FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

[Q] Problem using camera for certain (Barcode) Apps...

42 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
By MrJinx, Member on 26th December 2013, 01:06 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Good morning everyone!

Was hoping to get some insight / help regarding an issue I've encountered and wondered if any of you have encountered the same.

I use certain Barcode scanner apps for saving money like Shop Savvy. Only when using the One May's camera I get a blurry, out of focus view from using it via the phone. I've never had this problem with other phones.

I thought my camera was defective but I tested on the store demo at Verizon and it had the same issue.

Putting this out there to request your help. I've tried using the different settings on the apps as well as the camera, no luck.

Thank you!
The Following User Says Thank You to MrJinx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
27th December 2013, 03:15 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I suggest a replacement
My suggestion is for you to go back to Verizon and get a replacement phone. All during the Christmas shopping, I used my HTC One Max and the Google Goggles app to research prices from barcodes and it worked without a hitch, even on some barcodes which were smeared on the packages. Based on my very good experience, you seem to have a faulty lens. It's a hassle replacing a phone, but sometimes it's necessary.
The Following User Says Thank You to samredman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th December 2013, 03:50 AM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
In response to the Google Goggles APP...
Quote:
Originally Posted by samredman

My suggestion is for you to go back to Verizon and get a replacement phone. All during the Christmas shopping, I used my HTC One Max and the Google Goggles app to research prices from barcodes and it worked without a hitch, even on some barcodes which were smeared on the packages. Based on my very good experience, you seem to have a faulty lens. It's a hassle replacing a phone, but sometimes it's necessary.

Hi,

Thank you for mentioning Google Goggles. That APP works GREAT!!! However, I do not think that I have a faulty lens. The pics from everything else comes out great. I also downloaded the Google Goggles app and that app has no problems whatsoever.

Would you mind downloading and using the Shop Savvy APP? Perhaps it's something to do w/ that app as my phone nor the demo at Verizon worked w/ Shop Savvy.

Thank you!
27th December 2013, 04:47 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Shop Savvy
I will download Shop Savvy and try it tomorrow.
The Following User Says Thank You to samredman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th December 2013, 08:07 AM |#5  
Dorenda's Avatar
Member
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I have the same issue when attempting to use My Fitness Pal. The camera tries several times to focus but it is never able to pick up the bar code...

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to Dorenda For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th December 2013, 08:40 AM |#6  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 703
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dorenda

I have the same issue when attempting to use My Fitness Pal. The camera tries several times to focus but it is never able to pick up the bar code...

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

me too had issues with my fitness pal.. guess it needs software fix from HTC
The Following User Says Thank You to pradeepvizz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th December 2013, 02:31 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 340
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pradeepvizz

me too had issues with my fitness pal.. guess it needs software fix from HTC

If the camera works across multiple other apps then it is not the camera or htcs fault. The devs of the apps you are trying to use need to adjust their app to work properly with the ultrapixel. They are probably making some assumptions in their code about resolution vs pixel density or something along those lines.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jiggity Janx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th December 2013, 06:14 PM |#8  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 703
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiggity Janx

If the camera works across multiple other apps then it is not the camera or htcs fault. The devs of the apps you are trying to use need to adjust their app to work properly with the ultrapixel. They are probably making some assumptions in their code about resolution vs pixel density or something along those lines.

I had no problems with my fitness pal and the original HTC one, this happens only on the MAX -> camera / software at fault.
The Following User Says Thank You to pradeepvizz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th December 2013, 08:06 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 340
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pradeepvizz

I had no problems with my fitness pal and the original HTC one, this happens only on the MAX -> camera / software at fault.

So their apps are probably set up to use ultrapixel with ois.... which ours does not have.
The Following User Says Thank You to Jiggity Janx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th December 2013, 11:51 PM |#10  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 703
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiggity Janx

So their apps are probably set up to use ultrapixel with ois.... which ours does not have.

i believe that is not the case, if so each and every app developers needs to optimize for hundred's of cameras which is totally inefficient.

Even if that is the case, there are other hundred cameras which don't have ois and they work fine with the app(s), which obviously show the mobile is at fault.
The Following User Says Thank You to pradeepvizz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th December 2013, 01:41 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 340
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pradeepvizz

i believe that is not the case, if so each and every app developers needs to optimize for hundred's of cameras which is totally inefficient.

Even if that is the case, there are other hundred cameras which don't have ois and they work fine with the app(s), which obviously show the mobile is at fault.

You are proving my point for me. If many of the camera apps work with the One Max (including other barcode scanner ones) then obviously those developers developed their apps more openly to work with more camera hardware. They likely didnt hard code in certain restrictions and/or assumptions.

None of this matters to me particularly because I wont use barcode apps but I do prefer correct information be provided instaed of people just blaming the manufacturer.
Last edited by Jiggity Janx; 28th December 2013 at 01:49 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Jiggity Janx For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes