Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

YU Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] I need to factory reset. I don't care about losing data.

OP Baurblades43

26th March 2014, 08:33 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Eugene
Thanks Meter: 0
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Okay, so I don't know the technical term for what's happened to my phone, although, I can tell you that I cannot turn it on with the power button. The only way to get it on is plug it into my charger via micro usb. Recovery mode is unable to work. I can get into download mode though. And if I don't hit any buttons, it just said "Firmware upgrade encountered an issue. Please select recovery mode in Kies & try again".

I just want to be able to use my phone again, I'm totally alright with having to wipe every bit of data off of it and have it absolutely factory new. How can I do this? I could use Odin or Kies. However, Kies can't recognize my phone and just says "Device not responding. To resolve the issue, reboot the device." I'm tried dozens of times, it just can't find my device.

Please help.. I am phoneless and I could care less about losing data at this point.
26th March 2014, 08:38 PM   |  #2  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,575
 
1,925 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baurblades43

Okay, so I don't know the technical term for what's happened to my phone, although, I can tell you that I cannot turn it on with the power button. The only way to get it on is plug it into my charger via micro usb. Recovery mode is unable to work. I can get into download mode though. And if I don't hit any buttons, it just said "Firmware upgrade encountered an issue. Please select recovery mode in Kies & try again".

I just want to be able to use my phone again, I'm totally alright with having to wipe every bit of data off of it and have it absolutely factory new. How can I do this? I could use Odin or Kies. However, Kies can't recognize my phone and just says "Device not responding. To resolve the issue, reboot the device." I'm tried dozens of times, it just can't find my device.

Please help.. I am phoneless and I could care less about losing data at this point.

Some people have had success with pressing the volume keys while in that "Firmware upgrade" error, causing the phone to continue to a normal boot. It's worth a try. Failing that, download the proper ROM image for your phone and flash it using ODIN.
If you don't know what build it has, I'd start with flashing a no-wipe MK2 image.
26th March 2014, 08:53 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Tucson
Thanks Meter: 10
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
First, how'd you get to this point. Was this associated with rooting / flashing / something else? When you get into download mode, are you trying to Odin something in? It shouldn't say "Firmware upgrade encountered..." unless you're trying to push something. What happens when you get into recovery mode?

Second, do you know which factory image you started with? That's important, because if you started with an earlier image and flash an newer one, you can't go back. and the earlier the image, the easier the root.

This thread has no-wipe factory images. They're large files, so heads up.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2301259

You need Odin working. Good luck.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Baurblades43

Okay, so I don't know the technical term for what's happened to my phone, although, I can tell you that I cannot turn it on with the power button. The only way to get it on is plug it into my charger via micro usb. Recovery mode is unable to work. I can get into download mode though. And if I don't hit any buttons, it just said "Firmware upgrade encountered an issue. Please select recovery mode in Kies & try again".

I just want to be able to use my phone again, I'm totally alright with having to wipe every bit of data off of it and have it absolutely factory new. How can I do this? I could use Odin or Kies. However, Kies can't recognize my phone and just says "Device not responding. To resolve the issue, reboot the device." I'm tried dozens of times, it just can't find my device.

Please help.. I am phoneless and I could care less about losing data at this point.



---------- Post added at 01:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:47 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by k1mu

Some people have had success with pressing the volume keys while in that "Firmware upgrade" error, causing the phone to continue to a normal boot. It's worth a try. Failing that, download the proper ROM image for your phone and flash it using ODIN.
If you don't know what build it has, I'd start with flashing a no-wipe MK2 image.

I'd start with a MDK, earlier doesn't hurt, and I believe that's the first factory image released officially

and here's a full wipe image for MDK (erroneously called MKD in the title)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2289325
I'd try the No-Wipe images first
26th March 2014, 08:59 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Flag Eugene
Thanks Meter: 0
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yooeee

First, how'd you get to this point. Was this associated with rooting / flashing / something else? When you get into download mode, are you trying to Odin something in? It shouldn't say "Firmware upgrade encountered..." unless you're trying to push something. What happens when you get into recovery mode?

Second, do you know which factory image you started with? That's important, because if you started with an earlier image and flash an newer one, you can't go back. and the earlier the image, the easier the root.

This thread has no-wipe factory images. They're large files, so heads up.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2301259

You need Odin working. Good luck.




---------- Post added at 01:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:47 PM ----------



I'd start with a MDK, earlier doesn't hurt, and I believe that's the first factory image released officially

and here's a full wipe image for MDK (erroneously called MKD in the title)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2289325
I'd try the No-Wipe images first

Well initially, yesterday my phone crashed and I couldn't get it back on, unless I charged it and a grey battery icon would pop up and it'd vibrate every few seconds but nothing would happen. I couldn't get into recovery there either. So I got into download mode and I looked for things that could get me into recovery mode so I could factory reset. I flashed something on it using Odin and it worked.. To a point. On startup(plugging phone in) It would bring me into the samsung logo and the blue text in the top right saying recovery, but then the phone would just stop. And it'd be in a boot loop doing this until I unplugged. Now I woke up this morning and I'm getting this new error from Kies. I have the files that I flashed it with last night.
26th March 2014, 09:13 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Tucson
Thanks Meter: 10
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baurblades43

Well initially, yesterday my phone crashed and I couldn't get it back on, unless I charged it and a grey battery icon would pop up and it'd vibrate every few seconds but nothing would happen. I couldn't get into recovery there either. So I got into download mode and I looked for things that could get me into recovery mode so I could factory reset. I flashed something on it using Odin and it worked.. To a point. On startup(plugging phone in) It would bring me into the samsung logo and the blue text in the top right saying recovery, but then the phone would just stop. And it'd be in a boot loop doing this until I unplugged. Now I woke up this morning and I'm getting this new error from Kies. I have the files that I flashed it with last night.

how did it crash in the first place? and also, it's important to know what you flashed through odin to understand what's going on. we may never figure that out so.... it looks like you lost recovery. the only thing left is download mode. (If you can't go into download mode, I don't know any other options.)

read up on which factory image applies to you and odin it. you'll start fresh and then need to root to.
26th March 2014, 09:26 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Flag Eugene
Thanks Meter: 0
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yooeee

how did it crash in the first place? and also, it's important to know what you flashed through odin to understand what's going on. we may never figure that out so.... it looks like you lost recovery. the only thing left is download mode. (If you can't go into download mode, I don't know any other options.)

read up on which factory image applies to you and odin it. you'll start fresh and then need to root to.

I'm totally fine with losing my root, and my old rom and stuff.. I could care less. I know how to root and its very easy along with getting safestrap going again. However, I was on MK2 and I don't see that in the list of images.

(I wasn't able to put my link in, but I just saw something on a website regarding Odin, and using the "re-partition" check box. I used that(it said to on the instructions) and the thing I just saw said to NEVER use that) I flashed that and with pit. I'm new to odin sooo yeah I don't necessarily know everything that goes on.

Also, the phone crashed in what seemed like a completely random flash... I was literally just on snapchat, things froze up, and my phone started doing the boot animation for Hyperdrive 15(The rom I was running) but it never finished, half way through, the phone turned off.
26th March 2014, 10:17 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag Tucson
Thanks Meter: 10
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
Mk2 came after those, so do a search. With Odin you shouldn't touch anything except load the file in the second slot. I forget what it's called. Read the Odin tutorials

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app
27th March 2014, 12:32 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Flag Eugene
Thanks Meter: 0
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yooeee

Mk2 came after those, so do a search. With Odin you shouldn't touch anything except load the file in the second slot. I forget what it's called. Read the Odin tutorials

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app

So this factory image, wouldn't I want one that DOES wipe the phone? Since I just want everything to be clean and new again?
27th March 2014, 12:52 AM   |  #9  
Member
Flag Tucson
Thanks Meter: 10
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baurblades43

So this factory image, wouldn't I want one that DOES wipe the phone? Since I just want everything to be clean and new again?

maybe, but hopefully this will get you a recovery that you can wipe. there are wipe images out there
27th March 2014, 06:04 AM   |  #10  
OP Member
Flag Eugene
Thanks Meter: 0
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yooeee

maybe, but hopefully this will get you a recovery that you can wipe. there are wipe images out there

Okay, I finally flashed the MK2 no-wipe on it after many hours of downloading. Now it says "RESET" on odin and it showed samsung logo, and the recovery blue text in the top left, but then that just went to a black screen, and now I'm just getting vibrating every 2 seconds with a black screen.

EDIT: Okay so I tried seeing if download mode still worked, and it did, so I just told it to restart the phone from that and now its back to what it was doing originially. It shows the gray battery with the circle loading thing frozen in place, that stays there for a second, then screen goes black, vibrates, and it repeats this.
Last edited by Baurblades43; 27th March 2014 at 06:09 AM. Reason: More info

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes