Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,814,562 Members 53,777 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Hide Softkeys with Kitkat

Tip us?
 
misteurz
Old
(Last edited by misteurz; 20th March 2014 at 03:44 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 69
Join Date: Jul 2013
Default Hide Softkeys with Kitkat

Hi,
i'm still on 4.2.2 because of one only thing : i don't wanna see the softkeys anymore! (or just when i swipe up)
I read everywhere that "Auto Hide Softkeys" (that i use now) is buggy on kitkat, and that UDN Pro too.

Is there a solution to do the same thing?
Or have i to wait for an update of one of theses apps?

Thanks for your replies
 
j0l6
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 31
Join Date: Apr 2010
U can install rooted kitkat rom and xposed with gravity box to activate the expanded desktop mode and pie control , thats what I do and it works pretty well

Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app
 
jcnbama
Old
#3  
jcnbama's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 860
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Huntsville
Quote:
Originally Posted by j0l6 View Post
U can install rooted kitkat rom and xposed with gravity box to activate the expanded desktop mode and pie control , thats what I do and it works pretty well

Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app
You know I was thinking about installing gravity box. I used it on my Nexus 4. But it seems to indicate that you can't use it on heavily modified roms. So, does GB work well with our G2?

Sent from my LG-D801 using xda app-developers app
If I share something helpful with you along the way, then hit the THANKS button. I am not a developer so that's all I got.

For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13
 
j0l6
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 31
Join Date: Apr 2010
Am using the kikat version forbthe kikat rom and expanded desktop with pie control are working fine , u need to restart the phone after instalation

Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app
 
BLiNKT
Old
#5  
BLiNKT's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 421
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Velenje
I have this problem too but i resolve it you must install Kitkat + root than install xposed and download immersive me which you find in xposed download section than activate it and enjoy in fullscreen softkeys and statusbar is auto hide and when you need it just slide with your finger
 
misteurz
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 69
Join Date: Jul 2013
am i the only person who dislike pie?
 
jcnbama
Old
#7  
jcnbama's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 860
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Huntsville
Quote:
Originally Posted by misteurz View Post
am i the only person who dislike pie?
Nah man. I don't like it either. Never used it on any Paranoid Android Rom. I have just never really liked it. But some people loooooove it. that's what you gotta love about Android....

Sent from my LG-D801 using xda app-developers app
If I share something helpful with you along the way, then hit the THANKS button. I am not a developer so that's all I got.

For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13
 
misteurz
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 69
Join Date: Jul 2013
i gonna try immersive me.
thanks for replies!!
 
jcnbama
Old
#9  
jcnbama's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 860
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Huntsville
Quote:
Originally Posted by misteurz View Post
i gonna try immersive me.
thanks for replies!!
I think that stopped development. It was supposed to go on to another version where it could be app specific. I don't like immersive mode on my home screen. I am using a module called soft keys fade mod... I like it pretty well...

Sent from my LG-D801 using xda app-developers app
If I share something helpful with you along the way, then hit the THANKS button. I am not a developer so that's all I got.

For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13
 
misteurz
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 69
Join Date: Jul 2013
so, i'm now on kitkat, rooted.
I've tried immersive me, and it's quiet strange.
There's a blank area at the bottom of the screen on the launcher.
Sometime the softkeys are blacks (not transparent anymore), doesn't disappear.
i don't know, i'm not very satisfied with that.

Soft keys fade mod doesn't do the thing i want...

So, what to do?
wait for an update of autohide hotkeys?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes