to flash a 1.29 ruu after having the 1.31 update? This could save me!

Sent from my PG86100 using xda app-developers app

Yes...as it is said in the post.
The Following User Says Thank You to Indirect For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd August 2013, 06:33 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
591 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indirect

Yes...as it is said in the post.

Thank you...had a lot of aggravation lately. Sorry for the stupid question.

Sent from my PG86100 using xda app-developers app
3rd August 2013, 10:31 PM   |  #7  
moregadget's Avatar
Senior Member
An Undisclosed Location
Thanks Meter: 230
 
603 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
So I didn't see this post but did something slightly different and it worked perfect.

Unlocked the bootloader via HTCdev
pushed TWRP for Sprint
Flashed SuperSu

Then followed the revone instructions particularly step 3 su (and going onto the device to grant access.) and everything worked perfect and never had to downgrade from 1.31.

MG
The Following User Says Thank You to moregadget For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd August 2013, 10:56 PM   |  #8  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Xda-Dev,NV
Thanks Meter: 8,199
 
8,558 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Nice work Indirect good lookin out
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BD619 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th August 2013, 03:14 PM   |  #9  
misfit0313's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Merrill, WI
Thanks Meter: 222
 
679 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Win for Indirect!

Sent from my HTCONE using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to misfit0313 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th August 2013, 07:28 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
St. Cloud
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Thumbs up THANK YOU!!!
I owe you!!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes