Post Reply

[Q] Need Help! Tried rooting my Note 3 for the first time and now very inoperable

OP baileynapier

26th March 2014, 06:47 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
To start this off im going to say that i am very new to Android devices, ive owned my Note 3 (The AT&T SM-N900A one) for nearly three weeks now spending time researching on rooting and the methods, etc. Well i just tried to and didnt quite have much success.

I followed this guide and its steps very thoroughly. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2559715

Yet it all ended with it booting up looking like new but nearly every 3 seconds errors appear about processes crashing and trying to stop, for example "Unfortunately, Direct pen input has stopped."

After that failure i went ahead and tried to undo it which probably wasnt a good idea, i followed this tutorial: http://www.droidviews.com/how-to-unb...te-3-sm-n900a/.

I ended up at the exact same place, same error over and over. Does anyone know how to fix this?

Thank you.


(I apologize if this had been brought up before i went searching but found nothing that was a solution to my problem.)
26th March 2014, 12:17 PM   |  #2  
440bro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland ROCKS!!!
Thanks Meter: 417
 
1,199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by baileynapier

To start this off im going to say that i am very new to Android devices, ive owned my Note 3 (The AT&T SM-N900A one) for nearly three weeks now spending time researching on rooting and the methods, etc. Well i just tried to and didnt quite have much success.

I followed this guide and its steps very thoroughly. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2559715

Yet it all ended with it booting up looking like new but nearly every 3 seconds errors appear about processes crashing and trying to stop, for example "Unfortunately, Direct pen input has stopped."

After that failure i went ahead and tried to undo it which probably wasnt a good idea, i followed this tutorial: http://www.droidviews.com/how-to-unb...te-3-sm-n900a/.

I ended up at the exact same place, same error over and over. Does anyone know how to fix this?

Thank you.


(I apologize if this had been brought up before i went searching but found nothing that was a solution to my problem.)


Have you performed a factory data reset since the last attempt?
The Following User Says Thank You to 440bro For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2014, 12:30 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440bro

Have you performed a factory data reset since the last attempt?

Yes i have,a few times, it just then reboots with the setup and that error still occurring.
26th March 2014, 02:51 PM   |  #4  
the2rrell's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 615
 
2,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by baileynapier

Yes i have,a few times, it just then reboots with the setup and that error still occurring.

That error is a bugger to get rid of, if you even can. i had this happen and had to return my device to the store. BUT that was before we had a working back to stock MJ5 solution.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2559715

If you were on MJ5 this will get you back to out of the box stock with or without Root, its up to you.

i have used this twice and has worked smoothly both times, just make sure you download the files needed and follow the steps.
26th March 2014, 02:56 PM   |  #5  
graydiggy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Houma, LA
Thanks Meter: 2,392
 
4,462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by the2rrell

That error is a bugger to get rid of, if you even can. i had this happen and had to return my device to the store. BUT that was before we had a working back to stock MJ5 solution.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2559715

If you were on MJ5 this will get you back to out of the box stock with or without Root, its up to you.

i have used this twice and has worked smoothly both times, just make sure you download the files needed and follow the steps.

That is the method OP used to get root....


OP, you should have used Kingo... Now you will have to redo that whole process just to restore back to stock. You had a bad flash or a bad download.

Sent from my SM-N9005A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to graydiggy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2014, 03:17 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
28248965 286a
Quote:
Originally Posted by the2rrell

That error is a bugger to get rid of, if you even can. i had this happen and had to return my device to the store. BUT that was before we had a working back to stock MJ5 solution.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2559715

If you were on MJ5 this will get you back to out of the box stock with or without Root, its up to you.

i have used this twice and has worked smoothly both times, just make sure you download the files needed and follow the steps.

That was the method that originally got me into this situation and i just tried it again step by step and i am still having the issue.

One thing that has caught my eye is that this was my devices information before ever trying any rooting process or anything:

MODEL NUMBER: SAMSUNG-SN-N900A
ANDROID VERSION: 4.3 (Jelly Bean)
BASEBAND VERSION: N900AUCUBNB4
KERNEL INFO -
3.4.0-1625098
se.infra@R0301-01 #1
Mon Feb 10 21:13:28 KST 2014
BUILD NUMBER: JSS15J.N900AUCUBNB4
SELINUX STATUS: Enforcing

Is there any possible way to get it back to being a BNB4 device like the information above?
26th March 2014, 03:17 PM   |  #7  
the2rrell's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 615
 
2,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by graydiggy

That is the method OP used to get root....


OP, you should have used Kingo... Now you will have to redo that whole process just to restore back to stock. You had a bad flash or a bad download.

Sent from my SM-N9005A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

tis the reason i directed him back to that thread. i know they are working on a easier odin flash to return to stock in another thread. dont know why he was using that to get root, but he will now need to use it to get booting back to normal again.

anyway, apologies for not being more clear.

so to sum it all up, redownload the files in case you got a bad one and repeat the process my good sir.
The Following User Says Thank You to the2rrell For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2014, 11:37 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by the2rrell

tis the reason i directed him back to that thread. i know they are working on a easier odin flash to return to stock in another thread. dont know why he was using that to get root, but he will now need to use it to get booting back to normal again.

anyway, apologies for not being more clear.

so to sum it all up, redownload the files in case you got a bad one and repeat the process my good sir.

Okay, thank you guys very much but its back to functioning properly!

Now am i just trying to accomplish a root, but that doesnt seem to be working, after i put the root de la vega files onto the sdcard SuperSU never installs upon restart, why is it not auto-installing like it seems to be expressed as in the tutorial?

EDIT: Okay guys, nevermind about the root, i just used Kingo.
Last edited by baileynapier; 26th March 2014 at 11:52 PM. Reason: Solved
26th March 2014, 11:45 PM   |  #9  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 675
 
2,075 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by baileynapier

Okay, thank you guys very much but its back to functioning properly!

Now am i just trying to accomplish a root, but that doesnt seem to be working, after i put the root de la vega files onto the sdcard SuperSU never installs upon restart, why is it not auto-installing like it seems to be expressed as in the tutorial?

use kingo 1.1.8 it is a lot easier
27th March 2014, 12:32 AM   |  #10  
XiphoneUzer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
279 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by baileynapier

ive owned my Note 3 (The AT&T SM-N900A one) for nearly three weeks now spending time researching on rooting and the methods, etc.


How did you NOT find Kingo right away?
What kind of research did you do for 3 weeks? lol
Well, I'm glad you're good to go now. The devs on this site are exceptional and you are lucky to have them. (me too).

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes