FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

[Q] Wi-fi cannot connect after 4.4.2 update

331 posts
Thanks Meter: 429
 
By xchan21, Senior Member on 26th March 2014, 06:44 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Guys please help

My HTC One max cannot connect on the WIFI at my home after I updated to 4.4.2. At first I can connect when I was on 4.3 then I update it and successfully installed. The problem turned out when I reset my phone and suddenly I cannot connect to my WIFI anymore, on my office it can connect and only in my house cannot. Any idea how it can be fixed?

Appreciate and thanks in advance for the help.
Last edited by xchan21; 26th March 2014 at 07:26 AM.
 
 
26th March 2014, 08:18 AM |#2  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 703
 
Donate to Me
More
Try this - http://android-revolution-hd.blogspo...i-htc-one.html
Quote:

  1. Open Settings panel and click on the "Wi-Fi" tile
  2. Tap on the "3 dots" menu in the upper right corner
  3. From the list select "Wi-Fi Direct"
  4. You will now see that your device is called "Android_ed2c". Tap on the "3 dots" menu in the upper right corner
  5. From the list select "Rename device"
  6. Replace the "Android_ed2c" with the "HTC One" text and hit "OK" button
  7. Done!

The Following User Says Thank You to pradeepvizz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2014, 08:31 AM |#3  
xchan21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cybertron
Thanks Meter: 429
 
More
Thanks for your quick response and actually I already tried that trick but it wont help. I also tried to wipe cache on the recovery but still wont help.

Is there any other possible way?
26th March 2014, 08:59 AM |#4  
Member
Flag owings mills
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xchan21

Thanks for your quick response and actually I already tried that trick but it wont help. I also tried to wipe cache on the recovery but still wont help.

Is there any other possible way?

HTC one max got kit kat? what is your service ?
26th March 2014, 10:28 AM |#5  
xchan21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cybertron
Thanks Meter: 429
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kblgy

HTC one max got kit kat? what is your service ?

Dubai, U.A.E - Etisalat
26th March 2014, 08:35 PM |#6  
Member
Flag owings mills
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xchan21

Dubai, U.A.E - Etisalat

okay so yours is a international .. in the us still waiting on kitkat to be released
26th March 2014, 08:44 PM |#7  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 703
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xchan21

Dubai, U.A.E - Etisalat

Hey mate, i remember you now! is your the j15 CID unit? we just got the update 2 days ago.. i thought this software had all the wifi issues fixed!

can you let me know your wifi config at home? i might suggest that you could try changing the wifi config in your home router at-least as a temporary fix.
The Following User Says Thank You to pradeepvizz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th March 2014, 05:25 AM |#8  
xchan21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cybertron
Thanks Meter: 429
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pradeepvizz

Hey mate, i remember you now! is your the j15 CID unit? we just got the update 2 days ago.. i thought this software had all the wifi issues fixed!

can you let me know your wifi config at home? i might suggest that you could try changing the wifi config in your home router at-least as a temporary fix.

yes dude we have been forum mates since our last device which is HOX+, and you're from dubai too right? anyway my Onemax is still stock and got update last 2 days ago, my hboot was been updated already and now in 4.4.2.

I can connect thru wifi on my office but in my home cannot. I been using an Etisalat Router WPA.

Actually I dont have idea to config it since it was not mine and we are just sharing by my flatmate. If ever I will root this and install custom ROM, possible to fix this problem? what ROM can you recommend running on 2.49 hboot.

Dude thank you so much actually since my last HTC butterfly i already stop rooting because i got so very busy now on my work, need also to review the rooting / s-off techniques nowadays.

Thank and Regards
The Following User Says Thank You to xchan21 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th March 2014, 11:11 AM |#9  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 703
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xchan21

yes dude we have been forum mates since our last device which is HOX+, and you're from dubai too right? anyway my Onemax is still stock and got update last 2 days ago, my hboot was been updated already and now in 4.4.2.

I can connect thru wifi on my office but in my home cannot. I been using an Etisalat Router WPA.

Actually I dont have idea to config it since it was not mine and we are just sharing by my flatmate. If ever I will root this and install custom ROM, possible to fix this problem? what ROM can you recommend running on 2.49 hboot.

Dude thank you so much actually since my last HTC butterfly i already stop rooting because i got so very busy now on my work, need also to review the rooting / s-off techniques nowadays.

Thank and Regards

ha ha yeah, thats me in the HOX+ forums lol.

oh mate, you should have s-offed before the update.. we don't have an s-off for hboot 2.49. well i think we don't have a solution for this thing with custom ROM's. been a bug somewhere, the best solution is to re-configure your router.

we ill do this mate, get in touch with me (PM/skype) over the weekend and i ill try to help you reconfigure your router while maintaining the backward compatibility of WPA so your roomy will not have a problem

the weird thing though is that i too the Etisalat router and it seems to work fine
The Following User Says Thank You to pradeepvizz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th March 2014, 11:30 AM |#10  
xchan21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cybertron
Thanks Meter: 429
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pradeepvizz

ha ha yeah, thats me in the HOX+ forums lol.

oh mate, you should have s-offed before the update.. we don't have an s-off for hboot 2.49. well i think we don't have a solution for this thing with custom ROM's. been a bug somewhere, the best solution is to re-configure your router.

we ill do this mate, get in touch with me (PM/skype) over the weekend and i ill try to help you reconfigure your router while maintaining the backward compatibility of WPA so your roomy will not have a problem

the weird thing though is that i too the Etisalat router and it seems to work fine

very much appreciated dude, i dont know if htc will still release for the fix on this issue. i am now interested to root in even s-on will be fine as long i can install custom rom. if may help me well that would be great. maybe i will just give you a good treat in kfc or pizza hut in return . i will pm you my contact if you are not so busy. Thank you so much dude and i appreciate your help.
27th March 2014, 11:45 AM |#11  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 703
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xchan21

very much appreciated dude, i dont know if htc will still release for the fix on this issue. i am now interested to root in even s-on will be fine as long i can install custom rom. if may help me well that would be great. maybe i will just give you a good treat in kfc or pizza hut in return . i will pm you my contact if you are not so busy. Thank you so much dude and i appreciate your help.

i am confident that this will be fixed by HTC, this was the the big reason why the updates to kitkat for the original HTC One was delayed and HTC seems to have managed to fix it, atleast for the HTC One. I was thinking that this update would have fixed it and sadly not.

The original HTC one received 4.19.401.8 initially and then later on received 4.19.401.11 which fixed the WiFi issues.

i am hoping that HTC will do the same for the MAX too.

On a second thought, we could try pulling the files from that update and see if that fixes them.
The Following User Says Thank You to pradeepvizz For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes