Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Modem modem ...?

OP xperia_88

15th March 2014, 06:37 PM   |  #1  
xperia_88's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 279
 
797 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Do I need to odin any new modem for KitKat (as I did with MK2 modem for 4.3) or I'll get it when I'll flash any KK ?
15th March 2014, 06:59 PM   |  #2  
The Sickness's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Somewhere in Texas
Thanks Meter: 11,942
 
5,473 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Roms don't include modems. You will have to Odin the radio. That's user choice on if you want to upgrade

My S4 Is Insane
Deviant Team Member
The Following User Says Thank You to The Sickness For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th March 2014, 07:13 PM   |  #3  
xperia_88's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 279
 
797 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Sickness

Roms don't include modems. You will have to Odin the radio. That's user choice on if you want to upgrade

My S4 Is Insane
Deviant Team Member

What is the best for KK? What if I'll sty with MK2?
15th March 2014, 07:27 PM   |  #4  
The Sickness's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Somewhere in Texas
Thanks Meter: 11,942
 
5,473 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
If you're happy with your data speeds stay where you are.

My S4 Is Insane
Deviant Team Member
The Following User Says Thank You to The Sickness For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th March 2014, 07:31 PM   |  #5  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,468
 
6,920 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xperia_88

What is the best for KK? What if I'll sty with MK2?

For me, updating my modem has increased both signal reception and data speeds. You can always go back if you see a drop in performance.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to elesbb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th March 2014, 07:47 PM   |  #6  
xperia_88's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 279
 
797 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb

For me, updating my modem has increased both signal reception and data speeds. You can always go back if you see a drop in performance.

Can you give me the link to the modem you are using?
15th March 2014, 08:00 PM   |  #7  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,468
 
6,920 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xperia_88

Can you give me the link to the modem you are using?

Its the NB4 modem. Its all over the place in the General sections. Im sure you can find it
15th March 2014, 10:12 PM   |  #8  
Android_Monsters's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 964
 
3,242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Here's the link: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2678774

Sent from my SGH-M919 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Android_Monsters For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th March 2014, 07:51 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Midlothian, TX
Thanks Meter: 101
 
706 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb

For me, updating my modem has increased both signal reception and data speeds. You can always go back if you see a drop in performance.

A definite upgrade modem wise. Speeds way better, and much more LTE around dallas.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
24th March 2014, 11:11 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Confusion about modems + custom recoveries
Hi,

I have an i337m from Puerta Rico that I'm running on USA T-mobile. The radios are the initial release and I'd like to update them. I'm running Wicked V10. I've successfully (I think) done the AWS hack to get the GSM HSPA+ bands.

a) Do/Can I flash T-mobile S4 radios?

b) A little confused about flashing radios on a custom recovery. I tried flashing the MK2 radios but it obviously checked the boot loader when it failed.

Thanks for any help.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes