Post Reply

[how to] change your MID without an eng bootloader

OP scotty1223

7th April 2014, 02:49 AM   |  #1  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,483
 
2,425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
READ THIIS!
*this thread is for m8. it will NOT work on m7,or any older device. please check the general forum for your particular device for a similar thread.

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _________________

this thread is for the folks who wish tochage their MID in order to fully convert a device and recieve OTA updates. the method described here is not the only way to skin the cat,but as long as your careful the risk is very minimal, its quick and easy and doesnt require any hboot downgrades,eng hboot install,data loss,or having to run an ruu.

please note that s-off is required!

credits:
-beaups for schooling me on the echo command protocol
-kdj67f for dumping partitions from his java card s-offed phone
-davehasninjas for dumping rumrunner s offed partitions
-andybones for testing on a vzw device
*i dont have m8 yet. if you want to test,ill add you to the credits.

standard disclaimer: use this information at your own risk. it has been tested,but copying the command incorrectly could have consequences. if you melt your phone into a smoldering little pile of aluminum goo, its not my fault.


IF you are an advanced user with adb/fastboot set up and some basic knowlede of the cmd window,you can skip to #2
1)set up adb(windows 7 and older)


-download this file
-install drivers: if you have htc sync installed,you should allready have drivers. if not,you can install htc sync,or install these modified htc drivers from revolutionary (driver mirror)
-unzip your miniadb_v1031.zip file. this is native funtionality in windows 7. you otherwise may need a utility such as "7-zip" to extract,or unzip it. place the unzipped folder onto the root of your C drive on your PC. root means the top level,not inside any folders. so just copy and paste,or drag and drop the folder onto C with everything else that is there. you may want to rename it to "miniadb_m7" since youll be putting some device specific files in here.
-open a command window. on windows 7,click the start bubble in the lower left and type "command" in the search box. xp i believe is similar or the same. doing this should open a small black command window.
-change to your miniadb_m7 directory. type the following at the prompt in your cmd window:

cd c:\miniadb_m7

your command promt should change to "c:miniadb_m7>" provided you: 1)unzipped the miniadb_v1031 zip file,and 2)put the folder on your c drive,and 3)entered the name of the folder correctly ("miniadb_m7" in this case)

-now make sure usb debugging is checked in developer options(you will need to turn it on first),and plug your phone into your PC with a usb cable
-make sure your phone is being recognized- type:

adb devices

if your drivers are installed correctly,this should return your phones serial number. you should hear the "found device" noises when you plug your phone in. if it starts installing drivers,wait for it to finish before typing the adb devices command.

if you get your serial number back,then enter this command:
adb reboot bootloader

this should take your phone to the "fastboot" screen,wich is white with colored letters. this is one mode of your bootloaders interactive modes. at the top youll see fastboot devices as confirmation youre in fastboot.

now enter:
fastboot devices
again,this should return your phones serial number. you should hear the "found device" noises when you plug your phone in. if it starts installing drivers,wait for it to finish before typing the adb devices command.

if you get your serial number back,you can enter the following to boot back to the phones OS:
fastboot reboot

and now,youve installed adb/fastboot and tested youre phones drivers. if at either spot,you have trouble and dont get your serial number back,there is some sort of connection issue. use these steps to troubleshoot:
Quote:

troubleshooting connectivity issues:
-try a reboot of the PC
-try different usb cables and ports
-dont use a usb hub
-dont use usb 3.0
-make sure nothing capable of comunicating with the phone is enabled and running. htc sync,pdanet,easy tether,and even itunes have all been known to cause issues.
-windows 8 has been known to have issues. try a windows 7 or older machine

failing the above,
-i use these drivers for fastboot and adb(donwload and run as admin): http://downloads.unrevoked.com/HTCDriver3.0.0.007.exe (mirror)

failing that,try manually updating the drivers in the following manner:
-put the phone in fastboot mode(select fastboot from the hboot menu)
-open device manager on the PC
-plug in phone,watch for it to pop up in device manager.
-update drivers with device manager,pointing the wizard to the extracted
driver download folder from above

note that you can check the connectivity of the phone,and make sure drivers are working by in the following manner:
-open cmd window. change to directory containing adb/fastboot utilities

-adb with the phone in the booted OS,usb debug enabled,enter:
adb devices in a cmd window

-fastboot with phone in fastboot,enter:
fastboot devices in cmd window

in either case,a properly connected phone with working drivers installed should report back the phones serial number.



this process,in your cmd window,should look something like this:
Code:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Scott>cd c:\miniadb_m7

c:\miniadb_m7>adb devices
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
List of devices attached
FAxxxxxxxxxx    device


c:\miniadb_m7>adb reboot bootloader

c:\miniadb_m7>fastboot devices
FAxxxxxxxxxx    fastboot

c:\miniadb_m7>fastboot reboot
rebooting...

finished. total time: 0.037s

c:\miniadb_m7>


2)change your MID
warning: *do not try and type the command. please copy and paste it

-AT&T, unlocked, developer MID:
enter the following:

adb shell

su (if needed to get a # prompt)

Code:
echo -ne '\x30\x00\x50\x00\x36\x00\x42\x00\x31\x00\x32\x00\x30\x00\x30\x00\x30' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 bs=1 seek=16384
(the above is one big long command. make sure you copy it all,and dont get extra spaces when you paste it.)

exit

adb reboot bootloader

fastboot getvar mid (or getvar all)

verify 0P6B12000 for modelid

fastboot reboot

__________________________________________________ ______________________________________
-google play MID:
enter the following:

adb shell

su (if needed to get a # prompt)

Code:
echo -ne '\x30\x00\x50\x00\x36\x00\x42\x00\x31\x00\x37\x00\x30\x00\x30\x00\x30' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 bs=1 seek=16384
(the above is one big long command. make sure you copy it all,and dont get extra spaces when you paste it.)

exit

adb reboot bootloader

fastboot getvar mid (or getvar all)

verify 0P6B17000 for modelid

fastboot reboot


__________________________________________________ ______________________________________
-t mobile MID:
enter the following:

adb shell

su (if needed to get a # prompt)

Code:
echo -ne '\x30\x00\x50\x00\x36\x00\x42\x00\x31\x00\x33\x00\x30\x00\x30\x00\x30' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 bs=1 seek=16384
(the above is one big long command. make sure you copy it all,and dont get extra spaces when you paste it.)

exit

adb reboot bootloader

fastboot getvar mid (or getvar all)

verify 0P6B13000 for modelid

fastboot reboot

__________________________________________________ ______________________________________
-HTC_Europe MID:
enter the following:

adb shell

su (if needed to get a # prompt)

Code:
echo -ne '\x30\x00\x50\x00\x36\x00\x42\x00\x31\x00\x30\x00\x30\x00\x30\x00\x30' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 bs=1 seek=16384
(the above is one big long command. make sure you copy it all,and dont get extra spaces when you paste it.)

exit

adb reboot bootloader

fastboot getvar mid (or getvar all)

verify 0P6B10000 for modelid

fastboot reboot

__________________________________________________ ______________________________________



your command window should look like this:
Code:
c:\miniadb_m7>adb shell
root@m7:/ # echo -ne '\x50\x00\x4e\x00\x30\x00\x37\x00\x33\x00\x31\x00\x30\x00\x
30\x00\x30' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p6 bs=1 seek=16384
00\x30' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p6 bs=1 seek=16384                          <
17+0 records in
17+0 records out
17 bytes transferred in 0.009 secs (1888 bytes/sec)
root@m7:/ # exit
exit

c:\miniadb_m7>adb reboot bootloader

c:\miniadb_m7>fastboot getvar all
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.17.3250.20
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 1.27.531.8
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF
(bootloader) serialno: HTxxxxxxxxxx
(bootloader) imei: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0731000  <-looky
(bootloader) cidnum: 11111111
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4175mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: off
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-f188f379dbbfee373cd551f7bc62b8435
getvar:all FAILED (unknown status code)
finished. total time: 0.092s

c:\miniadb_m7>fastboot reboot
rebooting...
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11

finished. total time: 7.288s
some other useful links:
remove tampered banner: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2708565
change lock status flag(lock/unlock bootloader): http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2708571
Last edited by scotty1223; 26th June 2014 at 12:15 PM.
The Following 38 Users Say Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2014, 02:50 AM   |  #2  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,483
 
2,425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
other MIDs
Rogers MID
0P6B16000
Code:
echo -ne '\x30\x00\x50\x00\x36\x00\x42\x00\x31\x00\x36\x00\x30\x00\x30\x00\x30' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 bs=1 seek=16384
*thanks @craig0r
__________________________________________________ _________________________________________

wind(canada) MID
0P6B13000
Code:
echo -ne '\x30\x00\x50\x00\x36\x00\x42\x00\x31\x00\x33\x00\x30\x00\x30\x00\x30' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 bs=1 seek=16384
__________________________________________________ _________________________________________

verizon MID
0P6B20000
Code:
echo -ne '\x30\x00\x50\x00\x36\x00\x42\x00\x32\x00\x30\x00\x30\x00\x30\x00\x30' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 bs=1 seek=16384
warning! provided only for folks who have changed their mid and realized they shouldnt have,or achieved s off via a java card. DO NOT change a gsm or sprint device to this in attempts to use it on vzw and convert to a vzw device(or vice versa)
__________________________________________________ _________________________________________

sprint MID
0P6B70000
Code:
echo -ne '\x30\x00\x50\x00\x36\x00\x42\x00\x37\x00\x30\x00\x30\x00\x30\x00\x30' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 bs=1 seek=16384
warning! provided only for folks who have changed their mid and realized they shouldnt have,or achieved s off via a java card. DO NOT change a gsm or vzw device to this in attempts to use it on sprint and convert to a sprint device(or vice versa).
__________________________________________________ _________________________________________

0P6B11000
Code:
echo -ne '\x30\x00\x50\x00\x36\x00\x42\x00\x31\x00\x31\x00\x30\x00\x30\x00\x30' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 bs=1 seek=16384
__________________________________________________ _________________________________________

europe m8 dual sim MID
0P6B64000
Code:
echo -ne '\x30\x00\x50\x00\x36\x00\x42\x00\x36\x00\x34\x00\x30\x00\x30\x00\x30' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 bs=1 seek=16384
*thanks @EddyOS

warning! provided by request. i would strongly advise against attempting to convert single sim m8 to dual sim,or vise versa
__________________________________________________ _________________________________________
Last edited by scotty1223; 14th February 2015 at 02:41 PM.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2014, 02:50 AM   |  #3  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,483
 
2,425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
one more
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2014, 04:38 PM   |  #4  
tommy0411's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 141
 
381 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
So proud to see you here man.
I've converted my M7 from AT&T to Europe version and received OTA successfully.
Thanks for your great instructions.
The Following User Says Thank You to tommy0411 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th April 2014, 10:32 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 65
 
1,059 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I want to be clear before I try this sort of thing out.

Am I to understand that the developer edition, Google Play edition, and AT&T version all have the same MID?

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium HD app
11th April 2014, 01:32 PM   |  #6  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,483
 
2,425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by craig0r

Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I want to be clear before I try this sort of thing out.

Am I to understand that the developer edition, Google Play edition, and AT&T version all have the same MID?

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium HD app

We have recently learned gpe is different.
Last edited by scotty1223; 2nd July 2014 at 11:55 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th April 2014, 10:22 AM   |  #7  
epsix's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
1,869 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
T-Mobile US please.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk 2
15th April 2014, 02:33 AM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Maryland
Thanks Meter: 4
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Would anyone happen to know if the unlocked edition is the same as AT&T,developer, google play?
15th April 2014, 03:00 AM   |  #9  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,483
 
2,425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by yourunlikegus

Would anyone happen to know if the unlocked edition is the same as AT&T,developer, google play?

i do not believe so. do you have an unlocked version,or you want to convert to it?
15th April 2014, 03:12 AM   |  #10  
Member
Flag Maryland
Thanks Meter: 4
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty1223

i do not believe so. do you have an unlocked version,or you want to convert to it?

I'll be getting one delivered tomorrow. If one hasn't shown up by the time it gets here I'll post it. After getting the Google drive upgrade was planning on changing to developer

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to yourunlikegus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes