Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Prompt [APP] Quick-Fix for "Cannot Connect to Camera" error for Epinters CM10/CM10.1

OP berickson1

9th December 2012, 07:06 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
I know this should go in Atrix development, but I am relatively new to the community and cannot post in the development section yet.

I have been frustrated by the camera connectivity issue that has been affecting Epinters CM10 ROM. Luckily, Epinter posted an easy solution to fix this without rebooting the device.. Looks like this works Epinters CM10.1 ROM based on comments in that thread (I have not tested it).

I decided that it would be a good idea to wrap this in a simple app that would allow a one-click fix!
This app requires root in order to kill the mediaserver process.

To Use:
1) Install
2) Open "Atrix Camera Fix"
3) Click "Run Fix!"
4) Grant Superuser permission
5) DONE!

If there is interest, I could create a one-click widget to do this as well.

Quote:

Changelog:
Version 1.1:Added ability to kill the gallery/camera app (com.android.gallery3d)

Edit (Dec 11): Fixed typo. Thanks saldirai for letting me know!
Edit (Jan 1): Added changelog and updated apk
Edit (Mar 3): Seems to be compatible with Epinter's CM 10.1
Edit (Apr 12): Reports of working with CM 10.1/10.2 i9300 (International Galaxy S3) & CM11 sprint galaxy s3
Attached Files
File Type: apk Atrix Camera Fix-1.0.apk - [Click for QR Code] (152.1 KB, 2120 views)
File Type: apk Atrix Camera Fix-1.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (154.0 KB, 6060 views)
Last edited by berickson1; 12th April 2014 at 09:14 PM. Reason: Updated compatibility list
The Following 34 Users Say Thank You to berickson1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th December 2012, 09:17 PM   |  #2  
thesummoner101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
325 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
This would have been a nice addition few months back, but I personally haven't run into this issue since the early CM10 builds. Maybe because I started using Camera FX, but camera always works and is never laggy like before. Still thanks for your work, I'm sure it will definitely help someone.

Sent from my MB860 using xda app-developers app
10th December 2012, 12:07 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by thesummoner101

This would have been a nice addition few months back, but I personally haven't run into this issue since the early CM10 builds. Maybe because I started using Camera FX, but camera always works and is never laggy like before. Still thanks for your work, I'm sure it will definitely help someone.

Sent from my MB860 using xda app-developers app

I still see this issue when using the stock camera, mostly after opening the camera multiple times in a relatively short period (~15 minutes) from the lock screen. I imagine that I can't be the only one seeing this. If this helps just one person, i'm happy!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to berickson1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th December 2012, 12:45 AM   |  #4  
thesummoner101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
325 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Haven't used the stock camera in a long while, I remember it being annoying to restart. I'm sure there are going to be people who will enjoy this.

Try camera360 from the play store. It's free and has lots of options. It doesn't crash either...

Sent from my MB860 using xda app-developers app
10th December 2012, 04:11 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Aurora
Thanks Meter: 4
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by thesummoner101

Haven't used the stock camera in a long while, I remember it being annoying to restart. I'm sure there are going to be people who will enjoy this.

Try camera360 from the play store. It's free and has lots of options. It doesn't crash either...

Sent from my MB860 using xda app-developers app

I was using Camera 360, with Epinters CM10, but after the last update of camera 360, it wouldn't connect yesterday when I tried using it.
10th December 2012, 07:42 PM   |  #6  
thesummoner101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
325 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dblades

I was using Camera 360, with Epinters CM10, but after the last update of camera 360, it wouldn't connect yesterday when I tried using it.

I have version 3.9 (2012 special edition?). Opened and closed it 4-5 times in about a minute and worked just fine...

Sent from my MB860 using xda app-developers app
2nd January 2013, 02:10 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Updated to version 1.1
Updated app to version 1.1.
Added functionality to kill the default camera app when running fix. (com.android.gallery3d)
13th June 2013, 05:03 PM   |  #8  
Felpz's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Fortaleza
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Donate to Me
More
does not work
me did not work;/

some other solution?
Last edited by Felpz; 13th June 2013 at 05:13 PM.
15th June 2013, 02:22 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felpz

me did not work;/

some other solution?

What version of Epinters ROM are you running?
Please ensure that you have granted Superuser permission?
15th June 2013, 10:01 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
My solution is to use tasker to run the shell command: kill -9 `pidof mediaserver`
On every screen wake. So every time I turn screen off and back on the cam is good to go.

Sent from my MB860 using xda app-developers app

The Following User Says Thank You to ar31791 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes